No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grove House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
GROVE ROAD , Birkenhead by Liverpool, CH45 3HF
Ideally located in a quiet corner of Wirral, yet just 5 minutes from the M53 and only 30 minutes from Liverpool's John Lennon Airport, this family-run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, cosy accommodation and an excellent choice of cuisine. Nestled in a peaceful residential area of Wallasey it is conveniently only 200 yards from the regular underground service to Liverpool and just 5 minutes to the Wallasey Tunnel and major motorway network. Each of the 14 en-suite bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard, perfectly emphasising the Hotel's accomplished attention to detail. All rooms come fully equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat screen
TV, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and even complimentary mineral water and fruit basket. Dining at the Grove House Hotel is always a memorable occasion. Specialising largely in traditional English cuisine with a modern flair, they are committed to using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible.
Picture of The Grove House Hotel, Birkenhead by Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking
Booked late and had to pay £15 more than laterooms price on line as hotel advised which was a shame. Room very good and really good shower which makes a change these days. Didnt eat breakfast as slept in but downstairs bar etc looked good and welcoming. For price I paid it was a bit dear to be fair and reception on arrival and departing a bit lacklustre and not that welcoming that aside really good hotel

Reviewed by
Russ G

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was perfect. Staff were lovely & the room was above & beyond what I ever expected.
Total value for money, the room was so beautiful, I felt very spoiled...even though it was me who booked it for my husband as a treat! Would recommend this hotel to anyone, and, I will book again.

Reviewed by
Victoria M

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another good stay
We were staying here for the third time this year. This is a comfortable and very friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
Sandra W

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
The staff were excellent, as was the food and hotel

Reviewed by
Rick C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, people and breakfast. Thank you!

Reviewed by
r carroll

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small, quiet and delightful
Warm friendly welcome. On arrival we were expected, everything was ready and we were in our room in minutes. Wonderfully spacious, comfortable room with complimentary fruit, biscuits and even a chocolate bar. Dinner was delicious and the desert trolley very very difficult to resist but we were stuffed. Top of the bill was no rubber eggs under heat lamps as breakfast was cooked to order and apart from a personal preference for pork as opposed to cumberland sausage was perfect. Add in the always polite, efficient staff who somehow managed to never be intrusive and all in all it's exactly the place to go if you don't want that huge conveyor style hotel come spa experience oh the large chain hotels. To round things off you have the beautiful wirral peninsula close at hand and the City of Liverpool just a short train ride away from the Merseyrail station just down the road.

Reviewed by
John H

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short overnight stop
We only stayed for a short stop but wished we had more time to spend here. The room was extremely comfortable and the complimentary fruit and snack were welcome. Importantly for me the curtains actually made the room dark!

Reviewed by
Stephen K

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay. Will stay again
Rite well what a great stay iv stayed in rooms three times the price and i was really impressed with this stay.
There was a wedding or something in the evening and that did not effect my stay i was so suprised the staff were great and i highly recomend this. never staying in the travel lodge ever again when i have this place to stay at booking here next year.
Great experiance. (i dont rate places but this was worthy of my rating)

Reviewed by
W Barnes

From Burton On Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful home from home.
We stayed for one night at The Grove House Hotel. The room was exceptionally clean with little extras such as complimentary snacks and fruit which was most welcome. The staff were very helpful wth advice for directions etc and nothing was too much trouble. The hotal staff were most welcoming and the breakfast was of a high quality. We chose the cooked option but if we hadn't the selection of cereals, fruits, croissants and yoghurts looked delicious. We would definately chose this hotel again.

Reviewed by
C Weatherill

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Place to Stay
Very welcoming Owner and Staff.
Room and hotel is very clean.
Great breakfast and evening meal.
Would go back again.

Reviewed by
A Hare

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next