No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
9 Botchergate , Carlisle, CA1 1QP
A beautiful listed building, the non smoking County Hotel still retains its Georgian Grandeur as well as providing modern spacious accommodation, free wireless internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and conference facilities. Situated in the heart of Carlisle, this 3 star hotel overlooks the splendid twin towers of King Henry VIII's historic Citadel and is opposite the railway station. With 2 miles from junction 43 on M6 the hotel is an ideal base for exploring north Cumbria and the Lake District. Open daily for breakfast and dinner the Gallerie restaurant offers a choice of a la Carte or table d'hote menus, complemented by a good selection of wines and liqueurs. New lift has been installed.
Picture of County Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
The room was terrible and not worth the amount paid for the room. the bathroom was dirty with a hole in the door, the tv was dated and you could only just see the screen from your bed. kept up all night due to drunken people and having a broken window that didn't close properly allowed for very little sleep. a lock on the door would be nice to make you feel safe and secure however I felt on edge for the whole stay. I wouldn't look to stay in this hotel again.

Reviewed by
S Duffy

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Served a purpose
We stayed for two nights and were put in room 225, unfortunately this room was at the back of the hotel where the kitchen bins are kept, seagulls paradise !!!!.
The hotel is dated but if you're just using it to put your head down for the night, it's great value for money.

Reviewed by
K DAVY

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

verry good room and very nice

Reviewed by
A SAUNDERS

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel
First room was above the party, I could hardly hear my earphones over the sound of the disco and band, there wasn't a shower curtain, got moved to a quieter room that was just above a noisy fan, with a smell in the corridor and stains on the carpet, if it wasn't so late we would have found a new hotel like the couple in the next room did.
Will not stay again.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Central
The hotel is very central for Carlisle and a stop over on the way to Scotland. Staff were very friendly. The hotel needs money spending on it, looking very tired and in need of a refurb.
view from back rooms is of deralict buildings.

Reviewed by
Jackie B

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for a city break

Reviewed by
K Strachan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value. Good central location.

Reviewed by
A Aitchison

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth it
great location, handy clean hotel, floor boards creak a lot, but hey, its well worth the money, you could do a damn site worse than this in carlisle, I know, I have stayed in them !!, I would use them again

Reviewed by
paul s

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a great value for money room. Hotel is situated near train station. It's clean and the room was well laid out.

Reviewed by
J Robinson

From Hillsborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
Good price, good service , great location

Reviewed by
ANNIE W

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next