No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Greenford Lane Lamesley, Gateshead, NE11 0ER
The Ravensworth Arms is a traditional country inn with attractive stone exterior in a tranquil conservation area in Lamesley village. Just 3 minutes from the A1 and in sight of the iconic Angel of the North, it is the perfect base from which to explore the lovely Durham countryside or visit vibrant Newcastle.

The centre of Newcastle upon Tyne is less than 15 minutes away, and Newcastle International Airport is just an 11 mile trip up the A1, making the hotel a great location for doing business in the area, flying abroad or a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is an ideal relaxing venue for meetings and away days.

The hotel has 19 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster and executive rooms with Jacuzzi baths, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site.

Just 1 mile from the A1 motorway on Greenford Lane in Lamesley, bustling Newcastle, historic Durham Castle and Cathedral, Gateshead’s Metro Centre and the Angel of the North are all nearby.

Saturday 25th January is Burns night - menu and pipers. Friday 31st January is our Jazz night.

Picture of Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended for proximity to Newcastle city centre, it has all you need.
Took a quite while to check in as there was a problem getting passwords for the computer, then our pass key wouldn't work. It would have been nice if the girl at Reception had apologised for the inconvenience to us and time this took - training issue? Staff-wise it is all a bit impersonal but if you are happy to just do your own thing here it is all fine.
Food and pub all very good.
Accommodation clean and all of a good, modern standard. Quiet and peaceful at night. Great shower. View of The Angel too across the fields, lovely.

Reviewed by
M Wilkinson

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good Hotel

Reviewed by
C Luchford

From Cliffe, Rochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
A friendly and highly professional staff who were always welcoming and generously went the extra mile when the guest needed it.
It will remain my 100% first choice when visiting the North East.

Reviewed by
G STONE

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at Ravensworth Hotel
Room was Good Value for 3 people in a family room.
Slight issue with generator noise, but it stopped just after midnight.
Food in Resturant was excellent, as was waitress, who was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Milton Smith

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice of restaurant/hotel
Ideal location for us. In the countryside but only a short distance from Gateshead stadium. Staff were the usual very friendly Geordies. Room had the usual facilities and was clean. Restaurant was pleasant and the food was fine. Will definitely consider returning when next at Gateshead.

Reviewed by
A Maycock

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, good service in a great location. Very happy with our stay

Reviewed by
J Dippie

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy hotel with good food
Good location, just south of tyneside. Restaurant can be very busy even in middle of week.
Good beer from Durham brewery during stay, but may not always be available.
Room was adequate but not luxurious, a bit noisy in mornings due to deliveries to kitchen

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
My stay at the ravens worth was well worth the money they staff were very friendly and very helpful from the beginning of our stay till the end x it was very clean and the food was lovely x I will definitely be staying there again xx

Reviewed by
Diane B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time
Very good

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been better
Although it's not the worst place we have stopped it's not the best either. The attention to detail is sadly lacking,ie. No toiletries in the bathroom,never anyone at reception,& they certainly take their time if you request anything.Not to mention that when we booked we thought we were stopping in the Hotel and not an outbuilding that isn't even attached.Only one girl serving at breakfast time & one of my pet hates- Pump pots for tea & coffee.All in all.disappointed !! PS.the serving staff were excellent & very friendly.

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next