Reviews - County Hotel


9 Botchergate, Carlisle, CA1 1QP

Price From 115 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (54)

54% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Vincent A

  • September 2015

County Hotel, Carlisle

Overall the hotel looks a bit 'tired' and is in need of some redecoration.

This is more than offset by the helpfulness of the staff, the central location and its own car park

  • Jo S

  • September 2015

Make sure the price of your room doesn't inexplicably go up during your stay

When I decided to stay a 2nd night, I went on line and booked through, and got a smaller room for £38.

I decided to stay one more night and called the front desk to see if the room I was in had been booked. The person at the desk said it had not, so I asked him to book it for me for one more night. Imagine my surprise when I checked out and was charged £60. When I questioned the increase the desk clerk told me the price difference was probably because the previous day had been Sunday.

I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but I did eat one dinner there. The desk clerk was doing double duty as wait staff and possibly cook, if you can call warmed up over-cooked vegetables and mystery meat cooking. To the clerk's credit, my first night there he told me dinner was available in the dining room, but there were a number of good restaurants nearby. I thought I detected a slight emphasis on "good." I should have paid more attention!

  • Sylvia Wild

  • July 2015

My Nights accommodation at the County Hotel, Carlisle on 6 July 2015

Although it did seem a popular hotel with coach trips I thought it was very old and dated and could do with refurbishment.

For the price I suppose it wasn't too bad for one night, but do prefer something rather more luxurious. I did think, however, the staff were very nice and helpful.

  • simon o

  • July 2015

Old and run down

This hotel is old and run down.

Some like this old look but they still need to update things such as the TV etc. I had to be moved rooms due to the first room having a none working TV but rather than looking into it they just gave me a freebies box and scart lead which still did not work. After an hour they moved me to a family room. The food at breakfast was poor, looked like it had been out for hours and the bread stale. The staff in the restaurant were rude and 'straight to the point'

It was very hot in the room and the mattress not very comfy at all

  • Mary-Jane O

  • June 2015

anywhere else!

this was a very grand hotel - once.

Maybe in the Edwardian era, which was probably when it was last furnished. My room was tiny, the TV was the old shape so the picture was distorted, the carpet sticky, the window broken (so very noisy although not onto main street), one wall had a hole in it, the tea/coffee tray was not refilled, there was no shower although i had instructions on its use.... the TV did not have a remote control and the buttons were so dirty i didn't want to touch them. The white wine was warm, the food I believe was frozen/reheated, the clientele appeared to be DHSS but turned out to be decorators or OAP's on a walk thing. You get what you pay for. the employees were grand - the hotel awful!

  • Sheila W

  • June 2015

A good hotel right in the heart of Carlisle

Although this hotel is a bit dog-eared in places, it is still a very nice hotel (it could do with a bit of refurbishing).

I have still rated it highly though because the staff were very friendly and I was given a lovely big room with a view of the Citadel. I did not eat at the hotel but the restaurant looked very nice. Very near to the shops, restaurants and bars. I would definitely stay here again. I was particularly impressed with the blonde lady on reception who went out of her way for us.

  • Eric A

  • May 2015

County Hotel

Review for County Hotel.

  • A Jackman

  • April 2015


Brilliant customer service.

Rooms could be better, they need updated. Apart from that, they were clean.

  • P Webster

  • April 2015

Very tired building in desperate need of renovation.

First impressions are awful, so delapidated from the outside. The inside isn't much better,the stains on the carpets are realy bad. Not a great place.

  • j graham

  • March 2015

County Hotel

The room was on the main street which was very noisy.

Next time I will ask for a room an the back of hotel.