No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 Grosvenor Road, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2RP
The Dene Hotel is situated in the heart of Jesmond, a quiet suburb of Newcastle upon Tyne. Located 1.5 miles from Newcastle city centre, Jesmond is ideally suited for people staying on business and/or pleasure. We are also a 2 minute walk from Jesmond Dene where you will find a lovely walk through the Dene. Our superb Italian restaurant Sebastian's offers contemporary and quality breakfast, lunch and evening meals with a specials and A La Carte menu available.

The Dene Hotel is located in a quiet street but only 2 minutes walk from busy Osborne Road with its pubs, bars and restaurants. Shopping is available at nearby Acorn Road where amenities include banks, post office, supermarket, chemists, fashion boutiques and antique shops.

Each room has been tastefully decorated for style and comfort. All bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, and all bedrooms have colour TV, satellite, tea and coffee-making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephone lines. We also have free Wi-Fi in all rooms.

All prices include a full English breakfast. Our extra facilities include parking, restaurant and licensed bar.
Picture of Dene Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loan Male Traveller
I was given a double room at no extra cost because there wasn't a single available.
The room was adequate but lacked some TLC, eg: black mold around the shower and window.
I was told breakfast times were 8am-10pm, On Sunday morning a good full English breakfast was provided. On Monday I went for breakfast at 09.15am only to be told I had missed it because breakfast times changed mid-week (07.00-09.00) Pity this wasn't mentioned at check-in.
Overall for the price not a bad hotel but could be better.

Reviewed by
D M

From St Helens, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly and welcome. One of the best/cheapest hotel rooms I've stayed at. and the lift was one of the quirkiest: sinesterly silent and slow

Reviewed by
JJ D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay when working in Newcastle
This is my 5th visit and I will return if I find myself working up here again. Well located for metro and dining Reasonably quiet at night. Close to Jesmond dene if you fancy a stroll

Reviewed by
Jean S

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
very good, helpful staff, nice room, excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
g baker

From Hull, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food at Seb's restaurant - part of the B&B - was excellent, especially in the evenings, although it was inexplicably empty.

Reviewed by
Chaminda J

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night stay.
We were pleased with the stay the staff were polite and friendly the room was warm and clean and the breakfast was very good, there was a good selection of food to choose from.
A satisfied customer.

Reviewed by
L Crow

From York, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were exceptionally friendly & very helpful! I was going to be back late one of the nights of my stay and the guy that is the Night Manager sat up and waited for me to get back so he could let me in (they normally lock the doors at midnight) - that is what you call a personalised service! Breakfast was tasty, comfortable room, great price - what more could you ask for!? I would certainly stay here again!!

Reviewed by
Chris C

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly. great customer service and great value for money
My stay at the Dene hotel was made very comfortable by some very friendly staff.
The location made my trips into the city centre extremely easy and my room provided me with all of the facilities I required during my stay. Thanks very much, I would definitely stay again!!

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second stay in this convenient hotel
Tis is my second stay in this hotel, so i will repeat what i said in an earlier post. Will also be happy to stay there again.
I was looking for a hotel, convenient to the Jesmond area, but not too close to the hustle and bustle of Osborne Road. This fitted the bill perfectly, is very reasonably priced and also there is a great authentic Italian restaurant round the corner, also highly recommended.
The room was clean and, whilst a bed is never the same as your own, was comfortable enough.
Some of the rooms are only accessible by going up or down a few stairs, this was not an issue for me, but if needed you could request a room on the same level as the lift.

Reviewed by
G Mcmillen

From Bangor, Northern Ireland
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dene hotel jesmond

Reviewed by
Elizabeth F

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next