No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BUTE TERRACE , CARDIFF, CF10 2FE
Part owned by Hollywood actor John Malkovich, The Big Sleep hotel is built from a 1960's office block and has possibly the coolest reputation in
Cardiff.

The Big Sleep Hotel offers large bright rooms, good views over the city and the Seven estuary. Rate includes a buffet continental breakfast. The hotel is located in the city centre opposite Cardiff International Arena, and a short walk from both railway stations, the Millennium Stadium and the shopping centre. Wireless internet is available in the public areas of the
hotel. Limited car parking is also available on site. All guest also have complimentary use of leisure facilities at nearby Vitality Gym and Health Club.

Please note that parking is available on site for £7 per overnight stay

Picture of The Big Sleep Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 358 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little stuffy
although the room was nice and clean it was very hot as no windows to open to let air in only a dirty old fan on the wall which only circulated the hot air inside. the shower was hot and fast and the bed was comfortable and the tv was a bit small

Reviewed by
s lewis

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
It was I expected it to be, basic and practical. It was warm even with the fan on but I expect that was due to the weather

Reviewed by
M Isgrove

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Anniversary Experience
I was not happy with the positioning of the sockets in the room as I could not do my hair as the mirror was not over the dressing table but on the wall too far from any sockets to plug in Hairdryer or Straightners which was very annoying as we were going out for an Anniversary Meal that evening and I couldn't do my hair . I hope this would not be the case if we stayed at The Big Sleep in the future .

Reviewed by
L James-Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible!
The rooms are not very clean, when we arrived to our room there was shaved hair trimmings all around the sink area in the bathroom. The staff were not very helpful. House keeping which is laughable as the room was not cleaned walk into the room before 8am without knocking. Don't bother asking for cutlery to eat breakfast with, you ll be waiting ages. Avoid! Terrible hotel

Reviewed by
Zoe G

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but can't complain about the price
The hotel was basic and looked like it needed updating as walls and fixtures were grubby from the reception to our room. The carpet in the room looked stained and there were marks all over the walls but the sheets, towels and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was boring and I didn't end up eating the food though considering we paid £36 bed and breakfast we can't really complain.

Reviewed by
Carla D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, clean, good bath towels better than lots of more expensive hotels. ok breakfast and all good value for money. good central location too.

Reviewed by
philip c

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

To expensive for what you get

Reviewed by
Charles Higgins

From Magherafelt, Andorra
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for the Motorpoint Arena
I stayed here one night, for a concert at the Motorpoint Arena. What I liked about this hotel was that it was right opposite the Arena and it was easy to get to my room late at night as the reception was open constantly. The location also made it easy to explore the city during the day and do some shopping etc. However I would say I've stayed in nicer places, this one didn't feel all that welcoming (for a start the writing on the entrance buzzer had worn off so when I first got there I stood there a moment wondering how to get in). Anyway my room was pretty comfortable, although the fact the windows didn't open meant it was a little stuffy (the wall fan didn't seem to do much), and the breakfast was adequate; a basic self-service continental. I think it was definitely value for money and if you're just looking for a comfy place to sleep after a gig/night club then I'd recommended it.

Reviewed by
Jennifer H

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but completely acceptable
The Big Sleep is a budget hotel so don't expect luxury. But no complaints either - you get what you pay for, and better than that really.

Reviewed by
S Owen

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big sleep
Very clean room, comfortable bed. Insufficient parking means using NCP car park and a walk to hotel which I would not like to do alone after dark!

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next