Reviews - Jesmond Dene House Hotel

4

Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2EY

Price From 370.65 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Margaret T

  • August 2015

OMG

Fantastic we were spoiled.

From the moment we arrived at reception we were greeted by Fran Leach and Stephen Suri. The staff who attended our room were really friendly. The hotel and views were to die for will go back again.

  • Jeremy King

  • July 2015

A relaxing stay

A lovely clean room.

My wife commented on how everything smelled fresh. The 'attic' room was a little on the hot side, and this was obviously recognised by the hotel as the room was well prepared with windows open and fan on max. Very comfortable otherwise, but breakfast included would have given this full marks for value for money.

  • Andy K

  • April 2015

Jesmond Dene House Hotel

Brilliant.

  • Samantha H

  • February 2015

Special treat for partner birthday, lovely stay and great staff

booked for partners birthday, staff were very helpful and friendly.

The room was great value for money and bed very comfortable, walk in shower and excellent quality towels, robes etc

My partner and I would recommend this hotel, excellent

  • Brian Sellers

  • January 2015

Nice relaxing posh hotel

Excellent staff with good customer focus

  • ged w

  • October 2014

Romantic Break

Took my other half for a romantic break here and it was fantastic.

Staff were really attentive and couldnt do enough for you. Excellent all round experience. Attention to even the smallest details was exemplary. Hand written welcome note as opposed to a pro forma computerised letter was a perfect example.

  • J Garnham

  • August 2014

The room we stayed in was an attic room.

It was fine except the blinds in the high windows were impossible to reach to close.

  • Helen N

  • May 2014

An amazing sanctuary in a gorgeous part of Newcastle with good travel links.

Such a treat, with a real sense of calm, friendliness and luxury. Can't wait to return.

  • C Gillen

  • March 2014

Very nice stay

  • Malcolm T

  • November 2013

'Good' rather than 'Very Good'.

The hotel is very close to Jesmond Dene and so is quiet.

Although the building exterior is rather dark and of typically grey 'Newcastle' stone, the interior has been renovated very tastefully. Originally Georgian, it was remodelled into an Arts and Crafts style grand house and the great hall retains the oak panelling. We were greeted warmly on arrival and staff offered to guide us to our room. The room itself, although comfortable and with a fair sized bathroom, was quite small. We could not both walk past the end of the bed at the same time. I also found the lighting inadequate. Heating is controlled by adjusting the radiator valves which would have been useful to have known in advance. The walk-in shower was of a good size and toiletries, robes and slippers were provided. The fittings are modern but I found it difficult to flush the toilet as the fittings were within a shelf rather than in the wall. In the room, one could open the two windows and a bowl of fruit and 2 bottles of water were provided. However, both bottles contained sparkling water which I do not drink. The tea and coffee making facilities were neatly out of sight in a cupboard. After unpacking, we wandered round the hotel and one of the staff gave us a short tour and explained some of the features. Both the lounge and the bar area have open fires which gives a cosy feeling. We booked a table in the restaurant for 8pm. When we went down the bar area was rather crowded so we went across the passage into the lounge. I was disappointed to see that the fire had gone out and that some tables still had not been cleared away after afternoon tea. We had to wait for the menu and it was not until about 8.45pm that I asked if we could go to our table. We were shown to a table in a rather dimly it area so we asked to move into the main body of the room. The staff were pleasant and the sommelier excellent in his knowledge of the wines available. His recommendation was spot on. I did feel that having the till in the centre of the room rather spoilt the atmosphere. Additionally, it was where staff would gather when not busy. We enjoyed the meal and both felt with a little more effort and attention to detail, it could be very good. For breakfast we were seated in the conservatory which leads off the dining room. The food though was laid out in a room beyond the dining room which was not as convenient as it could have been. The centre 'console' would have been a more convenient place. There was a good range of foodstuffs from fruit juices to cooked food. I felt that the pop music playing was inappropriate to the age of guest and to the ambiance the hotel is trying to create. I spoke to a member of staff and was told it was planned to change the 'musak' from Radio 2 to Classic FM. Why is music needed at all. Some staff are more professional in their manner and dress than others. The check-out staff seemed pre-occupied and so the last impression we had was not as good as it could have been. There is a blind spot where the drive curves due to vegetation. We paid £135 for the room and £27 for two continental breakfasts.