No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elizabeth House Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
42-44 The Avenue, Southampton, SO17 1XP
Owner managed hotel perched on the edge of the city centre. Within a comfortable walking distance of the universities, Mayflower Theatre and within easy reach of the airport, coach station, central railway station, general hospital and docks you are supremely well located. Free WiFi available in public areas and most bedrooms. All rooms tastefully decorated and some even overlook the charming town garden. Free parking is guaranteed for residents. All rates include full English breakfast served in our large airy breakfast restaurant. Dinner available in the intimate Lizzies Bistro.
Picture of The Elizabeth House Hotel, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A spotlessly clean hotel.
We arrived on a boiling hot day to find our windows open and a fan on blowing cool air.
Because the fan was quiet, we were able to leave it on all night. The room and bathroom were large and the dining room had tables that were nicely spread out. The breakfast was very good and efficiently served. I couldn't fault the hotel and would recommend it to everyone. It is also pet friendly.
We have never been in such a clean hotel.

Reviewed by
Amanda P

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baptism visit
Nice hotel, central for us, not far from docks either (S'ton isnt that big). Common 3 mins walk away.

Reviewed by
R Heslop

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant Hotel.
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before going to the isle of Wight, The hotel was very clear and tidy. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was amazing.

Reviewed by
D Rice

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surpassed our expectations
Stayed here for one night to see our son. Parking no problem, location excellent, check in very smooth and welcoming. Large quiet room with everything we needed and more. Bar small but friendly. Slept well, no disturbance. Shower and towels were excellent. Breakfast was very good and the service excellent. Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Had a wonderful relaxed time, service was great. Thankyou

Reviewed by
Jeffrey M

From Tidworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a very local hotel. Good food and excellent experience.

Reviewed by
Liza C

From Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 start hotel with a 3 star feel
Stopped for 3 nights on business. It's classed as a 2 star hotel I guess because there is no night porter? But the quality of the service and hotel itself is better than many 3 star hotels I've stopped in. If you are hungry the week day restaurant, Lizzies, serves huge portions and reasonable prices.
Just one very slight point I stopped in room 6 with a very, very noisy and creaky floor both in the bedroom and ensuite. By night 3 it was becoming very annoying when walking across the room into the bathroom.

Reviewed by
graham f

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommended
couldn't fault the hotel comfortable, clean,good food and good service. could park easily and a good flat walk into town, would certainly stay again

Reviewed by
C Stone

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
Staff were friendly and room for our family (two daughters age 5 and 15) was clean and big enough.
very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was well presented and organised.
As a family we would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Strachan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent alternative to the big chains
Lovely family run hotel with lots of character. The decor isn't modern but the room was big, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the shower was hot with good pressure. Room service was provided at no extra charge and the Internet access was great for working in the evening. The choice of breakfasts was excellent and I highly recommend the full English. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. What a find!

Reviewed by
Valerie M

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next