Glendevon Hotel

3

85-89 West Hill Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5PQ

Price From 67.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (57)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Purchase

  • April 2015

Glendevon Hotel

Room was clean but staff not very friendly and happy too see customers like a hotel should be.

  • j lea

  • April 2015

1night long enough...

Booked this hotel last minute.

Bournemouth was beautiful, weather was perfect, accommodation poor. Staff were not welcoming. Room very basic and not clean. There was soap scum around the shower tray, also water not hot. Beds uncomfortable, breakfast basic. Will suit you if you like drinking from plastic cups. Won't be staying there again. Sorry Glendevon.

  • Philip Aylwin

  • April 2015

rubbish left under the bed which i found out when i had to lift it up to fix it the moment i arrived

don't expect too much, old building and rooms not updated for a long time.

if you want a cheap room then you get what you pay for.

  • Kelly L

  • April 2015

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in

Please do not stay in this hotel, this can only be described as a doss hole, staff do not do anything to help and simply do not care.

I have made a complaint direct to the hotel but very much doubt I will get a response.

  • H ELLISON

  • March 2015

Pleasantly suprised!

I booked this hotel as I got a cheap deal on it and just needed somewhere to sleep for a couple of nights while visiting family.

I read the reviews and, to be honest, I wasn't expecting much as many of the reviews were not very positive. However I was pleasantly surprised. Previous reviews mentioned small rooms, but mine was fine and had a huge super-king size bed. Contrary to some reviews stating they gave you blankets in duvet covers rather than a quilt, there was a duvet on the bed. The furniture in my room was mismatched and looked like it had come from a second hand shop, but it was functional and the room had tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer, flat screen TV, and the bathroom was very nicely done out with a good shower. Breakfast is buffet style, not a vast choice but eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, grilled tomatoes, a choice of cereals and toast, all nicely cooked. Some fruit and continental options would have been nice but I was happy to fill up with what was available and, for the money I paid for my stay, I was more than satisfied. Others in my party stayed at other hotels and paid a lot more yet breakfast wasn't included, so I felt I got the better deal. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a basic hotel for a few nights away, you won't be disappointed.

  • rebecca f

  • March 2015

We paid £35 for a twin room and was pleasantly surprised as it was clean and a great location.

It was perfect for what we required. I would stay here again

  • Pauline F

  • March 2015

Great location, great value

Everything was fine apart from the shower.

Not fully enclosed so made the floor wet and not a great flow of water either

  • stephen b

  • March 2015

Glendevon Hotel

Toilet seat broken but fixed very quickly, helpful staff ,good breakfast, very good price, would recommend.

  • j blair

  • February 2015

Great hotel

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, the hotel is very clean lovely food and friendly staff.

You get what you pay for. Great location close to pubs restaurants shops and beach. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Kim D

  • February 2015

Location Ideal, shame about upkeep!

The location is great for the BIC, we were going to see Callaboro so wanted to make a nice evening with a meal before as it was Valentine's Day.

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Our first room was at the back of the hotel overlooking flats and also overlooking the hotel garden where various furniture had been dumped obviously broken to be disposed of some time later. No nets or blinds so everything on view. The twin beds were not very comfortable and one was a put up bed with only very thin pillows. You couldn't open the wardrobe fully as the bed was in the way. The cgest of drawers had a shelf which was not level and couldn't be used. Kettle worked. There was a dirty towel left in the bathroom. I know it was cheap and cheerful but thre are standards.

We decided that for one night it would do to save driving. We asked for some more pillows and the receptionist said he would put them in the room. We went for a meal.

On our return before the show, we were stopped by the receptionist to xay that he had moved us as the door lock was broken and he had moved our bags. We were now in a room at the front of the hotel. 3 single beds but larger and although dated clean. It was very hot so we had to turn the heating off and open the window.

We went to our show at the BIC. When we returned at night, we made tea etc and had a good range of tv channels to watch. The mattresses could do with renewing as one was so soft and had a dip in the middle. We dropped off but about 20 minutes later I thought someone was trying to get into our room but it was next door. The walls were so thin that we could hear every word and they were not speaking loudly. After about 30 minutes the voices turned to what I can only describe as probably a scene from 50 Shades of Grey. We decided that it was doubtful that we were going to get any sleep for the next few hours, so decided to pack up and drive home. This hotel is fine if you are deaf, heavy sleeper and not too fussed on true comfort.