No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gretna Hall Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5DY
Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel; set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities and service you would expect today.
Gretna Hall has the distinction of being the ‘Original Marriage House’ in Gretna Green and marriages are still performed here in our three tailor-made wedding rooms within our very own Blacksmith’s here on-site at Gretna Hall Hotel. One thing is certain, we are still very much at the Heart of Gretna Green.
We have 100 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have been recently refurbished and all feature tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, hair dryers, flat screen TV’s with FreeView and FREE WiFi throughout the hotel.
We are very proud of the service and value we offer all our guests, please contact us for the full story.

The Anvil Restaurant, perfect for table d’hôte and a la carte dining, offers great food and outstanding wines. The lounge bar, ideal for casual dining, offers a wide range of dishes. For special occasions, especially a wedding, we can help you choose your own tailor-made menu.
Our hotel is located only 1 mile from the M74 & M6. Allowing great access to many forwarding destinations or indeed stay with us to visit the Scottish Borders and the English Lake District.

Carlisle, the great Border city offers shopping, attractions and much more. Only 9 Miles south of our hotel.

Glasgow is only 1 hour drive time, thanks to the upgraded M74. Excellent location if you would like to visit the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Edinburgh is a beautiful city and is less than 1 hour train journey. Train station only 200 yards from our hotel.

Unfortunately we no longer accept pets.
Picture of Gretna Hall Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very dated needs a lot spent on
room very dated bed very soft spent the night next to husband shower very slow window sill dirty tv cable not safe there was no pass sticker on it room very warm so not a good nights sleep breakfast very basic my porridge had a thick skin on the top so l no it was sitting for a while cooked breakfast was ok tea pot was dated the staff where friendly so no problem there

Reviewed by
Pauline Ingleson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant
Was on way up to Scotland when We stopped here and was so impressed by everything we stopped again going South .Very good 5stars

Reviewed by
John F

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in Gretna hall
We enjoyed our short stay in the hotel and will have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.
IT is very clean,comfortable with very nice staff. Excellent.

Reviewed by
J STONEBANKS

From PETERCULTER ABERDEEN, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Used this hotel for a two night stop on the way south. Accommodation, quite good, albeit a bit on the basic side. Food and service in the dining room was excellent.
Will certainly use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
W Blyth

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

couldnt have asked for a better time
Stay was amazing, staff were so helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
E Forney

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need updateing Breakfast was good service was good

Reviewed by
k marsh

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returned after 10 years since we got married there. Still a lovely place to stay.Bar staff were very friendly made us welcome.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gretna wedding party
If you just need a bed this hotel is fine, but as most people go to gretna for a wedding, would be nice to have an iron in room. Breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
A Carter

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
We have just returned from Gretna Hall hotel having booked in for 2 nights for our wedding, they made it very special for us and even gave us a free upgrade to a suite for our wedding. I booked 4 rooms so family were with us. The rooms are lovely, very clean and the service was excellent. The meals were exceptional and I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a stay at Gretna!
Thanks to all of the staff for making our special day what it was.

Reviewed by
S Hall

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Business stay Over
Staff were brill at reception ,bar and dining room..
I stay at number of places due the type of job I do..
I would have no second thoughts about staying here on Business or pleasure.
Its now in my sure to stay list.

Reviewed by
G Luparia

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next