You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality


Bute Terrace, Cardiff, CF10 2FE

Price From 62.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (69)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lesley S

  • October 2016

Never staying again

Have stayed in budget hotels before, but at least they were clean.

Felt it was student accommodation rather than hotel. Don't think bathroom floor had been cleaned all year. Stains on floor in bedroom etc.

  • Nicola M

  • September 2016

A clean affordable hotel

A clean affordable hotel

Very clean

Very polite and friendly staff

Nice big and comfortable bed

  • Simone B

  • September 2016


This was ok to just crash for a night when visiting the city, but stuffy as windows do not open (too close to railway for that - would be noisy otherwise).

There was a fan, which helped, but it was very dusty, and we wouldn't have left it on overnight.

  • Christine K

  • September 2016

Very poor value for money

The price for the room was far too high it was £130 for 1 night I think it was only worth around £50 to £60 it was after all a 2 star and that was certainly what it felt like.

Had the breakfast. Had to pay an extra £5.50 each the food on offer was all the cheapest products available

Carpet in room stained wouldn't,t want to stay again.

  • Jean W

  • July 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

Fan in the bathroom was full of dust.

Everything else was very clean.

  • Robert P

  • July 2016

Clean but poor standard of room

The room had clearly not been refurbished in the last 15 years.

Standard comparatively poor. But was clean. Noise from nearby rooms and nearby railwayline very audible.

  • Matthew C

  • June 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Experience

The front of house staff here were excellent, efficient yet friendly.

They even allowed us to leave our luggage for a few hours after checking out until our transport arrived. But it is a drab, boxy building with entrances, both front and back, at best described as utilitarian. You have to pay a little extra for a cooked breakfast, but if you can satisfy with cereal, toast, pastries and fruit you will not go hungry. My room was OK, nothing more, but having spoken to the new housekeeper, who was wonderful by the way, it seems improvements are on the way. A large upgrade, including the removal of lots of pink will make this a decent choice for a budget price.

  • Janet B

  • June 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

Marketed as a budget hotel but I would expect more for £125 a night.

The room was very dated, grubby and stale. No air conditioning and no windows that open. The carpet is paper thin so you might as well be walking on concrete. A lot of dust around ceiling tiles and fans, flaking paint and chipped furniture. Curtain made from fuzzy fur that made you itch just looking at them. The bathroom could do with bleaching and scrubbing. The room was very grim, not all cozy. The best thing about the room was the towels, they were very big and fluffy. The staff were very nice and the breakfast was good value. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Suzanne C

  • June 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

Great hotel in the centre of town.

Really friendly staff.

  • tracy clark

  • June 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

Excellent staff and great hotel.