No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gretna Hall Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5DY
Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel; set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities and service you would expect today.
Gretna Hall has the distinction of being the ‘Original Marriage House’ in Gretna Green and marriages are still performed here in our three tailor-made wedding rooms within our very own Blacksmith’s here on-site at Gretna Hall Hotel. One thing is certain, we are still very much at the Heart of Gretna Green.
We have 100 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have been recently refurbished and all feature tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, hair dryers and flat screen TV’s with FreeView.
We are very proud of the service and value we offer all our guests, please contact us for the full story.

The Anvil Restaurant, perfect for table d’hôte and a la carte dining, offers great food and outstanding wines. The lounge bar, ideal for casual dining, offers a wide range of dishes. For special occasions, especially a wedding, we can help you choose your own tailor-made menu.
Our hotel is located only 1 mile from the M74 & M6. Allowing great access to many forwarding destinations or indeed stay with us to visit the Scottish Borders and the English Lake District.

Carlisle, the great Border city offers shopping, attractions and much more. Only 9 Miles south of our hotel.

Glasgow is only 1 hour drive time, thanks to the upgraded M74. Excellent location if you would like to visit the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Edinburgh is a beautiful city and is less than 1 hour train journey. Train station only 200 yards from our hotel.

Unfortunately we no longer accept pets.
Picture of Gretna Hall Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gretna wedding party
If you just need a bed this hotel is fine, but as most people go to gretna for a wedding, would be nice to have an iron in room. Breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
A Carter

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
We have just returned from Gretna Hall hotel having booked in for 2 nights for our wedding, they made it very special for us and even gave us a free upgrade to a suite for our wedding. I booked 4 rooms so family were with us. The rooms are lovely, very clean and the service was excellent. The meals were exceptional and I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a stay at Gretna!
Thanks to all of the staff for making our special day what it was.

Reviewed by
S Hall

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Business stay Over
Staff were brill at reception ,bar and dining room..
I stay at number of places due the type of job I do..
I would have no second thoughts about staying here on Business or pleasure.
Its now in my sure to stay list.

Reviewed by
G Luparia

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gretna green hotel
Greeting and booking into the hotel was friendly.
Room that we stayed in was tired and in need of refurbishment room 122
You obviously pay an additional charge for the fact that its Gretna green as you could get better value of accommodation for less price else where.
Our restaurant meal consisted of ham three roast potatoes, and gravy.

Reviewed by
Brian Lange

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic romantic retreat!

Reviewed by
K Kirkham

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Used this as an overnight stop on the way through further north.
Very warm welcome, room was comfortable if a little dated but represented very good value for money. Used the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent..recommend the Chicken Rob Roy delicious!
Breakfast was good.
Overall great value for the price paid!

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit to gretna hall hotel
My wife and I really enjoyed visiting Gretna Hall Hotel a second time the staff are friendly and very helpful the breakfast is excellent value for money with plenty of choice.If there was one thing which we were disappointed with it was No dogs allowed . We treat our dog as part of the family and keep him under control at all times, although we do understand that some people would abuse the accommodation spoiling it for others.

Reviewed by
george brown

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking for wedding venue
We went to look at this hotel as a possible wedding venue for our upcoming wedding. The quality of the room was above average for the price. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the wedding coordinator there. It is highly likely that this will be the one we choose for our wedding.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break
Lovely area to have a relaxing break

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Cornhill on Tweed, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from home
Really nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere. Reception staff helpful, and breakfast staff equally so. Room was warm and comfortable, and very quiet - a good nights sleep was assured!

Reviewed by
david s

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next