No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BUTE TERRACE , CARDIFF, CF10 2FE
Part owned by Hollywood actor John Malkovich, The Big Sleep hotel is built from a 1960's office block and has possibly the coolest reputation in
Cardiff.

The Big Sleep Hotel offers large bright rooms, good views over the city and the Seven estuary. Rate includes a buffet continental breakfast. The hotel is located in the city centre opposite Cardiff International Arena, and a short walk from both railway stations, the Millennium Stadium and the shopping centre. Wireless internet is available in the public areas of the
hotel. Limited car parking is also available on site. All guest also have complimentary use of leisure facilities at nearby Vitality Gym and Health Club.

Please note that parking is available on site for £8 per overnight stay

Picture of The Big Sleep Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 348 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What did I expect?
The hotel advertised itself as 'Chic & Affordable with larger than average rooms'.
Chic is not the word I would use, it is clean, comfortable and whilst the room I occupied was certainly larger than most places I have stayed in, it was spartan in the extreme. Painted (badly) entirely in spearmint green it contained a bed, bedside cabinets, a large shelf (for the television and to sit at), a wooden office type chair and an open fronted 'wardrobe'. The bathroom was painted (badly) pink and had the usual facilities. The over bath shower was excellent.
I didn't use the bar, so cannot comment. The breakfast room reminded me of a works canteen & the continental breakfast was certainly not memorable.
The only staff I saw were the Receptionist who was friendly & efficient and the breakfast room attendant who was extremely busy and seemed somewhat harrassed.
At the price I paid, it was good value and the location was very convenient for the City Centre, being less than a two minute walk away. There was car parking available on site, charged separately.
Would I stay again; yes, purely based on its location but it probably wouldn't be my first choice!

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Bacup, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, very central. Room was very outdated, needs to be drastically modernised

Reviewed by
D Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We expected a 'you get what you pay for' type of hotel but we were wrong, our room had a great view, large and spacious, beds were comfortable. Modern room with easy access into town center, would definitely come again. Only fault is the stuffy air in the hallways, it's far too hot and it has a strong stuffy like smell. Other than that it is a great hotel and I would definitely recommend..

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Big Sleep Cardiff
Room was really basic without a wardrobe or working television. The curtains were brown stained and the bed so basically made the thin timber frame creaked at the slightest movement.

Reviewed by
roger d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay at the big sleep in Cardiff.
This is a very good quality to star hotel. The room is extremely spacious with an excellent bathroom and very very clean. Okay it's a budget hotel but you wouldn't really have noticed that. There was a very mixed clientele from young men therefore sports events and stag do is to older couples there sightseeing the capital of Wales. I would highly recommend the big sleep to anyone who wishes to stay at a reasonably priced budget hotel.

Reviewed by
N Sheppard

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

30
Didn't not stay! order a double room and ended up with 2single beds together

Reviewed by
Dean B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but basic accommodation. the self service breakfast was excellent. The situation of the hotel was very good. The hotel was a converted office block and in my opinion it lacks homeliness.

Reviewed by
G Gaudion

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service
It was very nice experience. Basically their rooms is very big with nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Rubayet Islam

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
No aircon,no windows that open,no-one attending the bar,no ice for our drinks when we did find someone to serve us,twin rooms given despite booking doubles,lacklustre breakfast,wouldn't recommend

Reviewed by
Chris H

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A1 as always
love staying here clean rooms, good service, and love the breakfast thanks again .

Reviewed by
s richards

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next