No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Crown

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
BATH ROAD, KELSTON , BATH, BA1 9AQ
The Old Crown is a wonderful 17th century coaching inn, less than 3 miles from Bath city centre in the lovely village of Kelston. No machines or music, just good beer, good wine, great food and fab company, you are guaranteed to make a friend ot two! All our rooms are en suite with a shower, all have tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV with freeview. There is ample opportunity to indulge in the surrounding countryside with a refreshing walk, whether it be up to Kelston Roundhill or down to Saltford Marina. Booking is recommended in advance as we do tend to fill up pretty quick!
Check in is from between 2pm and 10.00pm but if you want to explore Bath during the day you are more than welcome to leave your bags with us!

Picture of The Old Crown, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown experience
The Crown provided a welcoming place perfect for visiting Bath. The breakfast were excellent however the request to notify a time for breakfast was unusual in such a small place. We fell foul of this on our last morning. We forgot to notify our time and at 9am found the place locked and deserted so we packed and left?

Reviewed by
michael coles

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
great hosts, good value for money being so close to Bath and the food was excellent

Reviewed by
i burnett

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
We only stayed the one night but found the staff very friendly, and considering what we paid the room was very clean and comfortable with a lot of nice finishing touches, would definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
m lavender

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rural coaching inn
Stayed here, alone while on business, for 2 nights. Was very happy, and would certainly consider returning again when next doing business in the area. Room was warm, despite it being very cold outside, comfortable and clean. Bed was very comfortable indeed. WiFi in room was useful for me. Bedroom was in a building next to the main pub, alongside a busy road between Bath and Bristol. A cobbled yard and pathways linked the 2 buildings, which was well lit at night. The room was fitted with secondary glazing, which reduced but didn't eliminate the road noise. This issue didn't adversely affect my sleep, although the traffic did get busier from about 7 in the morning.
First night was Monday night, and free finger food was available on the bar. That may explain why plenty of friendly locals were in the bar when I arrived. I too helped myself to some of the free food, much of which was homemade and lovely; the homemade scotch eggs were particularity good. I had no need to order food from the menu, although it sounded good. Local real ale was superb.
Cooked breakfast both mornings, which was delicious. There was juice and cereal available too. The coffee was superb, coming from a proper coffee Batista machine. Yum yum. As a small place, guests are asked to indicate what time they would like to attend breakfast, between 8 and 10. The only way breakfast could have been made any better , for me on my own, was to have a local radio station playing. A large and well lit car park is sited opposite the pub/hotel, the other side of the busy road. One may need to be patient at certain times of day when crossing on foot.
So much nicer staying here than a faceless national chain. Good luck to the proprietors.

Reviewed by
Steve Nelson

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We got what we paid for, I guess (& they did what they could with what they had too).
I checked the hotel's website as well as its description on laterooms.com prior to travel, & I was satisfied with what I saw at the time. However, I soon discovered that the photos had been very cleverly taken to, in my belief, disguise the fact that the rooms are all located on a main road which is busy for most of the night. The owners have tried to block out the noise as much as possible with another layer of glazing, but it doesn't really help. The sleeping area was really roomy, with a nicely decorated feature wall & exposed beams, but the bathroom (of which there were no images) was tiny - there was only room for a shower, toilet & sink - and, because there was a bit of a lack of ventilation, there was mould growing on the sloping ceiling that formed one of the walls of the 'cubicle'. I would suggest a Velux window if the council's planning department would allow it. My husband didn't use the shower in the end; as he is quite tall, I doubt he'd've fitted anyway.
The pub itself was also cleverly photographed, so the fact that it is very small is not very obvious. On Friday night, the bar was packed with locals (which is completely fine, seeing as it is their pub as such!) This would be fine, if not for the fact that the restaurant area is also very small (although, obviously, the owners can only make the best with what they have space-wise). The meal itself was fine in terms of value for money (and my husband in particular found the combination of pork belly, prawns & gravy to be rather revelatory!)

Reviewed by
Nina I

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Accommodation was basic but as expected. Room & ensuite was clean and reasonably well maintained.

Reviewed by
S Batey

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and food but needs a deep clean & redecorating
I don't mind that the room we stayed in was was very small but it really needed a decent clean. There was a lot of stuff on the floor that needed hoovering and the decorative cushions on the beds were filthy.
The room needed redecorating as the ceiling was heavily stained and the wallpaper had lots of nicks I. It.
I have read reviews saying the staff were rude. I wouldn't say that but I definitely felt like our presence at breakfast was some what of an inconvenience. Being pounced on for money as soon as we arrived was also surprising.
As other reviewers have said, here is no info in the rooms about the area or indeed, any health and safety information.
The room was well equipped with a hairdryer, iron andd ironing board.
The food in the evening was really, really good.
I would probably return but only because it is relatively cheap and it was ok as a room to sleep in.

Reviewed by
Sadie P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly village pub atmosphere.
Friendly village pub atmosphere with cosy, barn type bedroom accommodation - very clean and good facilities - great breakfast! We really enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend The Old Crown at Kelston.

Reviewed by
Phil Bull

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
Very disappointing. Dated, noisy as the room was right overlooking and next to a very busy main road, when we queried this we were assured it was quiet at night (it was not), noise from floor boards above. Noise from the room above flushing their toilet, noise from out shower leaking all night, room was freezing cold despite being told heating was on a timer very disappointing and would never stay again

Reviewed by
Sian Fennell

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base tovisitBath
The room was basic but was perfectly adequate for a visit to Bath for the Xmas fair
Everything worked well including the wi fi
The pub was cozy with lovely log fires and food and beer in the evening was just what we wanted
Staff all pleasant and helpful
Bus stop right outside very handy and easier than park and ride

Reviewed by
Michael J

From Bourne End, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next