Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff Hotels > Ibis Cardiff City Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ibis Cardiff City Centre

AA Assessed Budget Hotel Ratings explained
CHURCHILL WAY , CARDIFF, CF10 2HA
The Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Ibis Cardiff City Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I couldn't go wrong with our room. Our bed was so comfy and spacey the tv was a decent size and the bathroom was basic but also nice with the shower. In the reviews before I booked with yourselves I seen comments saying it was very noisey because it was near the train station but me and my girlfriend had no trouble sleeping. We would have stayed longer if we didn't have to rush back and the staff there were great so helpful and would most defiantly visiting your facilty again

Reviewed by
garin harris

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

arrival and stay
On arrival lay by in front was full of cars and had to double park to book in,The receptionist at first could not understand that as requested we needed a disabled car bay as stated on phone, was directed to parking bay only to find a small area with one space left as shared with staff, this area was next to hotel, but due to limited spaces did not move until left.
Given room which was quoted as disabled room which due to beds if relied on wheelchair would not have fitted, door was against bed when opened had to push it away to gain entry, shower door stiff and hard to open.
No shower gel had to ask for some and was given a used one from another room as none could be found in store.
Room was tired poss due for re decoration.
Bed was good although hotel was on busy road had a good sleep.
Booked two rooms and was informed by my son that cleaner entered his room in morning to ?clean, after quick knock on door without waiting for reply this was well within time before booking out, they were still in bed.

Reviewed by
D Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my 37th birthday stay
I stayed at the hotel with my husband and I've stayed in the ibis before but on this occasion I was not impressed. Firstly I cane to the hotel on my crutches as I've had surgery on my back so my husband carried my bags onto reception and then he went to park our car while I checked in I was sat in reception area for 29 mind and at no time was I offered any help rake my bags to our room. Also the room I had seemed a lot smaller and not as high a standard there was no kettle in our room and tea tray was hanging off shelf when I got in room. Later in the night after I'd been for my birthday meal we stopped at hotel bar for drink but they was so expensive we on my ended up having one each. In the Night I couldn't sleep at all the bed was so hard and having a bad back I was on agony to the point I thought I was going to cry also the pillows was hard moat hotels have a choice of type if pillow. As I've said I've stayed in this ibis before and never had a problem with the room or bed before and that's when I've been there with a bad back before. In the morning then Check out was 12 o'clock my husband had just got out shower at around 10.30 and a maid cone in to our room with my. Husband having just a towel around him then about 20 mons later as I was getting dressed another maps with out knocking burst in again. I feel that the reception and maids should communicate and they should know if a room has become vacant. It was very annoying worrying if someone else was going to barge in on you. I use to think of the ibis as being good hotel but after this experience don't think I will use it again.

Reviewed by
Tanya Edwards

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't realise this hotel is right next to the train tracks on a busy route, the noise was considerable even with the window shut.

Reviewed by
Rebecca M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Such friendly staff, excellently presented room. Couldn't find any fault with the hotel at all. Very well situated in Cardiff also.

Reviewed by
Shaun H

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Clean, tidy room and helpful staff. Quiet and really close to the city centre

Reviewed by
j brown

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad service
turned off heaters at 2am
tried to refuse refund under their guarantee scheme
when complained they said not to come back to hotel and banned me
they advertise a comfortable night stay or refund of money
no offer of heater or extra blankets at 4 am
staff very rude and hostile

Reviewed by
j morris

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cardiff centre
Nice location & quiet for our 3 nights ,cant fault it.

Reviewed by
william o

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent! Value for money, would stay again.

I found all the staff to be extremely helpful and polite .Before we even arrived they helped my husband to make a last minute change to our booking arrangements due to my health conditions ( they were able to provide us with an easy accessible/disabled room). When we arrived both members of staff who were on reception were very polite and cheerful. They could see I was on crutches and asked if we had a disabled badge for parking. We do not have one, and so they very kindly gave us a space in the staff Car Park next to the hotel to save me walking. There is a Car park just across the round and also round the corner which is reasonable prices.
As we entered our room it was extremely clean and perfect for our stay. The bed was comfortable (especially as I have back problems this had been a worry!)
The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the evening as myself and my husband needed directions to places.The hotel is in a fantastic location for everything (shopping, cinema,train,buses,pubs,clubs!)
I would highly recommend the Ibis Cardiff to anyone. I cannot thank enough all the staff. I will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
H Harbord

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room key method needs updating
No point issuing plastic entry cards if they fail to operate. No one wants to spend up to 7 minutes vainly trying to enter room with plastic card which denies entry!

Reviewed by
ANNE P

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next