No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
33 Valley Road , Scarborough, YO11 2LX
"Highly Commended'" in the Yorkshire's Moors and Coast Tourism Awards 2008 and Discover Yorkshire Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for 'Outstanding Customer Service'.

The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge is based on the Main Road leading to the South Bay, only 10 minutes' walk to the Town Centre, the Sea Front and the Spa Complex.

Based on the lodge principal of affordable accommodation we have 33 bedrooms of varying shapes and sizes with all essential furnishings and family rooms that can sleep up to five people, 2 adults and 3 children, or 3 adults. We have recently finished refurbishment of all rooms, in a modern quirky theme.

All rooms are en-suite and boast home comforts such as TV's with Freeview and hospitality trays.

We have a Mobility 1 Awarded disabled room, which has a wet room with wheel in shower, shower seat and hand rails, and designated parking space at the side of the ground level door.

All floors are accessible by lift.

Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas.

We are Pet Friendly, so you can bring your dog to stay with us (additional charges occur).

The relaxing Crosby's Bar offers a range of beverages, and we have a patio area where you can sit and enjoy the Sun.

Our Bistro serves a wide selection of Award Winning (Visit England Breakfast Award July 2013) breakfast dishes, using locally sourced produced where available. We are able to cater for any dietary needs, e.g. nut allergy, Gluten Free

We also have the advantage of Free off Road Parking.

Group bookings are taken by prior arrangement.

We have 10 years' experience with educational visits.

Picture of The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money - friendly, clean and comfortable.
This is a great hotel. Booked for a business stay and it ticked all the boxes. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with free Wifi! Really nice to have home cooked food and a hearty breakfast to start the day. Would recommend to friends and family for holidays.

Reviewed by
Tracy P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family room was tiny, no air con so it was sweltering. Shower was barely usable, breakfast (continental) was very average, staff were not overly friendly and made little or no attempt to make us feel at home. Didnt even say goodbye or thanks when we checked out !
It was clean and that was about it

Reviewed by
D Caldwell

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay and lovely staff
What a lovely establishment this place is, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm, welcoming smile and such a polite receptionist. Our room was fantastic, beach themed - (I believe all the rooms have a different theme), spotlessly clean and very comfy bed.
There is a lovely bar area and patio which were able to sit out on as the weather was fantastic. The cooked breakfast was beautifully presented and there is lots of choice on the continental counter. I didn't realise that dogs were aloud at the hotel, this is great news for us as we will be returning in September with our little dog Max and he'll love it for walks on the beach - which is only 10 min walk.
All in all we are so pleased we came across this place and as regular visitors to Scarborough this is certainly our favourite and will returning again and again!

Reviewed by
Brenda Crowther

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Tiny room

Reviewed by
Trevor Harrison

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Far too much furniture in the room making it very hot & stuffy even with the velux window open.
The shower was very small (especially for a disabled person) and the water was a trickle.

Reviewed by
P Lobb

From Bodmin, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This has got to be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Room very small. Not very clean.
I would never stay here again. The room was very small for a family room!!! They. window fixings were broken and the curtains were not very clean. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom well!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Carpets needed a good clean as did the whole room. The food was just ok but decided to eat breakfast elsewhere on the second day. I know now why the staff did not ask if we had enjoyed our sta

Reviewed by
Carol Jack

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The smell
The first thing we noticed was the smell. "Wet dog" is the phrase that springs to mind. The same key opened the main and room door. This made me think that the key then opened every room as the locks had to be the same. When travelling with children , this will make you sleep with one eye open. The room resembled the photos but I think they were taken about 10 years ago. The carpets looked dirty and were threadbare. Finally, the shower was like a port a loo cabin , plastic and not very clean!

Reviewed by
Denise V

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Decided to have a little break before a major op, wasnt happy, The room was lovely but everything else wasnt, the bar only had bottled beer, so never anyone in there, the restaurant only opened if someone ordered food, so that was empty too, apart from breakfast time, we only had breakfast the first day for convenience it wasnt very good, the walk to the seafront was longer than expected so we had to use the car due to my health, and the weather was bad too, maybe i would have enjoyed the stay better if the sun came out x

Reviewed by
K Nuttall

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:-)
This hotel is worth every penny, staff are family friendly the rooms are nice & comfy i have stayed in the scarbrough hotel & holiday lodge a few times and every time i have enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
kayley m

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Very friendly, very helpful. Clean and just right for a quick weekend away with young boys.
Close to beach and town. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
a byron

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next