No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendevon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
85-89 West Hill Road , Bournemouth, BH2 5PQ
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at the Glendevon Hotel.

Ideally located just minutes away from Bournemouth’s cosmopolitan town centre, the Glendevon Hotel is situated just a short walk from seven miles of award winning sandy beaches and is an ideal venue for all occasions.

The hotel is also conveniently located down the road from the BIC, the town’s major conference and exhibition centre, perfect for our business and conference guests.


Picture of Glendevon Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glendevon Hotel
Toilet seat broken but fixed very quickly, helpful staff ,good breakfast, very good price, would recommend.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, the hotel is very clean lovely food and friendly staff.
You get what you pay for. Great location close to pubs restaurants shops and beach. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for budget accommodation.

Reviewed by
j blair

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location Ideal, shame about upkeep!
The location is great for the BIC, we were going to see Callaboro so wanted to make a nice evening with a meal before as it was Valentine's Day. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Our first room was at the back of the hotel overlooking flats and also overlooking the hotel garden where various furniture had been dumped obviously broken to be disposed of some time later. No nets or blinds so everything on view. The twin beds were not very comfortable and one was a put up bed with only very thin pillows. You couldn't open the wardrobe fully as the bed was in the way. The cgest of drawers had a shelf which was not level and couldn't be used. Kettle worked. There was a dirty towel left in the bathroom. I know it was cheap and cheerful but thre are standards.
We decided that for one night it would do to save driving. We asked for some more pillows and the receptionist said he would put them in the room. We went for a meal.
On our return before the show, we were stopped by the receptionist to xay that he had moved us as the door lock was broken and he had moved our bags. We were now in a room at the front of the hotel. 3 single beds but larger and although dated clean. It was very hot so we had to turn the heating off and open the window.
We went to our show at the BIC. When we returned at night, we made tea etc and had a good range of tv channels to watch. The mattresses could do with renewing as one was so soft and had a dip in the middle. We dropped off but about 20 minutes later I thought someone was trying to get into our room but it was next door. The walls were so thin that we could hear every word and they were not speaking loudly. After about 30 minutes the voices turned to what I can only describe as probably a scene from 50 Shades of Grey! We decided that it was doubtful that we were going to get any sleep for the next few hours, so decided to pack up and drive home.
This hotel is fine if you are deaf, heavy sleeper and not too fussed on true comfort.

Reviewed by
Kim D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

“Good value” Great hotel
This hotel was like a step back in time to a golden age of seaside holidays and was a traditional hotel in every sense of the word. It was very clean, had comfortable beds and a more than adequate en suite. The buffet breakfast was good quality. Staff very friendly. would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
c doherly

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

avoid avoid avoid
was awful. lots of people hanging around on the doorstep. was showed to our first room where the shower head was on the floor in the shower. Our second room was freezing cold and smelly with twin beds instead of double on our anniversary great!! the water was tepid, no remote for the tv, although when we asked they did find one. the "quilts" on the bed were a quilt cover with a thin blanket folded in half so after a cold night with a lack of sleep because we were so cold in our separate beds on our Anniversary we went for breakfast.
we went to the dining room where there was bacon, eggs, sausage which was ok however after choosing our breakfast we came to the fun part of making toast 5 times. the fuse blew for the whole dining room using the stupid toaster. by the time the bread was lukewarm my breakfast was cold. the coffee was strong beyond belief with no choice how we wanted it. there was cereal and fruit juice though
the only positive thing i can say is how close it is to the town centre but never again, just awful

Reviewed by
r dixon

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for money
I'm not fussy when it comes to hotel rooms, as long as they are clean with a comfy bed and the shower works then im happy. But this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. the room was tiny, couldnt open the wardrobe door because a chair was in the way, and couldnt move the chair as there was no where to put it. i could have lived with this but then i tried to have a shower, the water pressure is non-existent and it took forever to get to a decent temperature where i could actually get in without freezing. this hotel would be ok for one night if you're going out, but it is only worth paying £20 (if that) for the night!

Reviewed by
holly f

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a Night Out
I stayed here for one night after going out on the town with the girls. This hotel was very good for this purpose as it was fairly close to the town and with a room for £30 with breakfast included was good value. However, i would not recommend for any other kind of get away, the staff were not very friendly or helpful when i asked if i could leave my bag somewhere until i could check in. Also the ceiling in my room looked as though there had been a long term leak and was starting to dip.

Reviewed by
Alexis C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service and awful breakfast
In general the room was ok. You got what you paid for..nothing fancy. Shower was clean though which was nice. However, when we checked in we were told breakfast was a certain time. We were there for 2 nights and went for breakfast on the second morning..a Monday. Breakfast had been and gone despite us being on time. However, we were then told this only applies to Sunday's and weekdays finished earlier. When we asked where this was advertised they could only produce a sign with the Sunday time.. They offered to cook us breakfast but this turned out to be one slice of cold bacon (white far had congealed on it) one cold egg and half a cold tomato. Yum..cold leftovers! We complained and asked to speak to the manager. The man in reception said we could at 12...but we had to checkout at 11. Initially he refused to call as he did not have the power to ask his manager to come in earlier but soon called her as another guest was also complaining. This guest had helped to clear up breakfast after the chef left the premises to go and buy more supplies as he was the only one working. We were told the manager would get there asap..however this would have been after checkout time so after speaking to the man on reception again we got refunded a minuscule £15 for the trouble and weren't even offered an apology. Would never stay here again!!

Reviewed by
N Cohen

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend

Reviewed by
s warne

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy at all with this hotel ,
Not very clean, rude, not helpful
And oh my god the breakfast was so bad we had to pay more money out and go to wetherspoons for breakfast...don't book u will b very upset with what u get......

Reviewed by
Donna W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next