No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Roker Terrace, Sunderland, SR6 9ND
If you want to see the sea from the comfort of a conveniently placed accommodation in a prime location on Britain's North East coastline, there's only one place for you: BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel in Sunderland! A hotel of local fame and unquestionable character, this stylish building is full of friendliness and facilities... giving guests a real taste of UK hospitality that lives up to a reputation for upholding traditional values while providing modern convenience. Rooms with state-of-the-art facilities will have you napping in no time, and after a restful night's sleep you'll be ready to get out and about to the city centre, Stadium of Light or Empire Theatre. On your return, the Tavistock Italia and Tavistock Thai China will be waiting to meet your food related fancies. Enjoy!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, Sunderland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly good location, but overall a bit of a disappointment.
Staff tried hard, but the whole experience was just about adequate. The hotel has been modernised as best they can with the building. My room was a long way away from reception up and down staircases and along corridors. Eventuially I reached what I thought was a basement room, but was at street level at the back of the hotel. The only restaurant available was a bust Italian restaurant in the basement of the hotel. It was hot and oppressive without windows and my pizza was so hard, I couldn't cut the base with a knife!

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room to hot !! Hotel very noisy.management most unapologetic. Would give it a miss if you want a peaceful nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Jean R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, loved the location
The customer service was excellent, good location

Reviewed by
Modupe Afuye

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great venue
Stayed I the apartment part of this hotel and it was great what a great view breakfast was good to

Reviewed by
craig stearn

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid weekend break
We were very impressed with the customer service of all staff, from reception on arrival and departure to the personal waiter service given at breakfast. The room was well equipped and very comfortable with the added bonus of a sea view. We would recommend this hotel to friends and will be visiting again soon.

Reviewed by
K Jameson

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was ok but wean someone above you use the bathroom you could here the pipe work and toilet
The water pipe work up and beside your room you could here and keep you a weak
You need to do something about the nose from the water wean people use the bathrooms . I will not be stopping at that hotel ever again .

Reviewed by
glen hornberger

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Fantastic place

Reviewed by
Peter Bailey

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improving
Had a room where some things were broken. Reported this at checkout and was treated very well. Summary - service is excellent, facilities are improving.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at his hotel for 2 nights and were very happy with the standard of the rooms and the personal service we received. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and very well equipped including toiletries, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. There were enough sachets of tea and coffee and 2 packets of biscuits. We did not have a room with sea view but did not really expect it for the price.

Reviewed by
J Baird

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpfull staff, room was also very nice,and clean no complaints

Reviewed by
Rosemary N

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next