No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maison Gorey

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Main Road, Gorey Village, Jersey, JE3 9EP
Gorey Village is one of the most Beautiful places in the Channel Islands With its array of quaint shops, village green and the beach only one minute away. Maison Gorey Hotel is a 30 Bedroom Family run hotel You will feel at home from the minute you check in with helpful staff and a warm welcome The hotel is deceptive in size as it hosts it own large bar and restaurant serving fantastic food at realistic prices which makes it popular with visitors and locals alike. The Magnificent Mont Orgueil Castle sitting above Gorey Harbour with its selection of popular bars and restaurants is only a Ten minute walk away.
Picture of Maison Gorey, Jersey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maison Gorey Jersey break August 2014
The hotel was in an ideal location, close to the beach and castle and aided by an excellent bus service that made made travelling around Jersey an easy experience. My thanks to the staff and management at the Maison Gorey for a relaxing comfortable trouble-free stay, the service was excellent, food (especially the full english breakfasts!) was good quality, staff and management were friendly and very helpful. Although we only had 4 days on the island, I would recommend Jersey and this hotel for anyone thinking of visiting.

Reviewed by
david richardson

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant long weekend.
We picked Maison Gorey primarily for its location near the sea and within walking distance of Mont Orgueil Castle, and having read reviews, it sounded ideal for our long weekend break. We were not disappointed! It was excellent value with our room being clean and comfortable and an excellent choice for breakfast. We ate out in the evenings, so can't comment on quality of meals. Customer service was outstanding for us. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble, and the staff were so friendly - really lovely people. We would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
Christine Sacree

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

August 2014.
Excellent hosts nothing too much trouble, hotel is in need of some upgrading to rooms.
Overall it's excellent value for money, recommend for short breaks rather than long stay.
Excellent position for seeing the island.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good customer service excellent room and fabulous breakfast

Reviewed by
Victoria Brookes

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real village feel to the Maison Gorey
The hotel has apparently been taken over recently and the new owners should be real proud of themselves for creating a chilled out and friendly environment. We were given a little tour on our arrival which was well before check-in time. And that was no problem. On check-out, we were told no hurry - so refreshing. The staff were charming and helpful and the menu catered for all tastes. We flew into Jersey and the bus transfer was so simple. Picked up by a waiting bus, delivered to St Helier bus station and immediate transfer to Gorey village in just over an hour. Grand total each of £3.60 each way with luggage as well. Unbelievable value - who needs a car. There is a building site next door, but don't worry they aren't working late and it will be completed soon. A few workers come in for breakfast tells you the food is good and the locals especially like for sunday lunch. Great place in lovely village setting with cute shops. We will return!

Reviewed by
Heather O

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay on beautiful Island
Lovely hotel in quiet area close to the harbour. Excellent value, friendly staff, comfortable beds. We had an accident during our stay on the beautiful Island of Jersey and the Hotel staff were so helpful and supportive. We would certainly stay there in future if we get the chance.

Reviewed by
C Jackson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem of a find!
The hotel was reasonably priced & seemed to be in a nice location when I was looking to book. The location far exceeded our expectations. Wonderful restaurants & lovely scenery & beaches. The hotel was comfortable. Immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. The proprietors excellent, helpful & friendly.The breakfast was really good. Cannot find any fault at all.

Reviewed by
S Deane

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent quiet village location
Love the location, Quiet village, very pretty. Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff. Very clean. A couple of minutes to a beautiful beach. I seriously could not fault this hotel or the location at all. Will be back that's for sure. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
jayne smith

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location, good potential but needs some guidance
This is just a brief summary. I would be happy to share my complete thoughts with the owner and offer some advice on how easily things could be improved.
We booked Maison Gorey because of its location in Gorey village, one of the nicest parts of Jersey. We considered that £80 a night should give us something reasonable but even with Jersey's inflated prices, this hotel is probably £10 to £15 a night too high at present.
Parking outside was very limited, with only three usable full sized spaces. One of those was always occupied by a commercial vehicle (the owner's?) and the other three were only suitable for smart cars or minis. Fortunately there is a car park nearby.
Our top floor double room was clean but very basic. Everything about it was quite ordinary, including the clock radio that can only have been there as a reminder of a previous era. There was plenty of wardrobe space but it included a rail that was at least 7 feet above the ground. We took drinks to our room from the bar on our first night. The dirty glasses were still there when we left.
The bar lounge is a huge room, but also one of the most impersonal lounges I have ever seen - hence the reason why we took the drinks to our room on our first night and stayed out every night after that. It just needs a bit of imagination in terms of layout and décor.
We ate only breakfast in the restaurant and endured a strange relationship with the waiter who tried to put us on a particular table on day one, then insisted on removing the table number from our table each successive day when we chose our own table. He said something about it confusing the staff. It was quite bizarre when all that was needed was a note of our table number on the order itself. Clearly the staff were confused because the first time we received what we had actually ordered was on our last day. The food itself was really only of average quality.
In summary, we enjoyed our stay in Gorey but it could have been so much better with attention to a few details at Maison Gorey.

Reviewed by
J Paine

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would go Again
Very good food. Staff very obliging. We had a wonderful week.

Reviewed by
Howard N

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next