Reviews - Glendevon Hotel

3

85-89 West Hill Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5PQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (44)

48% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Matthew L

  • June 2015

More student digs than hotel.

This place and the property next door are really one hotel so it's worth reading the reviews for both before you think about booking.

The place seems to mainly be used to accommodate students at some sort of English language college. Ok, it was cheap but the budget chains manage to do nice enough rooms at this sort of price level. The bathroom and shower were actually not bad, room as expected pretty tired and tatty. Room also baking hot but couldn’t sleep with the window open as the students were out in the back garden until late. Free parking on the road outside and free Wi Fi, didn’t stay for breakfast as we had to get going in the morning but I don’t think we missed much.

  • Sarah N

  • June 2015

Staff very friendly, breakfast was average nothing special.

Rooms very tidy and clean, bed comfy, cheep price. Happy overall perfect for a night out in bournemouth

  • c platt

  • June 2015

One night stay on 13.06.15

We booked a double room but found that we were given two single beds along one wall so they would not push together (top & tail).

We then asked for a double room and were given a new room which did not appear to have been cleaned (hairs in shower and bed not made up). We had men shouting and swearing in the corridor outside of our room between 1am - 5am which kept us awake but no night porter to be seen anywhere. In the morning i attempted to have a shower but found only cold water available so that didnt happen either. When we gave our complaints to the reception staff in the morning we were told that they were not employed directly by the hotel but would pass on our comments (probably not). We didnt sign in and we didnt sign out so not sure what would have happened if there had been a fire as there was no evidence that we were ever there. Not a great stay and relieved to get home for a rest. Wont be going back again.

  • G Purchase

  • April 2015

Glendevon Hotel

Room was clean but staff not very friendly and happy too see customers like a hotel should be.

  • j lea

  • April 2015

1night long enough...

Booked this hotel last minute.

Bournemouth was beautiful, weather was perfect, accommodation poor. Staff were not welcoming. Room very basic and not clean. There was soap scum around the shower tray, also water not hot. Beds uncomfortable, breakfast basic. Will suit you if you like drinking from plastic cups. Won't be staying there again. Sorry Glendevon.

  • Philip Aylwin

  • April 2015

rubbish left under the bed which i found out when i had to lift it up to fix it the moment i arrived

don't expect too much, old building and rooms not updated for a long time.

if you want a cheap room then you get what you pay for.

  • Kelly L

  • April 2015

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in

Please do not stay in this hotel, this can only be described as a doss hole, staff do not do anything to help and simply do not care.

I have made a complaint direct to the hotel but very much doubt I will get a response.

  • H ELLISON

  • March 2015

Pleasantly suprised!

I booked this hotel as I got a cheap deal on it and just needed somewhere to sleep for a couple of nights while visiting family.

I read the reviews and, to be honest, I wasn't expecting much as many of the reviews were not very positive. However I was pleasantly surprised. Previous reviews mentioned small rooms, but mine was fine and had a huge super-king size bed. Contrary to some reviews stating they gave you blankets in duvet covers rather than a quilt, there was a duvet on the bed. The furniture in my room was mismatched and looked like it had come from a second hand shop, but it was functional and the room had tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer, flat screen TV, and the bathroom was very nicely done out with a good shower. Breakfast is buffet style, not a vast choice but eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, grilled tomatoes, a choice of cereals and toast, all nicely cooked. Some fruit and continental options would have been nice but I was happy to fill up with what was available and, for the money I paid for my stay, I was more than satisfied. Others in my party stayed at other hotels and paid a lot more yet breakfast wasn't included, so I felt I got the better deal. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a basic hotel for a few nights away, you won't be disappointed.

  • rebecca f

  • March 2015

We paid £35 for a twin room and was pleasantly surprised as it was clean and a great location.

It was perfect for what we required. I would stay here again

  • Pauline F

  • March 2015

Great location, great value

Everything was fine apart from the shower.

Not fully enclosed so made the floor wet and not a great flow of water either