No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Berwick Lodge

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Drive, Bristol, BS10 7TD
Awarded with 5 gold stars by the AA for its accommodation, Berwick Lodge is a unique privately owned hotel offering 14 individually designed bedrooms with distinctive features, a 2 rosette Modern British restaurant and exceptional service.

This Victorian building, set in 18 acres of garden and woodland, is situated close to Bristol, Cribbs Causeway and motorway links M4/M5 yet gives the feeling of tranquility and being 'away from it all'
Picture of Berwick Lodge, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel - Avoid Galatia Room If You Can
The Hotel is very nice and grand, sweeping driveway, impressive stonework etc. The "common" facilities for guests appeared equally grand and impressive. The room - the Galatia - was sadly not. The windows did not fit in their frames, as the room faced the nearby M5, there was a constant traffic drone in the room. The shower was an overly complex massaging / radio / hot air blower affair for which the relevant buttons had broken / tops had worn away and there was no user guide - meaning this was impossible to use. The bed was sagged to the extent it must surely have needed replacing some years ago, the bedknob broken and lolling, nowhere to plug the kettle in etc.etc.etc. Burger and a pint - best part of £20 ! Laminate floor to the hallway made it sound like armies were marching by in the night, room next to lift. Staff very pleasant however !

Reviewed by
C swann

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we opted to have an evening meal from the bar menu (steak) but could not eat it in the dining room only in the lounge or our room, as we do not eat dinner in our bedroom,our only option was the lounge which only had coffee tables and was very uncomfortable, we found it strange that we were not allowed to eat in the dining room as there was hardly anyone in there. we felt we were being discrimated for choosing the bar menu instead of the al a carte menu even though the price was the same .

Reviewed by
m pink

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

9/10
The Berwick Lodge was fantastic! The building is spectacular, the decor is impressive and the staff were top class. The grounds that this hotel sits upon are great also.

Reviewed by
Calvin L

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff,good atmosphere,lovely place to stay,will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Margaret G

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredible
Fantastic room, service and value would recommend to anybody!

Reviewed by
Chris S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I love the place; I have stayed there many times and find it refreshingly different !
A boutique hotel set in it's own grounds with capable, polite and friendly staff; the rooms are all individual and very well appointed; food is great too ! I'm asking myself if I should be writing this review, as I don't want to find that the hotel gets too busy to take my bookings !

Reviewed by
john cornforth

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprising
Just outside Bristol with good access from motorway. A slightly tired but beautiful old lady of a hotel. Great products in bathroom though! If you are fed up with city hotels, need some space but also need to be in the city this is ideal. Supper on the lawn, huge beds, good service.

Reviewed by
Deborah W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel but tiny bathroom
Such a nice hotel, only real downside was the size of the bathroom it was ultra compact and felt difficult to manouevre but I'm sure they aren't all like that. Apart from that though lovely staff, great food & stunning location.

Reviewed by
T Rickard

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location for a quiet getaway
The hotel is quite impressive on arrival and the staff were friendly enough. I was shown to my room which had a huge bathroom and rather large furniture for the room. It was cosy but not good for plug sockets which were in difficult locations. Beautiful scenery and downstairs rooms were nicely restored to period standard. I would stay again but if there were 2 of us, I would need a bed that didn't require climbing over each other!

Reviewed by
Ruth G

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredible hotel, best I've ever stayed in
Customer service was excellent. As we arrived we were shown to the lounge area while we waited for our room to be cleaned. It overlooked the garden and we were served by the friendliest staff who brought us a complimentary pot of coffee. The room was absolutely perfect; the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in. We ordered breakfast in bed, which was the only meal we had and it was 10/10. Overall a wonderful stay and we will definitely be returning soon for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
S Jinks

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next