Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham Formally known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 364 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,good value for money. If you're looking for luxury place, then you shouldn't choose this hotel.As for me, it was perfect just to spend couple nights.

Reviewed by
Agne B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a quality hotel.
Disappointing as part of a holiday break but may be acceptable for business travellers. Lots of small niggles that gave a poor impression:
very dark room even in daytime with lights on.
Plastic bottle top on the floor, from previous occupant?
Only one mug provided for two guests, although quickly provided on request
No hand towels, again quickly provided on request.
Nowhere to hang towels. Evidence that there used to be a hook on the door.
Air conditioning out of order, for some time judging by the curled up apology label attached.
Menus both in the room and bar/restaurant were marked and greasy. Given that they were A4 printed sheets there is no good reason for this. The one in our room had food stuck to it.
Bad start to breakfast, records had not been updated to show that we had paid for it.
Basic breakfast with variety packs, tinned fruit, rubbery toast and poor excuse for marmalade. Cooked also available. No filter coffee just sachets of Nescafé
Chairs covered in crumbs.
Stairs needed cleaning, there was a crisp on them when we arrived and still there when we left two days later.
Only small things and could be overlooked if just one or two incidents but altogether gave a feel of indifference to any genuine concern about customer satisfaction.
Will not recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
V V

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family friendly a loose term cleanlessness poor and poor diy
The room on 1st floor contained 1 double and 2 singles.windows have no locks and child's bed next to them. Very noisy traffic 24/7 and no air con. Asked for fan _none available.
Issues with provisions only 2 cups for 4 people. No mattress cover on double bed. Skirting boards filthy. Bathroom door obviously replaced by unskilled diyer. The door looked like a fingerprint ed crime scene,poor paintwork and drops of dry paint on floor. Door jamb split and pinched feet. Only 4 bath towels no flannels or hand towels. Used one first night _not replaced.poor quality provided toiletries steer well clear. Housekeeping not brilliant. Didn't eat there or use facilities. We were so worried about window issue children stayed with family second night. Plan was to book further night but we just went elsewhere.
Cost £30 for fan as they were in short supply in shops _lucky we could take it home but added to cost of stay so offset savings made. I would not say 3 star and if you want to sleep go elsewhere. Too noisy with traffic and people outside at all hours. Staff were polite and good shower dispute the poor fitting.

Reviewed by
Adrian B

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as it appears!
After reading some of the reviews, I was quite worried about staying in this hotel and although it could have done with a lick of paint, overall I liked it. Plenty of places to park the car; the staff on Reception were lovely and very efficent; we were checked in really quickly. We were on the top floor which had a view over the main road but that was fine, however, it was very noisy when we went to sleep; luckily I had my ear plugs with me so slept really well. The bed was really comfortable and although the room had seen better days it was nice to just get away. As we only paid £45.00 for the room, I feel that we can't really complain at that. We had breakfast at the hotel, again the staff were welcoming; the buffet hot breakfast always stocked really well. Although the reviews are quite terrible in places, I would return to the hotel. I would also recommend the Garden House pub next door to eat; the food is lovely and the waitress really welcoming. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
K Bunting

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby in Brum.
The staff seem to be doing their best with the hand they have been dealt but this place is desperately in need of refurbishment. Unless you are getting a really cheap deal go in a Premier Inn instead.
Breakfast was okay but 'chippy' sausages are not acceptable in any hotel, in my opinion.

Reviewed by
ROBERT J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel, quite grubby,
You don't want to stay here, the loo seat was wobbly, the bath side was cracked and falling off, empty soap dispenser holders left on the bathroom wall, quite sharp edges, a safety hazard if you fell, the paint work, doors ect was not cleaned, the curtain liners ripped, do you want me to go on. Reported the loo and bath side, nothing was done. At (a very basic breakfast ) it was like a groupe of monkeys had been helping themselves, the serving tables were corvered with debris and again grubby. The premier inn is just round the corner, it seems they have standards

Reviewed by
C Fawell

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cleanliness of room
Staff were very helpful. the room was a let down, the linen had dirt marks on two of the 3 beds. the phone in the room was not working to ring reception had to go down stairs if need anything. i do not think that the room was worth £64.00. i am a duty manager of 3 star hotel and that room was not acceptable.

Reviewed by
C John

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mediocre.
the shower didn't work as there was no knob left to switch it from bath-shower. Kettle had no tea bags. the room itself was ok, ibis/travelodge have better rooms in my opinion.. pool was nice, but the jacuzzi water was filthy, luckily the staff changed that, but they also turned off the steam room 2 hours before closing which we really wanted to use. Was also woken up by staff banging at our door asking when we were leaving, even though we were staying another night, weren't polite at all, and the tested fire alarms on the monday which if you were still sleeping, without having being prior warned it would have terrified you!

Reviewed by
eleisha l

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the money
A value for money hotel that is very tatty around the edges. It felt like everything was broken in the room and bathroom. Very noisy on a saturday night. We knew what to expect for the money and location, so we weren't surprised. It suited it's purpose. It would be better if they tidied it up a bit.

Reviewed by
David C

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
basic facilities ok for one night for business

Reviewed by
lyn s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next