No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lynam Hotel

63 / 64 O'Connell Street , Dublin , Dublin 1
Housed in two listed Georgian Townhouses, Lynam's Hotel is an engaging 2* boutique hotel offering superb value in the heart of Dublin City.

Each of the hotel’s 42 en-suite bedrooms is furnished to the highest standard and reflect the Georgian ambiance of the original building while offering guests all the comforts of a modern hotel. All floors are served by a lift.

The rooms effuse warm and relaxing colours and offer the following range of facilities including:

•All Rooms ensuite
•Direct Dial Telephone
•Wake-Up Call (on request)
•Ironing Facilities (on request)
•Multi-Channel Television
•Laundry Service (Monday-Friday)
•Room Service (12h00 to 22h00)
•Guest Information

Lynams Hotel is home to Cafe Carlo, an ambient gem of an eatery specializing in a delicious fusion of Irish & Italian cuisine.

The relaxed and intimate setting of Café Carlo, coupled with its high-quality, reasonably priced food and friendly, attentive staff has made this restaurant a huge favourite with Dublin diners. Not only is it a popular choice with visitors to our fair city, it's also found a place in the hearts of the discerning locals, who return time and again to soak up the Cafe Carlo atmosphere and enjoy some genuinely delicious food.

Located in the heart of Dublin’s Theatre District with a vast array of shows and performances to choose from daily, Cafe Carlo is the ideal meeting place for a Pre-Theatre Meal.

Picture of Lynam Hotel , Dublin  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The hotel is no 5 start hotel, but then you are not paying 5 star prices. This place does exactly what it needs to, a bed, a toilet and a shower. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was good (although it did splash everywhere).
The only negative I have about it is that the walls are thin and the doors close loudly which can equate to other guests and noisy drunks outside waking you up.

Reviewed by
Ben F

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lynams hotel
The hotel was clean there food is very good bedroom was clean but would want to replace handbasin remote for tv did not work

Reviewed by
margaret duignan

From Frenchpark, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been much better
I stayed for one night. Hotel at prime location. Receptionist very helpful. Room was good size with clean shower room. I think they need to change domestic. Chair with broken arm rest and sharp spikes were the only chair in room. Shampoo pot in shower was empty. Stuff to make tea/coffee present but no near electric point. Flat screen TV in room but remote not working. Hotel was let down by careless room keeper. Otherwise, it was a good hotel at this price.

Reviewed by
A Wahab

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.location
very convienent for shoping in centre of Dublin by the spire

Reviewed by
elaine m

From cork, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what I needed
It was a lovely stay! Very central, 24hr reception, helpful staff, comfortable beds.
I stayed with a friend in a twin room and it was the perfect size. For .
minor problems- the hearing is only switched in for a couple of hours at a time, about twice a day. Our room was quite cold, but maybe in the spring it would be nicer. Also it was a little load outside late at night, and early morning from surrounding businesses.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Dublin :)

Reviewed by
Aimee B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't bother complaining!
Stayed here for a couple of nights when away with the lads. Hotel is in a really good location, right next door to a mcdonalds for breakfast and about a 10 minute walk from temple bar where the bars are! Apart from the location there was nothing else about this hotel which would make me stay again. The beds very uncomfortable, you feel every spring and that was the same in all of our rooms. When trying to mention this to the receptionist she ignored me the first time. I said it again and she told me to go elsewhere because she was trying to do some work and I was getting in the way! I tried a third time but got ignored again! In serious need of customer service!

Reviewed by
L Kirtland

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint little hotel in a great location
The hotel is not the easiest to spot but is in a great central location (on O'Connell St, not far from Temple Bar and all the action!) The staff were all really friendly and helpful and for the price we thought the hotel was great. It isn't the most modern and could do with a bit of updating but equally it was clean, comfortable and for a 2* I think it was great. The only two comments I would leave are:
1) the pillows were terrible - so thin
2) you have to leave your room key when you leave your hotel. This is for safety reasons as the name and room number is on the key but the staff weren't always on reception and only once did someone check my name to the room number I gave.
I would stay here again if I visited though

Reviewed by
K Jones

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Staff.
Reception staff could have been more helpful. The staff at the adjoining café where we had breakfast were not helpful. They did not tell me where the cereal/fruit was laid out and when I found it there were no dishes.

Reviewed by
D Hanratty

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lynams for centre of shoping
location is the best for shoping in Dublin city centre

Reviewed by
elaine m

From Cork, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly and helpful. Bed/matress very lumpy and creaky. Only liquid soap. Couldn't get any signal from TV. Room looked as if it had been recently refurbished but a sense of minimal facilities - soap, toiletries.
Difficult to judge if value for money but incline to think it wasn't worth what I paid.

Reviewed by
David Young

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next