No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Greenford Lane Lamesley, Gateshead, NE11 0ER
The Ravensworth Arms is a traditional country inn with attractive stone exterior in a tranquil conservation area in Lamesley village. Just 3 minutes from the A1 and in sight of the iconic Angel of the North, it is the perfect base from which to explore the lovely Durham countryside or visit vibrant Newcastle.

The centre of Newcastle upon Tyne is less than 15 minutes away, and Newcastle International Airport is just an 11 mile trip up the A1, making the hotel a great location for doing business in the area, flying abroad or a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is an ideal relaxing venue for meetings and away days.

The hotel has 19 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site.

Just 1 mile from the A1 motorway on Greenford Lane in Lamesley, bustling Newcastle, historic Durham Castle and Cathedral, Gateshead’s Metro Centre and the Angel of the North are all nearby.

Saturday 25th January is Burns night - menu and pipers. Friday 31st January is our Jazz night.

Picture of Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really enjoyed our stay food was really good quality staff were really nice

Reviewed by
christopher cash

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet hotel a stonesthrow from the A1
Delighted to have found this nice, quiet hotel just off A1. Seven of us ate at the Ravensworth Arms and we all enjoyed our meals. My only (minor) complaint was the horrendously noisy plumbing in our room (one of the chalets). I mentioned it when checking out and the charming young lady on reception said it was an ongoing problem that they hoped to rectify. It wouldn't put me off staying again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Badrock

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good all round.
Comfortable and good sized room.
Food was very good. Received a free starter and next time I stay I will get free breakfast.
Perfect location for business and will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made welcome
Although I arrived late nothing was to much trouble ,room clean food good staff customer service was good , nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
Garry M

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ravensworth Arms
Staff friendly and welcoming. Disappointed that the room was separate from the main building. Didn't see it mentioned on Lateroom website when I booked, I would have booked a different room had I known. The room was a little small but clean and perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was tasty and staff willing to adapt "full English " to my requests. All in all not bad and value for money, would return and great location if you are planning a visit to Beamish museum, which I highly recommend.

Reviewed by
G Lawrence

From Heswall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in one of the challets. It was very comfortable and had everything I needed. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly.
I would stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
EILEEN WILSON

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended!!
Staff were extremely friendly, helpful, polite and professional. Room was very comfortable and clean (bed was really comfy!!). Good sized en-suite with bath and shower, plenty of hot water etc. Room was set up well for ladies who need to do hair etc, plenty of mirrors with nearby sockets for hair straightners and the like. (I had a nice view of the Angel of the North from my window!). Restaurant was lovely, food great. Breakfast was everything you could wish for, cooked fresh and served quickly. I would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Sue L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing
Great location, super friendly staff, amazing room with a view - wish I'd stayed an extra night !!!

Reviewed by
M Begum

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Accommodation fine but a bit noisy in the morning, delivery lorries and recycling (Thursday morning).
Food in restaurant good

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little hotel
We were arriving from a great distance away and we got a courtesy call to see what time we would arrive and despite being very late there was no problem with this.
We had a family room with a large bed and large clean bathroom. We were to late to sample the evening menu but the breakfast was very tasty. Staff were very helpful and freindly.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next