No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendevon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
85-89 West Hill Road , Bournemouth, BH2 5PQ
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at the Glendevon Hotel.

Ideally located just minutes away from Bournemouth’s cosmopolitan town centre, the Glendevon Hotel is situated just a short walk from seven miles of award winning sandy beaches and is an ideal venue for all occasions.

The hotel is also conveniently located down the road from the BIC, the town’s major conference and exhibition centre, perfect for our business and conference guests.


Picture of Glendevon Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy at all with this hotel ,
Not very clean, rude, not helpful
And oh my god the breakfast was so bad we had to pay more money out and go to wetherspoons for breakfast...don't book u will b very upset with what u get......

Reviewed by
Donna W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not bad
Noisey outside some nights, popular resort plus nice weather brings out the late night revellers

Reviewed by
mark m

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a nice place
Folded blankets inside a duvet cover for bedding. Drunk guests sat on the porch hassled us when we got back in the evening. Drunk bloke asleep in the stair well on the laundry pile. No good for people unless they are on a hen/stag night really.

Reviewed by
R Harrison

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

expensive for what we we got

Reviewed by
K Bryan

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good.....but could do better.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was good - and plenty of it. Parking is difficult in the street. However, there's a pay and display car park a few minutes' walk away. On arrival, the staff seemed to be at sixes and sevens. They didn't seem clear as to which guests were in which rooms. Neither the TV nor the kettle were working in the room that my parents stayed in. The shower pressure was poor in the room I stayed in. At one point during the night, I was woken by a knocking at my door - followed by the door opening. When the staff member realised that the room was occupied, there was a muttered apology. It wasn't until the morning, that I realised the door had not been shut properly - and was, therefore, slightly ajar for the rest of the night ! I was talking to two other female guests, and they shared the same experience.

Reviewed by
J Kynaston

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would not reccommend
no light in main room. bulb blown in bathroom , no remote for tv. doors banging throughout night . was just about to tell them to keep noise down when the shouting stopped . the banging of doors was the worst.. the only good thing was the breakfast... would not stay there again....

Reviewed by
a hayes

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
Won't go there again.

Reviewed by
Ann E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Contractors Hotel
The room looked as if it had not been decorated since 1985, the plug did not work in the bathroom rendering the sink useless. The TV did not work, they replaced and the new one would not find any channels, other than BBC 1 & 2, and these kept breaking up with interference. The tea and coffee facilities were sufficient to make 3 cups of Tea/Coffee. The breakfast was all self service and the food was cooked but was not of any quality. If I had paid full price for the room I would have been thoroughly disgusted, but, as I got it for two thirds of the normal price I am just disgusted. It is a good contractors Hotel at 25 a night and nothing more.

Reviewed by
S Andrew

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the room's we booked.
Arrived at 5.30 on check in was told we hadn't got the 3 single rooms which were booked we were given 1 single and 1 family room after being shown the single room which was no bigger then a broom cupboard we decided to talk to reception and asked if we shared the family could we get a refund on the 2 single rooms which we should have had they offered £20 to cut a long story short we decided to share family room and agreed on a £45 refund. This could have been avoided if they had bothered to call us to dicuss our option's.

Reviewed by
TINA B

From Colyton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for a night on the town!
We stayed at the Glendevon Hotel to celebrate a birthday. We had three rooms (Each room was on a different floor and quite a way from the others) Upon arriving the staff were very friendly and helped us find all our rooms with ease. The stairs to the 2nd floor and above were very steep (a bit of a nightmare in heels!!) and the corridors were very cramped. Having paid such a bargain price we got what we had expected from the rooms, quite small but clean and tidy with all the homily touches (Tea facilities and hair dryer) However, only having one (rather small) towel per person was a shame.
The 'Bar' area was a nice place to meet and have a few drinks, although we did have to get the attention of the employee on reception to serve us. Although friendly, we were nearly short changed and this particular employee did put up a fight when we showed he was wrong, none the less we were re-emberssed. We were looking for somewhere nice to eat that was close by and the guys helped us out telling us everything that was within walking distance!
All in all, a great little hotel to crash in if you're looking for a night out in Bournemouth. Friendly, helpful staff and a comfy bed to get a good nights sleep!

Reviewed by
L Jones

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next