No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BUTE TERRACE , CARDIFF, CF10 2FE
Part owned by Hollywood actor John Malkovich, The Big Sleep hotel is built from a 1960's office block and has possibly the coolest reputation in
Cardiff.

The Big Sleep Hotel offers large bright rooms, good views over the city and the Seven estuary. Rate includes a buffet continental breakfast. The hotel is located in the city centre opposite Cardiff International Arena, and a short walk from both railway stations, the Millennium Stadium and the shopping centre. Wireless internet is available in the public areas of the
hotel. Limited car parking is also available on site. All guest also have complimentary use of leisure facilities at nearby Vitality Gym and Health Club.

Please note that parking is available on site for £7 per overnight stay

Picture of The Big Sleep Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 357 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room
Upon arrival checked in went to room first there was no windows which opened and no air conditioning leaving the rooms very hot and sticky my partner is pregnant so this caused a big problem with sleeping neither of us add much sleep this is the first hotel ever to not ave any opening windows or ac .the breakfast area was like a kids play area and food supplied very poor will never book this hotel again and will advise others not to either

Reviewed by
M Booth

From Goole, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs more sound insulation
Room was fine but walks are paper thin felt like next rooms TV was on my our room, also lots of doors been slammed at stupid o'clock!

Reviewed by
Mandy J

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utilitarian
My room was large enough, utilitarian but for the price was as I expected.

Reviewed by
Ginny H

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Big Sleep
Great location with really easy access to city centre. Small parking area not so good if coming in late and being a lone traveller, however plenty of parking nearby. Staff very approachable and helpful. Rooms were rather dated, however the cost not too bad. Not the quietest of places to sleep - didn't get quality of sleep. It was ok for the night I was there, though in future I would want somewhere where I get a very quiet nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Rebecca J

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what we needed. Great staff.
Our stay at the hotel was great. The only thing is that it could do with either windows that open or AC as the fan didn't cut it and it was a hot night.

Reviewed by
Craig Griffith

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little stuffy
although the room was nice and clean it was very hot as no windows to open to let air in only a dirty old fan on the wall which only circulated the hot air inside. the shower was hot and fast and the bed was comfortable and the tv was a bit small

Reviewed by
s lewis

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
It was I expected it to be, basic and practical. It was warm even with the fan on but I expect that was due to the weather

Reviewed by
M Isgrove

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Anniversary Experience
I was not happy with the positioning of the sockets in the room as I could not do my hair as the mirror was not over the dressing table but on the wall too far from any sockets to plug in Hairdryer or Straightners which was very annoying as we were going out for an Anniversary Meal that evening and I couldn't do my hair . I hope this would not be the case if we stayed at The Big Sleep in the future .

Reviewed by
L James-Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible!
The rooms are not very clean, when we arrived to our room there was shaved hair trimmings all around the sink area in the bathroom. The staff were not very helpful. House keeping which is laughable as the room was not cleaned walk into the room before 8am without knocking. Don't bother asking for cutlery to eat breakfast with, you ll be waiting ages. Avoid! Terrible hotel

Reviewed by
Zoe G

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but can't complain about the price
The hotel was basic and looked like it needed updating as walls and fixtures were grubby from the reception to our room. The carpet in the room looked stained and there were marks all over the walls but the sheets, towels and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was boring and I didn't end up eating the food though considering we paid £36 bed and breakfast we can't really complain.

Reviewed by
Carla D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next