No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 Grosvenor Road, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2RP
The Dene Hotel is situated in the heart of Jesmond, a quiet suburb of Newcastle upon Tyne. Located 1.5 miles from Newcastle city centre, Jesmond is ideally suited for people staying on business and/or pleasure. We are also a 2 minute walk from Jesmond Dene where you will find a lovely walk through the Dene. Our superb Italian restaurant Sebastian's offers contemporary and quality breakfast, lunch and evening meals with a specials and A La Carte menu available.

The Dene Hotel is located in a quiet street but only 2 minutes walk from busy Osborne Road with its pubs, bars and restaurants. Shopping is available at nearby Acorn Road where amenities include banks, post office, supermarket, chemists, fashion boutiques and antique shops.

Each room has been tastefully decorated for style and comfort. All bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, and all bedrooms have colour TV, satellite, tea and coffee-making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephone lines. We also have free Wi-Fi in all rooms.

All prices include a full English breakfast. Our extra facilities include parking, restaurant and licensed bar.
Picture of Dene Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, nice room
The hotel had a high standard of cleanliness. It needs a bit of a facelift but it was in a lovely location and was ideal for what we needed as we were out and about all day so just needed a place to sleep. We'd definitely go back.

Reviewed by
C O'Donnell

From Haddington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only spent 1 night here. Good location - 10 mins walk from West Jesmond Metro and not far from Newcastle Airport. Friendly and helpful staff and good sized room. Breakfast good although personally would have liked to see some vegetarian options. Overall would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Martin E

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice bed and shower
whenever I stay anywhere all I am looking for is a comfortable bed and a powerful shower. The Dene Hotel scored highly on both. I even slept in for the first time in ages. Shower was great. Didn't get to try the breakfast (as I had slept in) but it smelled good. Paul, on reception, was very helpful and all in all, very enjoyable stay. Will be staying again.

Reviewed by
r capper

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality at a better than reasonable price.
This b&b is a little gem. There's nothing wrong with the place for the price you pay.
Clean room, good showering facilities with a comfy bed.
Good old fashioned value for money with a reasonable modern decor. What more can you ask for?

Reviewed by
S West

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
Friendly staff, Great location, Room was tired with mould on shower tray and kettle but bed was comfy and sheets were fresh.

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel! Peaceful and relaxing.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Dene Hotel. It was comfortable and very quiet at night which I really appreciated but still very close to loads of bars and restaurants. My room was clean and comfortable and had a very modern stylish bathroom. Breakfast was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Corrina N

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GOOD !!!!
Just stayed here 1 night, wish i had upgraded as room was small, but ok for me for the night, nice little town with bars and eatery's aplenty...

Reviewed by
P Firth

From Halifax, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice staff
the staff here are as good as any I have ever come across the night porter couldn't have been more helpful he even went and got me a paper which I forgot to order.

Reviewed by
d norris

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a wonderful area, central to everything you could possibly want on a break in the city. The owners were lovey, friendly and helpful, the food for both the breakfast and the evening restaurant next door was lovely. By far one of the best showers Iv used whilst being away.Would stay again.

Reviewed by
N F

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very nice hotel, clean and warm with very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Tony Kennedy

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next