No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St Johns Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
651 Warwick Road, Solihull, Birmingham, B91 1AT
Located on the doorstep of central Solihull and easily accessible by air, rail or car, the St Johns Hotel is just minutes away from the M42 and close to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.
On site Parking - Complimentary during week days. Chargeable on weekends at £7.00 for 24 hours. WiFi is complimentary

The Hotel combines a modern and relaxed environment with each guest room stylishly decorated including luxury bedding to guarantee a relaxing stay. The elegant Tempus Bar & Restaurant offers something for everyone from light snacks to a more wholesome meal reflective of modern tastes; settle into a booth with colleagues and friends or enjoy an intimate dinner for two.

With a family friendly atmosphere, extensive on-site leisure facilities and a wide variety of local attractions including Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Birmingham city centre, the St Johns Hotel is also an ideal base for family breaks and weekends away including a visit to the historic Stratford Upon Avon.
Picture of The St Johns Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas parties .....
We stayed at St Johns at the same time last year and were concerned we would have a disturbed night due to the large number of Christmas parties taking place and we didn't have a problem. However this year is another story! No problems with the room but the noise level from the functions taking place elsewhere in the hotel was deafening! The volume of the music increased to the point where we could stand it no longer and a complaint was made. Within half an hour we were given a different room on the other side of the hotel and at that time (about 11p.m) the noise level was better but over the next hour the volume again increased. By 12.30a.m the music stopped and we could finally get some sleep. We were not disturbed again and we feel that our complaint was dealt with quickly and efficiently by the staff at the hotel.

Reviewed by
P Seymour

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend getaway!
My girlfriend and I chose this hotel for a weekend away for her birthday. We didn't know what to expect but when we arrived we found it to be a very nice place. I was cautious about the room after reading a few reviews however I was pleasantly surprised by hoe nice it was. We had food in the hotel restaurant and found that to be very nice despite a small menu. The actual leisure facilities were also fantastic, I think we were lucky in the time we used the facilities we pretty much had the area to ourselves. Overall a great weekend!

Reviewed by
Karl H

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff had no communication skills what so ever, couldn't be bothered to talk to.
Very nice room and décor, probably one of the best decorated places I've stayed at. But staff had no communication or people skills, as it took ages to check in, and wasn't given directions to our room, or told how breakfast worked, had to work it out for ourselves. Evening meal was nice, as well as breakfast, but both meals could have been a lot warmer. Bacon wasn't cooked enough, but sausages were top class.

Reviewed by
v bevan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy hotel
Very handy for NEC. Not too close, just a short drive. We got to hotel late in the evening so did not try the facilities. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellant with a wide choice. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Graham L

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in this hotel last year and really enjoyed our stay so we decided to come again this year,we found the hotel staff very freindly and helpful.The room was clean and comfortable and the food was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Birmingham NEC as only about 15 minute drive away and it is well signposted.
This is a good hotel for a short break as also has good leisure facilities

Reviewed by
S Coyle

From East Boldon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large comfortable room with all amenities.

Reviewed by
Mary G

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Good location. Comfortable room with breakfast

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Sutton coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The staff at this hotel are excellent. They are friendly, efficient and provide first class service.
As a lone traveller it was nice to be a few minutes walk from the pleasant town centre.

Reviewed by
S Robinson

From Otley, Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plesant Stay
Busy Hotel and Late rooms were not for some reason unable to change our booking from a twin to a double , so original booking was cancelled and re booked on Thursday for a Saturday stay. A reasonable room rate was offered and a discounted breakfast, result. I asked at check in if there were any upgrades available so ended up staying with breakfast in a junior suite for the original double price. Front of house was very welcoming and knowledgeable . Accommodation was large, well decorated and clean. Breakfast was comprehensive, and although getting extra coffee was a little trying. Fitness suite ok, although getting changed and then having to walk down a corridor was unnerving. Check out efficient although I was asked to pay for breakfast, but this was soon cleared up. Will come back again.

Reviewed by
Beverly T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in Solihull
I stay on business at a considerable number of hotels in the area and I have to say that the St John's Hotel in Solihull was superb. Polite, efficient check in staff, clean and quiet room and excellent leisure facilities open at a time when business men can actually make use of them. Value for money as well. Even the 430 am fire alarm could not dampen my spirits. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Alistair E

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next