No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Boathouse

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
The Boathouse Newbridge Road, Bath, BA1 3NB
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.

The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.

Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car and the Newbridge Park and Ride is situated next door, and offers frequent daily bus services to central Bath. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Railway Station is a 5-minute drive away
Picture of The Boathouse, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
The hotel was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
The accommodation was excellent great value for money, very clean and everything you needed.

Reviewed by
Y Hampton

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights at the Boathouse Bath
Overall the boathouse is an excellent place to stay within reach of Bath and the surrounding countryside. Rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and pleasant. The location of the hotel next to the river is good too.
Strong points: excellent food both at dinner and breakfast. Dining thoroughly recommended. Good wine list. Good service from pleasant staff. Alfresco dining option. Parking close to hotel.
Weak points: avoid room 9 at rear of hotel; no river view from windows, overwhelming cooking odor from kitchen swamps room in evening. Missing castor from bed means twin bed doesn't convert well to king, no iMac as advertised on booking.com site.

Reviewed by
G White

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Boathouse
Very nice accommodation, good parking facilities, excellent menu and nice breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely fabulous
From beginning to end this has to be the most beautiful hotel in the UK that we have stayed in. We booked it the day before as a last minute stay and couldn't have been happier. The hotel itself is in a beautiful setting and our room had a balcony overlooking the river with passing barges. The room was done to an extremely high quality and the food, both evening meal and breakfast, was excellent quality and value for money. I cannot wait to go back. I was so impressed that friends of ours have booked to stay already! The location was excellent and right next door to the park and ride which goes into the city centre every 15 minutes. Really reliable and cheap.

Reviewed by
leanne e

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Really enjoyed the stay, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
C Bevan

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden treasure
Tucked out of the way by a park & ride you would not realise what a super find this bar / hotel is, super big beds, friendly service and very nice food - only scored down the room as the remote control was missing!! - definitely not a budget hotel which is reflected in the price - still good value though for the quality of stay

Reviewed by
Mary W

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
This hotel was really well placed next to the park and ride on the outskirts of Bath.
We had a friendly welcome and a lovely meal the first night.
The room was super with a generous supply of tea, coffee and biscuits.
The outlook of the river was nice but a bit cold to sit out on the balcony as it was January.
We could no find any faults with the Boathouse.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nicely decorated room, communal areas clean and homely. Bar and dining room bright and cheerful with beautiful views of the river. Unfortunately the room we were allocated was at the back of the hotel and above the kitchen. This meant the room was dark and noisy because of the constant noise of the fan all evening. There were also cooking smells to contend with.
Although the room was decorated to a high standard the bathroom completely let it down. The bathroom needs updating: seal around bath, old wooden bath panel, tired tiling. Worst of all was the matted hair in the bath only allowing the water to drain away sluggishly. Toothbrush holder had old toothpaste inside. There was no hairdryer which meant my partner had to go and find one in Reception-it was suggested the hairdryer from our room must have been stolen at some point.
Breakfast was pleasant but not abundant with taste or flavour. Having read previous reviews about the vegetarian breakfast we had emailed and asked for beans. We were told at breakfast there were no beans. My partner received 2 halves of tomato, 2 halves of mushrooms and 2 slices of toast having declined eggs and veggie sausage which was disappointing.
The manager was polite and pleasant but we were not once asked if everything was ok, had we had an enjoyable stay or even wished a safe journey home! We were also greeted with a cold room, no heating was on in our room which meant sitting in our coats for a while while it warmed up despite arriving 2 hours after the 2pm check in time. On saying this the hotel is in a lovely location and convenient for the centre. We just felt when paying £125 for a night's stay the room and service could be improved greatly with a little more thought and attention.

Reviewed by
Rachael Winders

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No room for improvement!
The only comment I would like to make is to say what a lovely, quiet hotel this is..I will definitely stay here again. It is an excellent position for visiting Bath, with it being next to the Park & Ride. The food was absolutely delicious! Well done!!!

Reviewed by
Lynda B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant service and food. Would stay again and thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Liphook, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next