No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elizabeth House Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
42-44 The Avenue, Southampton, SO17 1XP
Owner managed hotel perched on the edge of the city centre. Within a comfortable walking distance of the universities, Mayflower Theatre and within easy reach of the airport, coach station, central railway station, general hospital and docks you are supremely well located. Free WiFi available in public areas and most bedrooms. All rooms tastefully decorated and some even overlook the charming town garden. Free parking is guaranteed for residents. All rates include full English breakfast served in our large airy breakfast restaurant. Dinner available in the intimate Lizzies Bistro.
Picture of The Elizabeth House Hotel, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
We were 3 x adults needing a bed for the night as we needed to get a ferry early the next morning. We also had a small dog. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us various directions we needed. The best part of the hotel was the fact we didin't have to leave our best friend (18 mth old dog) at home. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. The location was excellent for our next day journey. The breakfast was good and there was a variety to choose from. All in all would definately recommend this.

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elizabeth House, Well worth a try.
What a treat, friendly staff, excellent quality room and the bar is worth a visit (But not much choice of draught beer) and you'll have no trouble finding a table, the menu is a bit limited but good value.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A spotlessly clean hotel.
We arrived on a boiling hot day to find our windows open and a fan on blowing cool air.
Because the fan was quiet, we were able to leave it on all night. The room and bathroom were large and the dining room had tables that were nicely spread out. The breakfast was very good and efficiently served. I couldn't fault the hotel and would recommend it to everyone. It is also pet friendly.
We have never been in such a clean hotel.

Reviewed by
Amanda P

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice weekend
Everything was excellent, but because the room is at the front the noise from the Main Road (the Avenue) goes on rather late on a Saturday night. The room had excepiotnally good facilities however.

Reviewed by
G Lawson

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We had a great two days, a lovely large room at the rear of the hotel, with excellent service and great breakfast choices.

Reviewed by
G Lawson

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baptism visit
Nice hotel, central for us, not far from docks either (S'ton isnt that big). Common 3 mins walk away.

Reviewed by
R Heslop

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant Hotel.
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before going to the isle of Wight, The hotel was very clear and tidy. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was amazing.

Reviewed by
D Rice

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surpassed our expectations
Stayed here for one night to see our son. Parking no problem, location excellent, check in very smooth and welcoming. Large quiet room with everything we needed and more. Bar small but friendly. Slept well, no disturbance. Shower and towels were excellent. Breakfast was very good and the service excellent. Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Had a wonderful relaxed time, service was great. Thankyou

Reviewed by
Jeffrey M

From Tidworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a very local hotel. Good food and excellent experience.

Reviewed by
Liza C

From Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next