The Big Sleep Hotel

2

BUTE TERRACE, CARDIFF, CF10 2FE

Price From 75.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (287)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Tracy L

  • March 2015

cheap no thrills great stay

A surprisingly good stay, the Big Sleep hotel is Very basic with a strange decor, its cheap, but does the job.

No problems in room, bed comfy, staff friendly,food good, room was abit cold but the heater soon worked wonders. If you can get over the grey brillo pad carpet, fluffy power blue curtains, and the bright almost clashing colours in all the rooms, then you will enjoy your stay. Parking £8 over night til 10:30, then just £1 an hour if you want to stay and shop etc.

  • J Miller

  • February 2015

Terrible

I have stayed in a lot of hotels (including a number of chain budget hotels) and this is really down there with the worst of them.

The room was pretty stark ("minimalist" I guess but more like nasty student accommodation than design hotel) as well as being absolutely freezing. The small electric heater that was provided was completely ineffectual and I woke several times shivering. The bed was also very uncomfortable with the mattress in urgent need of replacement. I had expected this hotel to be of the same standard of Ibis budget but I was sorely disappointed to find that it was more like some of the communist era hotels of Eastern Europe. I won't be back.

  • Pavel Galkin

  • February 2015

Good

Stuff is very good!!.

Trying to help u in everything!!. Room was a little bit cold, but if u will switch on heater it will be ok!!!

  • cosmo h

  • February 2015

cheap and cheerful

Impossible to beat at that price.

  • Andrew W

  • February 2015

overnight cardiff stay

  • zoe s

  • January 2015

great location

the location is by far the best thing about the hotel its right across from the motorpoint also the parking inst to bad a price and the staff are pleasant .

however there where hairs on the bed linen, two of the walls where external and mostly window making the room very cold even with the heating on also the door to the room was badly fitted so there was light in the room all night and noise travelled very badly into the room. It was hard to get any sleep at all with these factors and that the double bed we where expecting was two singles pushed together. The breakfast that is included in the price was ok all you can eat served till 10.30 .

  • Mair D

  • January 2015

convenient for city centre

cheap and cheerful xx

  • steven u

  • January 2015

good value for money

We paid £39 and we considered it well worth the money.

Room very clean, new towels in bathroom. Continental breakfast, lots of choice and once again dining room very clean.

  • J Evans

  • January 2015

Not what I was expecting

After having a deal for this room, from £205 to £39 I thought the hotel and it's services would be excellent.

Upon arrival I was not impressed by the attitude of the booking in staff. Parking prices stated online did not include charges after checkout, which might have changed our mind over our stay as £8 per overnight stay seemed like a good deal. No mention of the charges per hour after checkout are anywhere on the website. Upon arrival in our room, which was clean and tidy I must say, however touching the curtains created a wave of dust which you can imagine was not ideal....when closing the curtains we left the room just in case. Must say no noise throughout the night even though we were next to the train station!!. We had breakfast included in our room price, it would have been nice to know it was continental and self service as there is no mention of this online yet again. Very pleased I did not pay the original price as I would have been very disappointed.

  • L Cooper

  • January 2015

Great value, great location

Compared to other budget hotels in the city centre, The Big Sleep is a bargain.

I was really impressed that continental breakfast was included in the price, which came out far cheaper than the alternative options. Definitely one to consider for a cheap break, and ideally located for events at the Motorpoint Arena. The room itself was fine, bizarre hairy curtains, but well lit and comfortable beds. The room was a bit on the cold side, partly due to the number of windows, being a corner room might have contributed to this, and partly because the heater wasn't the most efficient in the world. Comfy bed, decent telly, tea & coffee hidden in the cupboard. Stunning view over the railway line, but really, I don't stay in a hotel to look out the window all day.