No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shirley B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
81 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5DR
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley Hotel. This family run Bournemouth B&B is situated on the favoured West Cliff. It offers great value for money in this wonderful location being just five minutes walk from Bournemouth town centre with its shops, cinemas, theatre, restaurants and bars. Not forgetting our close proximity to the seven glorious miles of award winning sandy beaches.

The Shirley Hotel is a friendly, comfortable hotel with a hearty full English breakfast included in the price. The building dates back to the 1820s, but the accommodation has now been modernised and offers free wireless internet connection, colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities in every bedroom. With a variety of single, twin, double, treble and family rooms, all ensuite this guesthouse will suit everyone from conference delegates and businessmen to singles, couples, families and groups. We are a pet friendly Bournemouth B&B and allow them to stay free of charge with their owners
Picture of Shirley B&B, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Photos a bit misleading
Clean but somewhat noisy. Had to have window open as suffocating on 2nd floor which meant very noisy seagulls plus revellers and bin men collecting in early hours. Add to that noisy plumbing and we had little sleep. But did the job for one night. Friendly history.

Reviewed by
Katy T

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small but host very welcoming and would definetely return
Room and shower extremely compact but hotel was very clean and breakfast was lovely 5minutes away from seafront lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
glynn g

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Value & Great Location!!
We went to see a concert at the Bournemoutb BIC and stayed overnight at the Shirley B&B. Jorge the owner is a very nice person who made us feel very welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the price was very good value for money. Parking out the back is also a bonus. Would definitely stay again if in Bournemouth and would recommend othter travellers. Yes it is not the Ritz but if you are looking for a good overnight stay or short term holiday then this is the place for you. Thankyou Jorge for your great hospitality!!!

Reviewed by
ANDREW FREEMAN

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendy B&B
Very friendly staff and great full english breakfast with cereal and juice. Clean and nice room. Had
good chats with owner and his wife who could not do enough for us.

Reviewed by
philip shrimpton

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere
It was great to stay at the shirley as we were taking our doogs on holiday with us. We were welcomed and the atmosphere was relaxed, despite the hotel being pet freindly it was immaculatly clean. The thing that i liked best about the stay was that the shirley isnt one of those hotels that has rules and regulation everywhere. the manager was a chilled guy and we just felt relaxed and comfrotable there.

Reviewed by
G Mann

From Hull, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

verry nice hotel

Reviewed by
D Kurpnieks

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect getaway
Amazing room, very clean, friendly dog greeted us as we walked in however dog is not always about. Friendly host who made us feel at ease. Good price for the location the hotel is in. 5 minutes from the beach by car. 10-15 walking. Would return and would definitely recommend!! Perfect for a getaway from the loud busy city.

Reviewed by
V Gomes

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel, 5 minute walk from the centre. You get exactly what you payed for but it is very cosy. Had a good laugh with the owner at breakfast and he was so helpful when it came to directing us for attractions. Excellent food and overall a great hotel to stay in! Only downside for me was the bed was a little uncomfortable. Not majorly but enough so my back ached a bit in the morning. However we were in one of the cheapest rooms and therefore it did not bother me whatsoever. Definatly recommend and hope to return again!

Reviewed by
E Tiley

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shirley Hotel
Hotel is quite central for Bournemouth with some good restaurants close by. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and I was made welcome, I will be returning next week and possibly the following week also, I think that says it all. To be recomended

Reviewed by
Jim Ferguson

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, with good location

Reviewed by
E Woodrow

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next