No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grange Hotel and Leisure

4Diklasifikasi Sendiri Hotel Ratings explained
Station Square, , Grange Over Sands, LA11 6EJ
Located in 5 acres of private, landscaped grounds and woodland in the temperate coastal area of the beautiful South Lake District, the elegant Grange Hotel stands in a superb, elevated position overlooking the quaint and unspoiled Victorian village of Grange over Sands, with its beautiful gardens, fabulous mile-long promenade (with palm trees!) and collection of unique little shops.

The Grange was built in 1866 in a splendid neo-Italianate style and it has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur by the current owners. The beautifully-refurbished accommodation offers woodland or panoramic Bay views as well as every comfort one would expect. We are close to most major Lake District attractions and easily accessible by rail or road. The award-winning little railway station is within 200 metres of the hotel. You don`t even have to venture far from the village to find something lovely to see or do! The world-famous Cartmel Sticky Pudding Shop is only 2 miles away as is Cartmel`s unique figure-of-eight racecourse, which hosts plenty of exciting fixtures throughout the year. The hotel itself sits on the perimeter of the Brown Robin Nature Reserve with its wealth of wildlife, including fox cubs, butterflies and woodland flowers. Well worth a visit. The area boasts a wealth of stately homes & gardens, including Levens Hall with its impressive topiary gardens and fabulous house, bursting at the seams with history & antiquities.

We fully believe that it`s important to have a good start to the day, and our generous Hot & Cold Buffet each morning offers everything from a full English Breakfast to light yoghurts with fresh fruit salads and porridge.The rolls & muffins are freshly-baked in-house. Guests are cordially invited to experience the very best of freshly-prepared local and international fare, which is served every evening from the 5-course table d`hote menu in our candle-lit `Carriages` restaurant. The Wine List is extensive and will have something to appeal to even the most discerning of wine connoisseurs. Light meals and snacks are also available throughout the day and evening, served in the warm comfort of the Lounge or beside a roaring log fire in the cosy Library.

There is also a spacious Residents` Lounge with comfortable chairs, a music centre, books, games and TV with DVD player.

Our Leisure Suite & Spa has a heated indoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna, steam room, gymnasium, solarium and Beauty Salon (please pre-book beauty treatments to avoid disappointment) Parking is available and free of charge in the hotel grounds. In addition, we offer our guests free unlimited WiFi access throughout the hotel.

We pride ourselves on our excellent all-round quality service, delightful, helpful staff and our first class facilities. So, why not pay us a visit and sample them for yourself? You`ll be so glad that you did!
Picture of Grange Hotel and Leisure, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing weekend!
Chose this place as a suprise wedding proposal venue and i wasnt dissapointed! Hotel was fantastic, food was brilliant and the staff bent over backwards to help me arrange things. Go here if you can, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel excellent service great food lovely pool jacuzzi sauna and steam room. 10/10 for all
Just spent a lovely weekend at the grange no faults grate location and walks would definatly recommend. Thank you

Reviewed by
Christine C

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend at the Grange
We stayed here for 3 nights as a last minute getaway. As we were going in November we wanted to book somewhere nice as there was little guarantee of good weather.
The room was huge and the bed ginormous and comfy.
The food in Carriages, there own restaurant, was excellent, as were the breakfasts, though on the first morning the usual hot buffet breakfast was not available.
My only other gripe was that the wifi did not function in the room as it is to far from reception.
All in all though it was the enjoyable relaxing break that we went for.

Reviewed by
ian w

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel
A very nice hotel with good food. Very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.
The only minor issue was that it was difficult for my wife who smokes to be able at night to have a cigarette having to stand outside the front of the hotel to do so. Perhaps a small dedicated area would be helpful. Otherwise we were very satisfied and would stay again.

Reviewed by
martin birchenough

From Peel, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grange Hotel
A lovely relaxing time at a quiet hotel. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Definitely go back at some point.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay at the Grange Hotel
Awsome room. Five star + Everything was perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
D Dixon

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, can't wait to be back!
From first arrival throughout our stay, the staff could not have been more helpful. A computer problem was dealt with promptly and sympathetically, and when an immediate resolution was not possible, we were given access to their computer to complete our business.
The food and restaurant service were first class, and we would be happy to recommend The Grange to everyone. We have also observed that when they host a function - the hotel is deservedly popular for weddings - there is no disruption to other guests, something which often deters us from using a hotel on a Saturday night.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will happily book again. (This was our second stay, and we are delighted to confirm that standards have been maintained.)

Reviewed by
Michael Boardman

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away
We had a nice stay. The service was quality. The breakfast was to a good standard but with additions which you order at the table if required which was a nice touch and lovely fresh bread available which you slice yourself. (I don't see that everywhere). We enjoyed the evening meal also which was also good. Room wise it was as advertised in a style befitting the age of the property, and was well presented. I wasnt entirely happy with the mattress but that could have been partially down to personal preference. We also used the Spa services, which were fine, the Sauna is ready for a refresh, we recommend the massage. We had a really relaxing time and were well taken care of. We would be very happy to visit again.

Reviewed by
Simon S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and beautiful location
Great room. Very comfy and extremely spacious. Great bath but no hot water in the shower.

Reviewed by
J Kenyon

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel nice settings and very helpful friendly staff

Reviewed by
N Butler

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next