No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ricks

4Visit Scotland Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
55A Frederick Street , Edinburgh, EH2 1LH
At Rick’s Edinburgh boutique hotel, we have ten super-chic rooms located across the covered courtyard from our bar and restaurant, making it one of the most talked about cool hotels in Edinburgh. How would you like to spend the night? A stylish boutique hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city centre, Rick's offers the perfect antidote to unwelcoming corporate hotel chains. From the elegant walnut headboards to the enticing angora and lambs wool blankets upon the beds, we've done our utmost to make you feel at home in these stylish Edinburgh hotel rooms.
Picture of Ricks, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh retreat
wonderful break in a very comfortable hotel, with all the facilities one could want

Reviewed by
P Clark

From INVERBERVIE, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grahams review
+ points location comfortable bed friendly service
_ points shower not working coffee in room no milk very expensive bar

Reviewed by
graham d

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find in the city
This was a great find. Yes, the rooms are compact and there is quite a lot of noise outside but it is a city centre hotel and the thoughtful little extras like the GHD straighteners and oversized bathrobes made it feel very special for such a reasonable priced room. As with other reviews there was no sign of the pre-loaded iPod but it didn't bother me to be honest. I think was just more intrigued by what music I might have found on it! I had a steak in the restaurant which was fabulous and the staff couldn't have been friendlier.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel!
We really enjoyed our stay at Rick's. The room was comfortable and stylish, the staff were very friendly and it situated in close proximity to shopping and attractions. The rooms are above a restaurant, we didn't get chance to dine there during our stay, but it looked lovely - so definitely would next time!

Reviewed by
Amie I

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely but the room we had was at the back and was noisy when all the pubs were emptying the bottles

Reviewed by
Clare B

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent city hotel for exploring Edinburgh
Having hunted online for some while Ricks was a real find! Great location for exploring Edinburgh, friendly and helpful staff and lovely food.
The staff replied promptly to email prior to visit and were very helpful with regards places to park.
If there was one fault it would be that the "double" bed was 2 singles pushed together, which lead to the occasional getting stuck in the gap in the night when rolling over.
We would most definitely visit Ricks again!

Reviewed by
Emma D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel could not have been better value and the staff were excellent

Reviewed by
n fortnum

From Castle Douglas, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff couldn't have been more helpful, night staff made us a food at 3am after chef had went home due to all local food places being closed

Reviewed by
S Thomson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic bolt hole in the centre of Edinburgh
A hip hotel just 10 minutes walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley Station. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Powerful shower, The White Company toiletries, crisp white sheets and a well stocked mini bar in the room. You pass through the trendy Rick's bar to enter the hotel. The bar itself serves a variety of cocktails, spirits, beers and wines in a relaxed, friendly environment. Arriving on a late train, we telephoned ahead to inquire if we could still dine at 10 pm. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and kept a table for us. A tasty two course meal (Modern British food) for £10 per head was good value, and the excellent house wine did not break the bank at £3.50 per glass. Next morning, we had an early meeting, and did not have time for breakfast. Passing through the restaurant en route to the front door, we were met by the enticing aroma of freshly prepared coffee and a tempting cooked breakfast. A variety of specialty restaurants are on the doorstep, serving French, Mexican, Italian and Indian cuisine. The shopping delights of Princes Street are within 5 minutes walking distance. The Royal Mile is a ten mile walk away. For the weary business traveller, Rick's is an excellent alternative to a corporate chain hotel. For the cost conscious traveller, our stay was a real steal at £ 80 per night (room only, booked via laterooms.com)

Reviewed by
Rajeev N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rick's Edinburgh
Great location, comfortable clean rooms,only disappointment no pricing on mini bar items, Staff on reception really accommodating and helpful.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next