No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
9 Botchergate , Carlisle, CA1 1QP
A beautiful listed building, the non smoking County Hotel still retains its Georgian Grandeur as well as providing modern spacious accommodation, free wireless internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and conference facilities. Situated in the heart of Carlisle, this 3 star hotel overlooks the splendid twin towers of King Henry VIII's historic Citadel and is opposite the railway station. With 2 miles from junction 43 on M6 the hotel is an ideal base for exploring north Cumbria and the Lake District. Open daily for breakfast and dinner the Gallerie restaurant offers a choice of a la Carte or table d'hote menus, complemented by a good selection of wines and liqueurs. New lift has been installed.
Picture of County Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a good stay at the County Hotel, it is particularly well situated for train travellers. We were happy to find that there was a much more generous than usual amount of coffee, tea and milk and also there was a generous supply of quality complimentary shower gels etc.
The only downside was that the beds (twin) were a bit tired and the mattresses could do with being replaced.

Reviewed by
L Beer

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Plain hotel with great location... If all you want is a bed in the town centre with a place to leave your car while you explore the towns day and nightlife then this is value for money

Reviewed by
Greg H

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed at the County a few times. We have always been given a room at the front of the hotel which is noisy because of the pubs in Botchergate but this time we were given a room at the back of the hotel. It was smaller but quieter. I asked for a mirror as there was none next to the hairdryer attached to the wall so I couldn't see to do my hair. I also asked for extra bedding. When we came back after a night out both had been sorted out for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit run down and you can hear the floor boards creaking and the carpet is a bit threadbare on the stairs but it is in an ideal position for everything and it is clean and it has a car park. For the price of £45.00 a night (excluding breakfast) we could not complain and will be staying at the County next time visit Carlisle.

Reviewed by
c rogers

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlisle castle trip
Well situated for exploring the city and excellent parking in heart of city. Room was good but lacking in shower so bit of a problem

Reviewed by
N Barbour

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A slightly rough hotel in a rowdy area
This hotel is situated halfway down a street that has had to be pedestrianised due to the number of drunks getting run over. As such the street outside (and the guests I met inside) were filled with drunks when I arrived around midnight. Service was curt but resonably fast. The bathroom in my room was in need of redecoration, with a broken shaving light, vinal that didnt fit the appliances and large gaps between the bath and its side panels. My single-bed room was just big enough for the bed, desk and small wardrobe but this was all I needed it for and the bed was pretty comfortable. The windows looked directly out over a nightclub which made a fair bit of noise long into the morning and there was a lot of noise coming from other guests moving around the hotel.
All in all, a very much no frills room at a fairly cheap price, but you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not be stopping here again
Upon entrance Hotel looked fine. Checked in staff not very friendly and looked miserable, that didnt bother me that much. Went upto my room, bathroom very dated mould around the seals of the bath. Damp running down the walls of the main room and very cold. I can cope with this not a problem, not when I have my 11 week old child. I mentioned the problems to the staff. They promised to put the heating on in the evening that didnt happen. I asked again that evening didnt happen. I explained about a 11 week old baby, no offer of change of room or heating put on. Hotel was bearly fit for adult accommodation never mind a 11 week old baby. Bad hotel and shocked it is still operating.

Reviewed by
D Garnett

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

100
i and my wife had a very nice time and the staff were excellent. As it was our 59th wedding anniversary everything was perfect.

Reviewed by
david mc shane

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room wasn't to bad.the en-suite wasn't very clean & the bath panel didn't fit propel making it dangerous for getting you fingers trapped. The views were of the skips in the ally so you couldn't open the windows as flys & wasps came in also the windows were frosted. The furniture was all stained & I didn't sit on the chairs. Our friends dropped us off & ended up with a parking ticket as we were blocked in & had to wait to get out though this was revoked finally. It was hard to park as the take away delivery people blocked you so you had to wait to turn by then someone else got the space & coaches take up alot of spaces. I wouldn't think I will stay again when I lived in Carlisle in the 60/70's it used to be lovely but now I would give it a wide birth. Staff were helpful.

Reviewed by
john j

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
The room was terrible and not worth the amount paid for the room. the bathroom was dirty with a hole in the door, the tv was dated and you could only just see the screen from your bed. kept up all night due to drunken people and having a broken window that didn't close properly allowed for very little sleep. a lock on the door would be nice to make you feel safe and secure however I felt on edge for the whole stay. I wouldn't look to stay in this hotel again.

Reviewed by
S Duffy

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I wouldn't recommend this hotel!
The room had beautifully high ceilings but that was about all that was good about it! Our room was facing the back of a Chinese takeaway, giving us sights to the rubbish and smokers having a natter at 1am. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the bathroom looked like it was something out of the 70's... all brown tiles and the wood on the bath was rotting away. i never normally write reviews, but this was the worst hotel i've ever stayed in and we were very thankful we only stayed one night!

Reviewed by
J Griffith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next