No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BUTE TERRACE , CARDIFF, CF10 2FE
Part owned by Hollywood actor John Malkovich, The Big Sleep hotel is built from a 1960's office block and has possibly the coolest reputation in
Cardiff.

The Big Sleep Hotel offers large bright rooms, good views over the city and the Seven estuary. Rate includes a buffet continental breakfast. The hotel is located in the city centre opposite Cardiff International Arena, and a short walk from both railway stations, the Millennium Stadium and the shopping centre. Wireless internet is available in the public areas of the
hotel. Limited car parking is also available on site. All guest also have complimentary use of leisure facilities at nearby Vitality Gym and Health Club.

Please note that parking is available on site for £8 per overnight stay

Picture of The Big Sleep Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 343 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Accomodation, not very good value for money.
Booked the Big Sleep as we were going to the Motorpoint Arena, on the plus side, great location, parking reasonable price and staff friendly and helpful.
On the downside however, room very basic, decor very tired, curtains horrible, taps very difficult in bathroom. No draught beer available in the bar. Breakfast was very basic not a lot of variety.
We knew when we booked that this was descrbed a s a "budget hotel" but at £130 per night we expected a bit more and we felt that this was not good value for money!

Reviewed by
David S

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Post-industrial plastichotel
A rather frightening post-industrial all-plastic lego block, but clean and comfortable enough.

Reviewed by
J Sobol

From Jonesborough, USA
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and friendly staff
Staff so helpfull and every thing was clean. Breakfast was good .

Reviewed by
L Sweeney

From maesteg bridgend, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gone down hill
Bedroom left a lot to be desired, stains on carpet, pillows old and lifeless, bed was the type you could split and I ended up rather uncomfortably in the middle. Bathroom badly fitted with half the bath set in an alcove in the wall.
Staff were brilliant and cheerful, food was ok

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Basic
A very basic room, but for the money, that is what you expect! Clean and tidy, the staff were helpful. Breakfast again was basic-a continental style, but again, for the money satisfactory. if you want a budget hotel with no frills whatosever, this works.

Reviewed by
Mark G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for singles/couples
Stayed the night after a gig, everything you need with a bonus of free breakfast. Relatively quiet for the centre of Cardiff.

Reviewed by
Matthew R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfortable

Reviewed by
Rod Curran

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Room was a good size, comfy bed, asked for more pillows and they were brought to our room straight away. Nice clean bathroom, lovely shower. All in all we were very pleased with our room, the service and the breakfast was very nice too.

Reviewed by
Jayne H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay great for concert at Motorpoint Arena
Our stay was fine but we were at the back of the hotel for the first time and I hadn't realised how noisy the trains are. I would prefer a room at the front as the road was much less noisy.

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next