Reviews - Bannatyne Hotel Darlington


Southend Avenue, Darlington, DL3 7HZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Robert Langlands

  • August 2015

Not as it says on the tin!

When I buy a Mercedes I don't expect to have a Smart car delivered, so when I book and pay for an executive room with a king size bed I don't expect to find 2 single beds pushed together with a very uncomfortable ridge in the middle where the mattresses meet!

  • Mark B

  • July 2015


We booked this hotel specifically for the pool /leisure facilties, and was very unhappy to find they are a fifteen minute walk away from the hotel itself.

I would not have booked if on the section of showing facilities that this was stated. On looking at the read more section of after arriving I found that it is stated there . It should not state that there is these facilities if they are not at the hotel

  • E Porch

  • June 2015

Room / Stairs.

Room not easy to find and accessible only by accessible only by a very tight small staircase.

Room was comfortable although wallpaper Was a bit tired.

  • a quinn

  • April 2015

Mixed feelings on this one

The hotel was nice and clean and friendly staff but nothing to shout about.

it was a little worn at the edges and our exec room was very small and not 100% sure it was what it was advertised as.

single glazing in the windows meant a lot of noise even on the top floor. The meal on the evening was again, just ok and nothing special

  • Chris R

  • April 2015

Nice hotel

Nice hotel, parking is difficult if not impossible.

Room is comfortable. Food looked okay but did not indulge. Staff were very helpful. Nothing to complain about at all.

  • Tim F

  • February 2015

Very noisy room - bar music coming through floor late into the night

Booked room for a Sunday night to give an early start on Monday morning in Darlington.

Unfortunately the room was above a noisy sound system in the bar. I think it was eventually turned off around 11.30 to midnight, only to be turned back on at about 12.38am. The reception phone was not attended so I had to get dressed and press an alarm in the reception to gain their attention and turn off the music. They offered me a £15 reduction but I felt awfully tired all the following day.

  • Brenda G

  • December 2014

Overnight stay

Hotel very nice, had a bar meal, which was difficult to eat as the tables in the bar were so low.

  • stuart b

  • December 2014

Lovely hotel

Lovely hotel and lovely staff, breakfast a little hectic but very nice

  • S Ball

  • November 2014

Room got to hot through night with window open other than that fantastic

  • J Adams

  • November 2014

Handsome, comfortable and friendly

Very handsome and comfortable old fashioned hotel.

Good location convenient for town and yet hotel is quiet. Door keys are actual keys not swipe cards. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food available at any time as lunch time is replaced by afternoon tea and then early bird supper and then dinner. Will stay again.