No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
9 Botchergate , Carlisle, CA1 1QP
A beautiful listed building, the non smoking County Hotel still retains its Georgian Grandeur as well as providing modern spacious accommodation, free wireless internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and conference facilities. Situated in the heart of Carlisle, this 3 star hotel overlooks the splendid twin towers of King Henry VIII's historic Citadel and is opposite the railway station. With 2 miles from junction 43 on M6 the hotel is an ideal base for exploring north Cumbria and the Lake District. Open daily for breakfast and dinner the Gallerie restaurant offers a choice of a la Carte or table d'hote menus, complemented by a good selection of wines and liqueurs. New lift has been installed.
Picture of County Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for a city break

Reviewed by
K Strachan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value. Good central location.

Reviewed by
A Aitchison

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth it
great location, handy clean hotel, floor boards creak a lot, but hey, its well worth the money, you could do a damn site worse than this in carlisle, I know, I have stayed in them !!, I would use them again

Reviewed by
paul s

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a great value for money room. Hotel is situated near train station. It's clean and the room was well laid out.

Reviewed by
J Robinson

From Hillsborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
Good price, good service , great location

Reviewed by
ANNIE W

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and location
Very happy with the location, the staff were very helpful. However, don't pay for parking at the meter as you enter the rear of the hotel. Parking is complimentary, but only at the rear of the hotel, not at the pay and display car park nearby. Very nice room. Overall, I was happy with my stay.

Reviewed by
phil r

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would not book this hotel againand would definatly not recommend
did not enjoy staytoo many creaky floorboards ensuite not very clean

Reviewed by
e docherty

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Observations, not criticisms
In summary, I liked my stay at County Hotel, first for the location and the helpfulness of the guy at the reception the first day I arrived (whom I haven't seen anymore on the succeeding days until I left-maybe off-days from work). He was helpful in pointing how to get my bearings and pointing in the too-general photocopied maps the proximity of the hotel to get to the town square, the Carlisle Cathedral, straight to Tullie House and then to Carlisle Castle. For the room, I just noticed that even if the roll of tissue was replaced in the bathroom, the wastebins emptied - that's all. The carpets were not vacuumed the following day or maybe their policy is to vacuum only if the guest has left. But I liked the breakfast (paid separately, not included in hotel rate) because it was not only filling but delicious. The lady at the breakfast counter that morning I was leaving was so attentive to the needs of hotel guests like when I asked where were the plates and she said at the end of the table, but there was none left, so I came back to her and she immediately went to see then proceeded to the inner kitchen and got some pile of new plates (well, used by the other guests waiting at my back too). The funny thing only was that I always lost my way in turning right, left, pushdoor exit, straight, right. It would be a lot of help if there was some kind of signage from major hallways like from the lift, which way are the series of room numbers for facility in locating one's room.

Reviewed by
VICTORIA ALETA AUSTRIA

From Philippines
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed on sat night .good parking . no negativity.situated in heart of town.
Think breakfast should be included for the price of our room!

Reviewed by
p lewthwaite

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unknown
The hotel was quite nice was quite old .The toom was value for money but the bathroom needs updating the toilet handle was hanging of and the shower was quite old ,the bed was comfortable and clean , tv control didnt work overall it wasnt a bad experience .

Reviewed by
stacey c

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next