No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Greenford Lane Lamesley, Gateshead, NE11 0ER
The Ravensworth Arms is a traditional country inn with attractive stone exterior in a tranquil conservation area in Lamesley village. Just 3 minutes from the A1 and in sight of the iconic Angel of the North, it is the perfect base from which to explore the lovely Durham countryside or visit vibrant Newcastle.

The centre of Newcastle upon Tyne is less than 15 minutes away, and Newcastle International Airport is just an 11 mile trip up the A1, making the hotel a great location for doing business in the area, flying abroad or a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is an ideal relaxing venue for meetings and away days.

The hotel has 19 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site.

Just 1 mile from the A1 motorway on Greenford Lane in Lamesley, bustling Newcastle, historic Durham Castle and Cathedral, Gateshead’s Metro Centre and the Angel of the North are all nearby.

Picture of Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice for the price
We stayed here as a one off but will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
graham turner

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
We chose this hotel for value for money and the location as we were in the area for a funeral the following day. It was advertised as 'newly refurbished." Unfortunately the room did not look newly refurbished. The furniture was extremely tatty although the bedroom was clean, it lacked some appeal due to this. The bathroom however was not clean with mildew on the shower pipe and around the tiles at the tap end of the bath. Some deep cleaning would have sorted this out. The pub and food were very nice and unfortunately the room let it down. The worst point of all was when we went up to our room around 11 pm the pub sign, which was situated right outside our bedroom window was lit up and made the room extremely bright. The window recess was an unusual shape so the curtains did not block out the light and in fact it was brighter than day light during the night. We assumed when the pub closed the lights would be switched off on the sign but this did not happen - they were left on all night. By the time we realised this it was too late to contact anyone and we consequently had a terrible night's sleep. The photos on the web site were not reflective of the room we stayed in.

Reviewed by
Rachel Delaney

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel, but amazing restaurant.
The room was fine - small sofa bed for the kids, but it is never ideal sharing a room with a 3 and 5 year old! Nicely decorated and bed was comfy. A lot of creaking floorboards were head from the person walking about in the room above, but that may have only been heard due to the fact that the kids woke up and were fighting!
The restaurant however was totally beautifully refurbished and had opened that night. Great ambience, great service and lovely reasonably priced food.

Reviewed by
I Hayward

From Jedburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very good value being on the outskirts of Newcastle. Staff were all extremely helpful, courteous and polite. We thought the drinks were perhaps slightly on the expensive side. We ate in the restaurant where the menu is extensive and varied, and food very good. The breakfast was good and plentiful. For 1 night our room was more than adequate and comfortable. The only thing we would say to travellers is, don't stay in room number 2 if you like a dark bedroom. Right above the window is an exterior signage light which stays on all the time. Room 2 is fully illuminated all night long, and you can do nothing to block it out. Having said this we would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Reviewed by
D Morgan

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First family break away to see my brother who had just got home from afghan tour in army
Unfortantly arrived late due to weather conditions / snow when leaving home
Checked in to a room which wasn't the one that I had booked online? Wasn't the room at all that I had conformation on off "laterooms.com" ie the picture of the room I booked and got email back wasn't the room infact it wasn't even in the main part of the hotel? The room was very small, which was very cold and had a bad smell coming from the bathroom on arrival which isn't good when they knew we was travelling with our 17 month old daughter...
Luckily the heaters in the room worked so soon warmed up the room ourselves
The small double bed kept moving and felt like half the springs had gone so if husband got out of bed or coughed I know about it as throw me about
The Shelley room next door every time they used the bathroom you know about it as it didn't Hold no sound back so daughter was disturbed a few times from her sleep. Just great.
we only slept in this room as it's wasn't big enough to move round let alone have any room for my daughter to play with her toys other than on the bed
I would of thought also that if they knew we was travelling with a young child then the rooms would of been more child friendly with plug sockets covered and the kettle on a table that didn't wobble every time you walked past but we did our best to avoid any disasters for happening as good parents
Parking on the first night was ok outside the Shelley room but second night we came back the car park was totally full had to park half in the path and half on a space as had my daughter who was a sleep and it was raining
Arrived at room and maid hadn't been back to clean the room/ Shelley let alone leave clean cups or leave milk for a brew but thankfully the lady on desk that night was very helpful bringing fresh towels and tea bags milk etc to the room with me across the car pàrk.

Reviewed by
S Cunliffe

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay in Gateshead

Reviewed by
S Galley

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns
OK to stay but bed was a bit broke. Dont eat here. Food diabolical

Reviewed by
John I

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WONDERFUL VIEWS WONDERFUL ROOM
It's the second time I've stayed at the Ravensworth and it is one of the nicest places I've stayed. The rooms are external to the hotel and have wonderful views. They are clean and comfortable and private. The hotel reception are friendly and accommodating and ensured my room was ready for an early check-in.

Reviewed by
gary m

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really enjoyed our stay food was really good quality staff were really nice

Reviewed by
christopher cash

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet hotel a stonesthrow from the A1
Delighted to have found this nice, quiet hotel just off A1. Seven of us ate at the Ravensworth Arms and we all enjoyed our meals. My only (minor) complaint was the horrendously noisy plumbing in our room (one of the chalets). I mentioned it when checking out and the charming young lady on reception said it was an ongoing problem that they hoped to rectify. It wouldn't put me off staying again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Badrock

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next