No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 Grosvenor Road, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2RP
The Dene Hotel is situated in the heart of Jesmond, a quiet suburb of Newcastle upon Tyne. Located 1.5 miles from Newcastle city centre, Jesmond is ideally suited for people staying on business and/or pleasure. We are also a 2 minute walk from Jesmond Dene where you will find a lovely walk through the Dene. Our superb Italian restaurant Sebastian's offers contemporary and quality breakfast, lunch and evening meals with a specials and A La Carte menu available.

The Dene Hotel is located in a quiet street but only 2 minutes walk from busy Osborne Road with its pubs, bars and restaurants. Shopping is available at nearby Acorn Road where amenities include banks, post office, supermarket, chemists, fashion boutiques and antique shops.

Each room has been tastefully decorated for style and comfort. All bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, and all bedrooms have colour TV, satellite, tea and coffee-making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephone lines. We also have free Wi-Fi in all rooms.

All prices include a full English breakfast. Our extra facilities include parking, restaurant and licensed bar.
Picture of Dene Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel, both ladies in reception lovely. No problem when we needed to check in early. Breakfast also very good and tasty!

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little place to stay...
The Dene is smart, tidy and clean with super-helpful, friendly staff. It's handy for the Metro and just around the corner from loads of bars and restaurants. Ideal for a city break. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Jacquelyn R

From Dunbar, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit tired and run down.
Small hotel in an old building. Our room was quite small and an odd shape. The TV was very small and quite far from the bed. The bathroom was very small too and the shower very pokey. A large person would struggle. The lift was weird. It was almost silent so you did not know if you were moving and it was very slow. Breakfast was quite good, The service was friendly and the hotel was clean. The bed was comfy and we did sleep well.We had a problem on the Saturday night with lack of parking spaces. Overall it was just about worth what we paid.

Reviewed by
N THOMPSON

From Hillsborough, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dcent enough place for a stay during the week as it is much quieter than the weekend. it is also off the main road so not much steer noise at night. No reason to not stay here again

Reviewed by
d wilson

From edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Nice clean hotel - helpful/friendly staff and good value for money - no complaints at all

Reviewed by
Simon D

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loan Male Traveller
I was given a double room at no extra cost because there wasn't a single available.
The room was adequate but lacked some TLC, eg: black mold around the shower and window.
I was told breakfast times were 8am-10pm, On Sunday morning a good full English breakfast was provided. On Monday I went for breakfast at 09.15am only to be told I had missed it because breakfast times changed mid-week (07.00-09.00) Pity this wasn't mentioned at check-in.
Overall for the price not a bad hotel but could be better.

Reviewed by
D M

From St Helens, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly and welcome. One of the best/cheapest hotel rooms I've stayed at. and the lift was one of the quirkiest: sinesterly silent and slow

Reviewed by
JJ D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay when working in Newcastle
This is my 5th visit and I will return if I find myself working up here again. Well located for metro and dining Reasonably quiet at night. Close to Jesmond dene if you fancy a stroll

Reviewed by
Jean S

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
very good, helpful staff, nice room, excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
g baker

From Hull, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food at Seb's restaurant - part of the B&B - was excellent, especially in the evenings, although it was inexplicably empty.

Reviewed by
Chaminda J

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4