Reviews - Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns


Greenford Lane Lamesley, Gateshead, NE11 0ER

Price From 149.52 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (35)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Hulme

  • September 2015

Enjoyable escape

The staff were very welcoming.

The room was very comfortable and clean. The food was delicious, we didn't want to leave. I took a leaflet about the hotel to give to a friend.

  • Neil D

  • June 2015

Excellent value for money ideally positioned staff eager to please and food was very good.

For the price as good as many higher starred hotels.

  • Steve B

  • April 2015

Lovely place

Great food

  • A Atkinson

  • March 2015

Lovely stay

Room was clean, stuff very friendly and helpful.

Atmosphere was lovely and enjoyed the stay. Will stay there again when visiting Newcastle area was nice to stay a bit out of the centre but was easy to get to and from etc

  • graham turner

  • February 2015

Very nice for the price

We stayed here as a one off but will definitely stay again

  • Rachel Delaney

  • February 2015


We chose this hotel for value for money and the location as we were in the area for a funeral the following day.

It was advertised as 'newly refurbished." Unfortunately the room did not look newly refurbished. The furniture was extremely tatty although the bedroom was clean, it lacked some appeal due to this. The bathroom however was not clean with mildew on the shower pipe and around the tiles at the tap end of the bath. Some deep cleaning would have sorted this out. The pub and food were very nice and unfortunately the room let it down. The worst point of all was when we went up to our room around 11 pm the pub sign, which was situated right outside our bedroom window was lit up and made the room extremely bright. The window recess was an unusual shape so the curtains did not block out the light and in fact it was brighter than day light during the night. We assumed when the pub closed the lights would be switched off on the sign but this did not happen - they were left on all night. By the time we realised this it was too late to contact anyone and we consequently had a terrible night's sleep. The photos on the web site were not reflective of the room we stayed in.

  • I Hayward

  • February 2015

Reasonable hotel, but amazing restaurant.

The room was fine - small sofa bed for the kids, but it is never ideal sharing a room with a 3 and 5 year old.

Nicely decorated and bed was comfy. A lot of creaking floorboards were head from the person walking about in the room above, but that may have only been heard due to the fact that the kids woke up and were fighting. The restaurant however was totally beautifully refurbished and had opened that night. Great ambience, great service and lovely reasonably priced food.

  • D Morgan

  • January 2015

This hotel is very good value being on the outskirts of Newcastle.

Staff were all extremely helpful, courteous and polite. We thought the drinks were perhaps slightly on the expensive side. We ate in the restaurant where the menu is extensive and varied, and food very good. The breakfast was good and plentiful. For 1 night our room was more than adequate and comfortable. The only thing we would say to travellers is, don't stay in room number 2 if you like a dark bedroom. Right above the window is an exterior signage light which stays on all the time. Room 2 is fully illuminated all night long, and you can do nothing to block it out. Having said this we would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • S Cunliffe

  • January 2015

First family break away to see my brother who had just got home from afghan tour in army

Unfortantly arrived late due to weather conditions / snow when leaving home Checked in to a room which wasn't the one that I had booked online.

Wasn't the room at all that I had conformation on off "" ie the picture of the room I booked and got email back wasn't the room infact it wasn't even in the main part of the hotel. The room was very small, which was very cold and had a bad smell coming from the bathroom on arrival which isn't good when they knew we was travelling with our 17 month old daughter...

Luckily the heaters in the room worked so soon warmed up the room ourselves

The small double bed kept moving and felt like half the springs had gone so if husband got out of bed or coughed I know about it as throw me about

The Shelley room next door every time they used the bathroom you know about it as it didn't Hold no sound back so daughter was disturbed a few times from her sleep. Just great.

we only slept in this room as it's wasn't big enough to move round let alone have any room for my daughter to play with her toys other than on the bed

I would of thought also that if they knew we was travelling with a young child then the rooms would of been more child friendly with plug sockets covered and the kettle on a table that didn't wobble every time you walked past but we did our best to avoid any disasters for happening as good parents

Parking on the first night was ok outside the Shelley room but second night we came back the car park was totally full had to park half in the path and half on a space as had my daughter who was a sleep and it was raining

Arrived at room and maid hadn't been back to clean the room/ Shelley let alone leave clean cups or leave milk for a brew but thankfully the lady on desk that night was very helpful bringing fresh towels and tea bags milk etc to the room with me across the car pàrk.

  • John I

  • January 2015

Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns

OK to stay but bed was a bit broke.

Dont eat here. Food diabolical