Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff Hotels > Mercure Holland House Hotel & Spa Cardiff
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Holland House Hotel & Spa Cardiff

4Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
24-26 NEWPORT ROAD , CARDIFF, CF24 0DD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Mercure Cardiff Holland House and Spa is a 4 star hotel with 165 rooms in the city centre of Cardiff, located just a short distance from the rail station and only 30 minutes from Cardiff international Airport. Being close to the Millennium Stadium, Bute Park and Cardiff Castle to name a few, makes the hotel an ideal base to explore the city. The contemporary elegance of the bedrooms, all of which have air conditioning and some fantastic views over the City. The First Floor Restaurant has developed an enviable reputation for style, ambience and culinary excellence providing a varied and irresistible range of modern cuisine, all served with style.

A great way to energize yourself at the start of the day, or wind down at its end: the hotel's health, fitness and beauty facilities include a 16m swimming pool, thermal suite and fully equipped gym. In keeping with the hotel's air of indulgence, guests can relax and rejuvenate with a choice of luxurious treatments ranging from manicures to massages, and spray tans to saunas and steam rooms.

With extensive meeting and banqueting space, this stylish hotel is an ideal venue for any event with 15 fully equipped suites that are versatile for any number of guests from 4 up to 700 and together with onsite car parking (chargeable) makes the hotel perfect for all occasions.

Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel.
Picture of Mercure Holland House Hotel & Spa Cardiff, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 365 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, shame about the staff!
Our room at Holland House, and the quality of the facilities, were excellent. The only thing that let them down during our stay was the attitude of some of the staff, who didn't seem particularly interested in helping with any issues. We grabbed a quick bite in the bar as well and the food seemed pretty average, but the quality of food wasn't one of the reasons we booked, as there is plenty of great restaurants to be found in the town! Overall it was a good stay though, and it would only take a few small changes to make it better.

Reviewed by
Adam N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed emotions
Good large comfortable bedrooms better than most 4 star in Cardiff.
Parking on site in basement.
Rooms at front of hotel suffer from the traffic noise on the main road.
Better to stay at back of hotel.
A bit too far to walk to main restaurant/bar area 15/30 min walk.
Also, two very busy intersections to cross.

Reviewed by
michael h

From Yateley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We paid about £80 to stay in this hotel and it was excellent value for money. The service is really nice and friendly. It is fantastic to be able to go to the pool, steam room and sauna after a long day visiting the city (all this included in the price!). The food we ordered in the evening was delicious. The room was spacious (though a bit dated and with worn out carpet) and the bathroom very clean and practical . We were even able to leave our bags the following day after checking out which allowed us to finish our visit comfortably.

Reviewed by
Aurelia M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasing stay apart from the food
I arrived late after a long days driving and was very tired. I went to the bar/restaurant to eat and then decided I would order room service as I was so tired. I ordered a sandwich and fries from the bar to be delivered to my room. I waited over an hour for it to arrive, and when it eventually did it was stone cold so was not eaten. Very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Debbie Carroll

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for couples to get away and hen dues
Great for couples to get away and hen dues i would recommend this to close family members and friends only wanting to go out on the cardiff night life and to chill and relax peacefully. The staff were 100% real and forward always asking if everything ok. Very clean room and great choice of treats in mini fridge for free and great night stay would only stay for a max period of 4 days as prices is steep for class 4* .

Reviewed by
james b

From Goodwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
Loved this hotel. It was 5 minutes walk from main shopping area - ideal distance to be convenient but without hearing noisy stag and hens. Spa facilities were good and staff couldn't be nicer. Only niggle was the maid trying to get in at 10am when we were checking out at 12, then came back again at 11 despite being told 12. Minor blemish on great stay.

Reviewed by
Amanda S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel but was unimpressed that the parking was £12 per day this was not explained in the info on lateroom.. Gym and leisure facilities great. Hotel reception staff didn't go beyond my expectations of what was needed, would've been nice to have customer service that matched the quality of th hotel.

Reviewed by
Joe A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to ask reception for toiletries and fresh towels! Breakfast was ok but not much variety left after 9. Pool area could have been cleaner although staff very friendly

Reviewed by
D Foley

From Shillelagh, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location..nice stay
I stayed for one night on business. Food was nice in the bar and breakfast was great. Used the gym which was well appointed. Overall a nice pleasant stay. Parking underground at the hotel at an extra cost.

Reviewed by
Cliff W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay.
We stayed for a night prior to my husband being deployed to sea for four months. The hotel kindly upgraded us and we had a superb room. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend this hotel should be 5*.

Reviewed by
sarah hulm

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next