No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
33 Valley Road , Scarborough, YO11 2LX
"Highly Commended'" in the Yorkshire's Moors and Coast Tourism Awards 2008 and Discover Yorkshire Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for 'Outstanding Customer Service'.

The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge is based on the Main Road leading to the South Bay, only 10 minutes' walk to the Town Centre, the Sea Front and the Spa Complex.

Based on the lodge principal of affordable accommodation we have 33 bedrooms of varying shapes and sizes with all essential furnishings and family rooms that can sleep up to five people, 2 adults and 3 children, or 3 adults. We have recently finished refurbishment of all rooms, in a modern quirky theme.

All rooms are en-suite and boast home comforts such as TV's with Freeview and hospitality trays.

We have a Mobility 1 Awarded disabled room, which has a wet room with wheel in shower, shower seat and hand rails, and designated parking space at the side of the ground level door.

All floors are accessible by lift.

Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas.

We are Pet Friendly, so you can bring your dog to stay with us (additional charges occur).

The relaxing Crosby's Bar offers a range of beverages, and we have a patio area where you can sit and enjoy the Sun.

Our Bistro serves a wide selection of Award Winning (Visit England Breakfast Award July 2013) breakfast dishes, using locally sourced produced where available. We are able to cater for any dietary needs, e.g. nut allergy, Gluten Free

We also have the advantage of Free off Road Parking.

Group bookings are taken by prior arrangement.

We have 10 years' experience with educational visits.

Picture of The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grandsons two day break
hotel and room spotless near to town and beach ideal for our short break

Reviewed by
Carole B

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday lodge
We stayed for 3 nights with 2 young children, 2 and 4.
Location:
10 minutes walk to sea front or town centre. The sea front was a nice easy stroll so very convenient.
Service:
Helpful receptionist and bistro manager. Staff very quick to help with getting a travel cot and iron. Cleaning staff were good.
Room:
The room we were given was in the annex. As with other reviews it can be very noisy as doors slam, floors creak and the walls are whisper thin. The online pictures are very deceptive as the rooms, apart from the decor, look nothing like them. The shower room (no bath, not good for young children) was a joke. The shower had no water pressure and it was very difficult to get a decent temperature. Also the sink was blocked and took a good 10-15 minutes to drain, only to fill straight up once the tap was turned back on. This contributed to a very smelly bathroom. It was mentioned to the cleaning staff but nothing was done. The beds were ok a double bed with a bunk bed as well.
Food:
On the first day we had a full breakfast and it was very good. However, on the 2nd day we ordered 2 takeaway sausage sarnies which were delivered to the room (nice touch but I did say I would come down to get them). Cost for 2 sarnies on a small breadcake, £9.90.
Parking:
Brilliant. Plenty of room even when some people like to take up 2 spaces. Well lit and safe.
Overall:
Pleasant hotel in need of refurbishment ( even though this has been done). The main hotel looks much better. A good plumber is required to sort issues out as a few other guests have also commented on drainage issues.

Reviewed by
T Davis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Diaboloical
This hotel leaves a lot to be desired, the photograph of the rooms in the advert are VERY misleading.
Room 23 had no ventilation and no bigger than a broom cupboard! We requested a change which was given. Room 25 was slightly bigger and had an opening window. Hooray!!!!!
The bar area reminded me of a guest house very similar to the 1950's in Blackpool, the chairs were rickety with plastic polka dot table cloths, attempting to give the place an atmosphere. It failed.
There was no opening times for the bistro displayed anywhere. The weather was appalling, we attempted to book an evening meal on the premises, so we asked at the reception if we could book a table in the Bistro. We were informed that we could get a meal at a carvery next door. The bistro was clearly not open. The carvery finished serving at 5 o'clock..........we wanted an evening meal not tea.
We eventually found a brilliant restaurant in town, the Golden Grid.
This was not a pleasant experience of Scarborough at £65 per night, room only. We had a better quality four star guest house at two thirds of the price and included an exceptional breakfast in Whitby.

Reviewed by
J King

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home From Home
It was our first time in Scarborough and we will most definite be back.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff are superb and the room was amazing for the price and the free parking is a massive bonus!! Plenty of choice for breakfast for all the family.I also did notice that this was pet friendly also which is fantastic with family's who have dogs keep up the great work very homely.

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
I wont be returning to this hotel. The room was dirty don't know how long ago it had a good dust! The cups that were left for a cup of tea were scruffy! Still sticky with the remains of a drink at the bottom from the last customer. The room was very small the bunk beds bashed off the wall whenever my daughter turned in her sleep needless to say we had no hardly no sleep! The mattress was very uncomfortable. I wouldn't even let my kids have a shower as the bathroom was very dirty. I was glad we were only here for 1 night we handed the keys back as soon as possible on the morning and we couldn't wait to leave! We were in the annex part of the hotel it was quiet on a night and plenty of parking but based on the cleanliness I wont be returning.Not worth the price we paid!

Reviewed by
l corner

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

don't stay in room 24
Disappointing room frankly. Wouldn't have picked pink flamingoes and pink furnishings if I had a choice. Shower was abysmal and frankly dangerous. Water was scalding and fiddly to get get a good contrast of hot and cold water. Shower doors were dangerous. Snapped back on you as you tried to get in/out not a pleasant experience. Our 'double' bed was two twin beds joined together and thoroughly uncomfortable. A 3 quarter bed would have been better. Windows were very fiddly to open and close. Overall not a good experience. Its not like I paid peanuts. Other rooms in the hotel looked really nice so maybe I was just unlucky. By all means stay here, it has ample parking space and great for beach/town. Cleaners very kindly left us plenty of towels and coffee etc, just dont stay in room 24.

Reviewed by
vicki A

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel
Overall good weekend. Room a little small but ok. Not enough towels no where to dry them as heating not on as nice weather But very clean

Reviewed by
Carol Bradley

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scarborough travel lodge.
The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room itself was well presented and quirky, with unique decorative style, which enhanced the experience of staying at this accommodation.
It was also a short walk to the beach and local facilities.
We would recommend staying there.

Reviewed by
julie H

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room in annex out of way of main rd family friendly and clean

Reviewed by
Alan Clarke

From Pontefract, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

defiantly will return.
The receptionist fantastic. Very chirpy and helpful. She went above and beyond giving us advice.the rooms were nice and comfortable. The night security was very nice he sat in the patio with us giving advice on how to get from one place to another in Scarborough and where all the attractions were. For the £69 we paid for 3 in the room is brill. We were in the annex room 35 and would like to say thank you to the lady on reception nd night staff for making our stay soo enjoyable. Just one little thing is I maybe recommend the carpets get shampooed and have enough time to dry as this did make the room feel slightly damp. But hey Ho it proved to be clean x

Reviewed by
N Chapman

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next