The Old Crown

3

BATH ROAD, KELSTON, BATH, BA1 9AQ

Price From 148.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (77)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • c rus

  • April 2015

Very nice accommodation, clean and quiet, the food was excellent and very lovely staff.

Beautiful back yard and children playground...definitely go back again!

  • michael coles

  • February 2015

Crown experience

The Crown provided a welcoming place perfect for visiting Bath.

The breakfast were excellent however the request to notify a time for breakfast was unusual in such a small place. We fell foul of this on our last morning. We forgot to notify our time and at 9am found the place locked and deserted so we packed and left?

  • i burnett

  • February 2015

good value

great hosts, good value for money being so close to Bath and the food was excellent

  • m lavender

  • February 2015

Hotel review

We only stayed the one night but found the staff very friendly, and considering what we paid the room was very clean and comfortable with a lot of nice finishing touches, would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Steve Nelson

  • January 2015

Lovely rural coaching inn

Stayed here, alone while on business, for 2 nights.

Was very happy, and would certainly consider returning again when next doing business in the area. Room was warm, despite it being very cold outside, comfortable and clean. Bed was very comfortable indeed. WiFi in room was useful for me. Bedroom was in a building next to the main pub, alongside a busy road between Bath and Bristol. A cobbled yard and pathways linked the 2 buildings, which was well lit at night. The room was fitted with secondary glazing, which reduced but didn't eliminate the road noise. This issue didn't adversely affect my sleep, although the traffic did get busier from about 7 in the morning.

First night was Monday night, and free finger food was available on the bar. That may explain why plenty of friendly locals were in the bar when I arrived. I too helped myself to some of the free food, much of which was homemade and lovely; the homemade scotch eggs were particularity good. I had no need to order food from the menu, although it sounded good. Local real ale was superb.

Cooked breakfast both mornings, which was delicious. There was juice and cereal available too. The coffee was superb, coming from a proper coffee Batista machine. Yum yum. As a small place, guests are asked to indicate what time they would like to attend breakfast, between 8 and 10. The only way breakfast could have been made any better , for me on my own, was to have a local radio station playing. A large and well lit car park is sited opposite the pub/hotel, the other side of the busy road. One may need to be patient at certain times of day when crossing on foot.

So much nicer staying here than a faceless national chain. Good luck to the proprietors.

  • Nina I

  • January 2015

We got what we paid for, I guess (& they did what they could with what they had too).

I checked the hotel's website as well as its description on laterooms.com prior to travel, & I was satisfied with what I saw at the time.

However, I soon discovered that the photos had been very cleverly taken to, in my belief, disguise the fact that the rooms are all located on a main road which is busy for most of the night. The owners have tried to block out the noise as much as possible with another layer of glazing, but it doesn't really help. The sleeping area was really roomy, with a nicely decorated feature wall & exposed beams, but the bathroom (of which there were no images) was tiny - there was only room for a shower, toilet & sink - and, because there was a bit of a lack of ventilation, there was mould growing on the sloping ceiling that formed one of the walls of the 'cubicle'. I would suggest a Velux window if the council's planning department would allow it. My husband didn't use the shower in the end; as he is quite tall, I doubt he'd've fitted anyway. The pub itself was also cleverly photographed, so the fact that it is very small is not very obvious. On Friday night, the bar was packed with locals (which is completely fine, seeing as it is their pub as such!) This would be fine, if not for the fact that the restaurant area is also very small (although, obviously, the owners can only make the best with what they have space-wise). The meal itself was fine in terms of value for money (and my husband in particular found the combination of pork belly, prawns & gravy to be rather revelatory!)

  • S Batey

  • January 2015

Good Stay

Accommodation was basic but as expected.

Room & ensuite was clean and reasonably well maintained.

  • Phil Bull

  • December 2014

Friendly village pub atmosphere.

Friendly village pub atmosphere with cosy, barn type bedroom accommodation - very clean and good facilities - great breakfast.

We really enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend The Old Crown at Kelston.

  • Sadie P

  • December 2014

Lovely room and food but needs a deep clean & redecorating

I don't mind that the room we stayed in was was very small but it really needed a decent clean.

There was a lot of stuff on the floor that needed hoovering and the decorative cushions on the beds were filthy.

The room needed redecorating as the ceiling was heavily stained and the wallpaper had lots of nicks I. It. I have read reviews saying the staff were rude. I wouldn't say that but I definitely felt like our presence at breakfast was some what of an inconvenience. Being pounced on for money as soon as we arrived was also surprising. As other reviewers have said, here is no info in the rooms about the area or indeed, any health and safety information. The room was well equipped with a hairdryer, iron andd ironing board. The food in the evening was really, really good.

I would probably return but only because it is relatively cheap and it was ok as a room to sleep in.

  • Michael J

  • December 2014

Good base tovisitBath

The room was basic but was perfectly adequate for a visit to Bath for the Xmas fair

Everything worked well including the wi fi

The pub was cozy with lovely log fires and food and beer in the evening was just what we wanted

Staff all pleasant and helpful

Bus stop right outside very handy and easier than park and ride