Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff Hotels > Mercure Holland House Hotel & Spa Cardiff
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Holland House Hotel & Spa Cardiff

4Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
24-26 NEWPORT ROAD , CARDIFF, CF24 0DD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Mercure Cardiff Holland House and Spa is a 4 star hotel with 165 rooms in the city centre of Cardiff, located just a short distance from the rail station and only 30 minutes from Cardiff international Airport. Being close to the Millennium Stadium, Bute Park and Cardiff Castle to name a few, makes the hotel an ideal base to explore the city. The contemporary elegance of the bedrooms, all of which have air conditioning and some fantastic views over the City. The First Floor Restaurant has developed an enviable reputation for style, ambience and culinary excellence providing a varied and irresistible range of modern cuisine, all served with style.

A great way to energize yourself at the start of the day, or wind down at its end: the hotel's health, fitness and beauty facilities include a 16m swimming pool, thermal suite and fully equipped gym. In keeping with the hotel's air of indulgence, guests can relax and rejuvenate with a choice of luxurious treatments ranging from manicures to massages, and spray tans to saunas and steam rooms.

With extensive meeting and banqueting space, this stylish hotel is an ideal venue for any event with 15 fully equipped suites that are versatile for any number of guests from 4 up to 700 and together with onsite car parking (chargeable) makes the hotel perfect for all occasions.

Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel.
Picture of Mercure Holland House Hotel & Spa Cardiff, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 376 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location
Lovely hotel, good location stayed here for a visit to the Motorpoint Arena..Staff very helpful and the spa facilities good.

Reviewed by
G Green

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitly staying again
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, it's a great central location and the hotel is lovely, highly recommend te breakfast too

Reviewed by
lacey m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double bed was not a double bed!
I booked a double room expecting to stay on a nice comfy double bed but when I actually got into bed I found that two single beds were pushed together creating an uncomfortable lump in the middle where the matresses were joined. I asked to be moved but there were no available rooms with a real double bed. I think the hotel needs to make this clear in its advertisement if this is the type of bed you are getting.

Reviewed by
David K

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
Excellent value for money and a lovely relaxing stay. Staff very polite and friendly. Great hotel!

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay - lots of space in room
Stayed here with My sister to go to ao concert the room was clean modern and spacious the Spa facilities were great. View from higher rooms was good - no complaints at all. When I arrived I had managed to book for the wrong night and they swapped my booking with no fuss at all.

Reviewed by
Louise L

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A trip to see my son at uni
A good hotel 10 minute walk away from the city centre. Good standard of hotel but some disappointing minor issues which took the shine off the stay including a cold breakfast as a result of us getting there at 10 30 but noting breakfast served until 11 00 (this actually means the staff want you out by 11 00) and a grubby carpet in the room. Otherwise a fair price for a fair hotel.

Reviewed by
ANDREW G

From STALYBRIDGE, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was ok only i didn,t like the twin bed for a couple i had ask room for a couple.

Reviewed by
T Faukuingi

From ilford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Patronising Receptionist / Noisy Room
Very dissapointed to report that the receptionist spoiled our stay within the first 30 seconds....That coupled with the noise of the lifts in the room from 0500 hrs in the morning spoiled it for us. Definately wont be staying again.

Reviewed by
N Lewis-Jones

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

October Break
My wife and I had a recent weekend break. Hotel was great, although over priced to a degree. Would I stay there again? Probably not. Cheaper deals at better places in Cardiff!

Reviewed by
DAVID GRIFFITHS

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big let down
Building work ongoing a couple of rooms down and floor below; from 2pm upon checkin through to 6pm then starting again at 6am. The hotel management weren't fussed and their response very, very poor.
Double bed is two single pushed together, not comfortable. Car park abysmal. Expensive stay, would shop around and go elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Laurence S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next