No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BUTE TERRACE , CARDIFF, CF10 2FE
Part owned by Hollywood actor John Malkovich

The Big Sleep Hotel offers large bright rooms, good views over the city and the Seven estuary. Rate includes a buffet continental breakfast. The hotel is located in the city centre opposite Cardiff International Arena, and a short walk from both railway stations, the Millennium Stadium and the shopping centre. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available
hotel. Limited car parking is also available on site.

Please note that parking is available on site for £8 per overnight stay

Picture of The Big Sleep Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 301 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
I have stayed in a lot of hotels (including a number of chain budget hotels) and this is really down there with the worst of them. The room was pretty stark ("minimalist" I guess but more like nasty student accommodation than design hotel) as well as being absolutely freezing. The small electric heater that was provided was completely ineffectual and I woke several times shivering. The bed was also very uncomfortable with the mattress in urgent need of replacement. I had expected this hotel to be of the same standard of Ibis budget but I was sorely disappointed to find that it was more like some of the communist era hotels of Eastern Europe. I won't be back.

Reviewed by
J Miller

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Stuff is very good!!! Trying to help u in everything!!! Room was a little bit cold, but if u will switch on heater it will be ok!!!

Reviewed by
Pavel Galkin

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
Impossible to beat at that price.

Reviewed by
cosmo h

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight cardiff stay

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
the location is by far the best thing about the hotel its right across from the motorpoint also the parking inst to bad a price and the staff are pleasant .
however there where hairs on the bed linen, two of the walls where external and mostly window making the room very cold even with the heating on also the door to the room was badly fitted so there was light in the room all night and noise travelled very badly into the room. It was hard to get any sleep at all with these factors and that the double bed we where expecting was two singles pushed together. The breakfast that is included in the price was ok all you can eat served till 10.30 .

Reviewed by
zoe s

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient for city centre
cheap and cheerful xx

Reviewed by
Mair D

From Tyn Y Gongl, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
We paid £39 and we considered it well worth the money. Room very clean, new towels in bathroom. Continental breakfast, lots of choice and once again dining room very clean.

Reviewed by
steven u

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but in need of updating
Clean tidy rooms but very noisy. From 5am in the morning until we checked out all we could hear was the doors slamming. Breakfast was ok but could have been a little more choice

Reviewed by
leanne davies

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, great location
Compared to other budget hotels in the city centre, The Big Sleep is a bargain. I was really impressed that continental breakfast was included in the price, which came out far cheaper than the alternative options. Definitely one to consider for a cheap break, and ideally located for events at the Motorpoint Arena.
The room itself was fine, bizarre hairy curtains, but well lit and comfortable beds. The room was a bit on the cold side, partly due to the number of windows, being a corner room might have contributed to this, and partly because the heater wasn't the most efficient in the world. Comfy bed, decent telly, tea & coffee hidden in the cupboard. Stunning view over the railway line, but really, I don't stay in a hotel to look out the window all day.

Reviewed by
L Cooper

From Merthyr Tudful, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I was expecting
After having a deal for this room, from £205 to £39 I thought the hotel and it's services would be excellent. Upon arrival I was not impressed by the attitude of the booking in staff. Parking prices stated online did not include charges after checkout, which might have changed our mind over our stay as £8 per overnight stay seemed like a good deal. No mention of the charges per hour after checkout are anywhere on the website. Upon arrival in our room, which was clean and tidy I must say, however touching the curtains created a wave of dust which you can imagine was not ideal....when closing the curtains we left the room just in case. Must say no noise throughout the night even though we were next to the train station!!! We had breakfast included in our room price, it would have been nice to know it was continental and self service as there is no mention of this online yet again. Very pleased I did not pay the original price as I would have been very disappointed.

Reviewed by
J Evans

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next