No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gretna Hall Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5DY
Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel; set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities and service you would expect today.
Gretna Hall has the distinction of being the ‘Original Marriage House’ in Gretna Green and marriages are still performed here in our three tailor-made wedding rooms within our very own Blacksmith’s here on-site at Gretna Hall Hotel. One thing is certain, we are still very much at the Heart of Gretna Green.
We have 100 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have been recently refurbished and all feature tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, hair dryers, flat screen TV’s with FreeView and FREE WiFi throughout the hotel.
We are very proud of the service and value we offer all our guests, please contact us for the full story.

The Anvil Restaurant, perfect for table d’hôte and a la carte dining, offers great food and outstanding wines. The lounge bar, ideal for casual dining, offers a wide range of dishes. For special occasions, especially a wedding, we can help you choose your own tailor-made menu.
Our hotel is located only 1 mile from the M74 & M6. Allowing great access to many forwarding destinations or indeed stay with us to visit the Scottish Borders and the English Lake District.

Carlisle, the great Border city offers shopping, attractions and much more. Only 9 Miles south of our hotel.

Glasgow is only 1 hour drive time, thanks to the upgraded M74. Excellent location if you would like to visit the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Edinburgh is a beautiful city and is less than 1 hour train journey. Train station only 200 yards from our hotel.

Unfortunately we no longer accept pets.
Picture of Gretna Hall Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
For thr price you could not do better than stay here staff were very good and the food was very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Ian C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Gretna Hall Hotel
Had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly.I would stay again.

Reviewed by
raymond m

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The stay was excellent. This was the second time we have been. Will come again soon.

Reviewed by
V Harrison

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gretna hall hotel
Very welcoming and reception staff very helpful. Dining staff and food excellent. Cleanliness of room left a lot to be desired

Reviewed by
PETER SOUTHEY

From FORFAR, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Gretna
We stayed bed and breakfast,however we did have a bar lunch of haddock and chips which was tasteless,so we ate out our second day, but must say the breakfast was very good, this was our second stay at Gretna hall and I dare say we will be back, we will not let one bad meal keep us away.

Reviewed by
E Swan

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff was very friendly. food was excellent! The room was very small but very clean apart from a non slip shower mat which was grubby on the underside. The double glazed window unit was steamed up also which obscured the view! The wifi was not available in the room, only in the bar area. Still very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
J Mercer

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Third time we have stayed at Gretna Hall Hotel
Great hotel with easy parking and friendly staff. Ideal location for a stop between South of England and Scotland.

Reviewed by
William A

From Tetbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very dated needs a lot spent on
room very dated bed very soft spent the night next to husband shower very slow window sill dirty tv cable not safe there was no pass sticker on it room very warm so not a good nights sleep breakfast very basic my porridge had a thick skin on the top so l no it was sitting for a while cooked breakfast was ok tea pot was dated the staff where friendly so no problem there

Reviewed by
Pauline Ingleson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant
Was on way up to Scotland when We stopped here and was so impressed by everything we stopped again going South .Very good 5stars

Reviewed by
John F

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in Gretna hall
We enjoyed our short stay in the hotel and will have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.
IT is very clean,comfortable with very nice staff. Excellent.

Reviewed by
J STONEBANKS

From PETERCULTER ABERDEEN, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next