Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place

5

5 Rue Duquesnoy, Brussels, B-1000

Price From 265.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Mills

  • September 2014

The concierge staff were some of the genuinly most helpful people we met.

We had left booking a table for x10 for dinner to the last moment and they mananged to pull it out the bag...and more.

  • D Stock

  • August 2014

My Stay

An exceptional hotel wonderful staff throughout all areas were well cleaned each day will certainly come back

  • Bethany B

  • January 2014

Disappointing

I booked 1 twin and one double room, the twin was for my parents as my dad has a bad back and struggles to sleep when sharing.

On check-in I was told that this was a request not a booking of specific rooms and they had no other rooms available. As this was a treat for my dads 70th birthday I was very disappointed and asked them to see if anything they could do. They spent half an hour as we waited playing with his computer and calling his supervisor to be told there was nothing could do. They obviously did have more superior rooms but would do nothing for us, I found the staff rude and they were looking down at us. Also the rooms werent ready so had to wait in reception for them to be ready despite it being after 4pm.

  • Anne R

  • November 2013

Well-equipped room in the heart of Brussels great for all occasions

Just staying at the Royal Windsor for one night, I felt it was a bit of a shame that I wouldn't get to 'test' it to its full extent.

However, all the necessities were not only there, but with a lovely touch - and then some.

The location was great - as it's so central, nothing is very far by metro and it is well-connected by train, metro, bus and taxi (€10 to Gare Midi) . The hotel is within 5 minutes' walking distance (even lugging a suitcase) from Gare Central, just stops (minutes) away from Gare Midi and the EU quarter, and within 5 minutes' walking (perhaps a 10- or 15-minute stroll) distance from the Grand Place. It was also easily in reach (by foot) of the Justice Palace. The area felt sufficiently safe, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby to wander past. As far as the hotel, it is obviously a luxury hotel, but not in too pretentious of a way to make a young, relatively average guest like me feel out of place . All of the staff were very accommodating, from check-in to hailing taxis to offering to help with bags and even helping me with the room door (which I thought was jammed or broken but in the end, was just very stubborn and required a bit of muscle - oops!).

The room was well-furnished although upon closer inspection, could obviously have used a bit of a refresher (a coat of paint and polish here or there, perhaps some of the woodwork was a bit banged up and 'loved' - but then again, I liked this as it gave it a bit more character than a modern hotel). No complaints with the cleanliness except to say that the bathroom could have been a bit more thoroughly cleaned. I happened to discover, after dropping a shampoo bottle under the sink, that a stray hair (definitely not of my own variety) or two were lingering around from, presumably, a previous guest. However, the room was well-equipped and stocked - from toiletries to food to all the little 'extras' which make it just that much nicer: bathrobe, slippers, shower cap, etc. Not that you necessarily need those things, but they're there in case you do. One thing that I would have appreciated is a clothes iron. As a non-European 25-year-old, I'm never quite sure if I can make a trouser press work for other items of clothing, but I'd fear not and thus have never experimented.

Despite it's relatively high pricetag (but, mind you, I hail from London so most things end up feeling like a 'bargain') I thought the room, hotel and service did warrant a 4-4.5/6 in the value for money department...in the sense that you get what you pay for, although not necessarily more (but certainly not less) than you'd expect.

  • Robbert W

  • October 2013

fantastic hotel in the middle of Brussels

This hotel is centrally located nr the Grand Place and walking distance from the train station.

lovely and quiet - great room, good bath room.

  • Steven M

  • September 2013

perfectly fine

This hotel is a great place to stay close to the Grand Place.

It has all of the amenities you would expect for a city centre location. It is not a 5 star hotel in my view but a good 4 star. The styling is quite traditional so if you like uber-trendy it might not be to your taste but you will see that from pics. Staff are friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend.

  • chris B

  • September 2013

Fabulous location in Brussels and easy to get to but NOT close to Midi Station.

Staff were excellent and very friendly and the room was clean and well appointed. The mini Bar was one of the most expensive I have seen in a while (€5.00 for a coke or 330ml of water)

Food in the hotel was expensive but you are a very short walk from more eateries than you could shake a stick at. Overall very good. I would stay again and I would recommend it

  • John W

  • August 2013

Beauty and convenience

Fab location and lovely hotel.

High quality room and staff were polite and welcoming. Suited us perfectly. Would have no qualms recommending or returning, wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Victoria B

  • August 2013

Super Hotel

Ideally located near Grand Place.

Attentive staff on arrival. Booked a deluxe room and was upgraded free of charge.Breakfast was perfect;great service and a large selection of food. Would definitely stay hdre again. Well done Royal Windsor!