County Hotel

3

9 Botchergate, Carlisle, CA1 1QP

Price From 87.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (71)

59% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • j graham

  • March 2015

County Hotel

The room was on the main street which was very noisy.

Next time I will ask for a room an the back of hotel.

  • Danny R

  • January 2015

Great location for the night out!

Stayed here a couple of times for Carlisle nights out...

great for that.. don't think much to the customer service though... can be waiting a while to check in... on the doorstep of the boozers. Could do with better directions to the car park... got lost both times.

  • s mcknight

  • December 2014

County Hotel

Close to shops but needing updated.

Floorboards uneven and very creaky.

  • E Brown

  • November 2014

Enjoyable stay

The room was big and spacious and kept clean.

My issues were that the TV channels were not working, the free WiFi wouldn't connect and the hairdryer that is included in the room was faulty and sparked when in use. Apart from these issues, it was an enjoyable stay

  • Robert K

  • October 2014

Room didn't look clean but good service

furnishings in the room looked old or a little dirty to me.

Other rooms did appear better; however the very nice central staircase had threadbare carpet at one point which I think was close to being a tripping hazard. Heating was off the day we arrived and the room was not warm enough. Continental breakfast was cereal and toast only; Full English looked a little better.

On the positive side convenient central location and very helpful staff

  • Lawrence F

  • October 2014

Nice but noisy!

Probably best suited for stags/hens and people on nights out as by all the local nightlife and therefore very noisy until the early hours.

Not the best if you want a quiet nights sleep and have an early start the next morning. General standard of room was very good, my low score for this and value for mobey is just because of the noise and resultant poor nights sleep. Good location right opposite station.

  • Tracey H

  • October 2014

County Hotel

We had a one night stay and it was fit for the purpose we needed.

The room we were in had a sloping roof which was awkward at times. The room was cleanand tidy. The hotel itself did not have a late bar possibly because the area around it was fullof bars and eating places so probably does not compete. The building is old and very quaint. If you are looking for luxury not the place but for a reasonable priced 'place to lay your head' itis fine.

  • L Beer

  • October 2014

We had a good stay at the County Hotel, it is particularly well situated for train travellers.

We were happy to find that there was a much more generous than usual amount of coffee, tea and milk and also there was a generous supply of quality complimentary shower gels etc. The only downside was that the beds (twin) were a bit tired and the mattresses could do with being replaced.

  • Greg H

  • October 2014

Value for money

Plain hotel with great location...

If all you want is a bed in the town centre with a place to leave your car while you explore the towns day and nightlife then this is value for money

  • c rogers

  • October 2014

We have stayed at the County a few times.

We have always been given a room at the front of the hotel which is noisy because of the pubs in Botchergate but this time we were given a room at the back of the hotel. It was smaller but quieter. I asked for a mirror as there was none next to the hairdryer attached to the wall so I couldn't see to do my hair. I also asked for extra bedding. When we came back after a night out both had been sorted out for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit run down and you can hear the floor boards creaking and the carpet is a bit threadbare on the stairs but it is in an ideal position for everything and it is clean and it has a car park. For the price of £45.00 a night (excluding breakfast) we could not complain and will be staying at the County next time visit Carlisle.