No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BUTE TERRACE , CARDIFF, CF10 2FE
Part owned by Hollywood actor John Malkovich, The Big Sleep hotel is built from a 1960's office block and has possibly the coolest reputation in
Cardiff.

The Big Sleep Hotel offers large bright rooms, good views over the city and the Seven estuary. Rate includes a buffet continental breakfast. The hotel is located in the city centre opposite Cardiff International Arena, and a short walk from both railway stations, the Millennium Stadium and the shopping centre. Wireless internet is available in the public areas of the
hotel. Limited car parking is also available on site. All guest also have complimentary use of leisure facilities at nearby Vitality Gym and Health Club.

Please note that parking is available on site for £8 per overnight stay

Picture of The Big Sleep Hotel, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 315 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient for city centre
cheap and cheerful xx

Reviewed by
Mair D

From Tyn Y Gongl, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
We paid £39 and we considered it well worth the money. Room very clean, new towels in bathroom. Continental breakfast, lots of choice and once again dining room very clean.

Reviewed by
steven u

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but in need of updating
Clean tidy rooms but very noisy. From 5am in the morning until we checked out all we could hear was the doors slamming. Breakfast was ok but could have been a little more choice

Reviewed by
leanne davies

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, great location
Compared to other budget hotels in the city centre, The Big Sleep is a bargain. I was really impressed that continental breakfast was included in the price, which came out far cheaper than the alternative options. Definitely one to consider for a cheap break, and ideally located for events at the Motorpoint Arena.
The room itself was fine, bizarre hairy curtains, but well lit and comfortable beds. The room was a bit on the cold side, partly due to the number of windows, being a corner room might have contributed to this, and partly because the heater wasn't the most efficient in the world. Comfy bed, decent telly, tea & coffee hidden in the cupboard. Stunning view over the railway line, but really, I don't stay in a hotel to look out the window all day.

Reviewed by
L Cooper

From Merthyr Tudful, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I was expecting
After having a deal for this room, from £205 to £39 I thought the hotel and it's services would be excellent. Upon arrival I was not impressed by the attitude of the booking in staff. Parking prices stated online did not include charges after checkout, which might have changed our mind over our stay as £8 per overnight stay seemed like a good deal. No mention of the charges per hour after checkout are anywhere on the website. Upon arrival in our room, which was clean and tidy I must say, however touching the curtains created a wave of dust which you can imagine was not ideal....when closing the curtains we left the room just in case. Must say no noise throughout the night even though we were next to the train station!!! We had breakfast included in our room price, it would have been nice to know it was continental and self service as there is no mention of this online yet again. Very pleased I did not pay the original price as I would have been very disappointed.

Reviewed by
J Evans

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay in central Cardiff
Excellent value for money stay in central Cardiff. Location by shops, easy to get to Cardiff Bay. Clean, comfortable accomodation. Breakfast not brilliant but adequate and still great value for money. Reception staff were very friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to others.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Monday night in Cardiff
Ideal location if you are watching an event in the motorpoint arena. It's not the Ritz but for £45 quid inc breakfast its still good value. Clean and warm. Friendly staff and easy parking.

Reviewed by
Andy B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money - bed very comfy too!
Very good value for money - bed very comfy too!

Reviewed by
S Davies

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
Hotel was exactly what you would expect on a budget. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
K Hall

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

parking
parking is very expensive

Reviewed by
gary clarkson

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next