No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Osborne Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13-15 Osborne Road, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AE
The Osborne Hotel is a licensed 22 bedroom hotel with a 2 star rating from Visit Britain. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne with it's world renowned night life. Being situated in the pleasant suburb of Jesmond, guests enjoy the best of both worlds. We are only 5 minutes walk from Jesmond Dene with its beautiful scenery and lovely walks but only a short drive from vibrant Newcastle City Centre. The breathtaking North East Coast is also a great attraction and only 20 minutes by Metro.

All rooms are ensuite with colour television, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons on request. All prices are inclusive of a full english breafast and VAT.

Situated within the hotel we can also offer you the pleasure of dining in our superb 80-seater Italian restaurant, Spago, where we can provide anything from a tasty snack to a full a la carte meal.

Thinking of that special occasion? We can cater for all manner of events from birthdays to weddings and from business lunches to funeral teas.
Picture of Osborne Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
good value for money, room was pretty standard, could have done with a bit of updating but spacious and clean! staff extremely friendly and helpful - breakfast was lovely!!!

Reviewed by
k smith

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Location of hotel was very good close to the bars in Jesmond. However, the hotel itself is very basic. The TV in our room was faulty picture but no sound! The bed was very hard and uncomfortable it was probably the worse bed I have ever slept on. It is a real shame this hotel has the potential to be very nice it just needs money spending on it to bring it up to standard. I will not be staying here again, Plenty of much nicer places to stay in Jesmond but will probably cost you more.

Reviewed by
Melanie L

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you plan on staying at this hotel please dont stay in room 7, the smell from the toilet room was bad and the single bed was just springs.
Sorry but very poor.

Reviewed by
Dave C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Changing rooms!
A bit chaotic but the staff were very helpful and friendly and sorted things out in no time. Some of the rooms need upgrading but otherwise comfortable. Nice breakfast with fresh fruit. It is located on the main road through Jesmond so it could potentially be noisy, but it was fairly quiet. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Richard Clark

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, lovely restaurant next door nice friendly co-operative staff. The room was clean and adequate good value for money. The only issue was the bed the most uncomfortable old piece of junk I've ever slept in my back was killing me in the morning. Surely to replace a bed is not expensive but mine was past its best probably 10 years ago. Apart from that its a great hotel.

Reviewed by
A G

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Hotel was perfect for a one night stay in Newcastle. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Great breakfast selection. 30 minute walk to quayside and very easy to drive to from city centre. Room was pretty quiet, though doors are quite thin. There were limited parking spaces available, so get in early!
Would stay again if I am ever in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Craig C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Friendly Stay
I had a great stay at the Osborne Hotel - very clean, friendly and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Laura G

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop-over.
Simple, basic accommodation for the price I paid. Single night stop-over in Newcastle close to University to pick up son. Very quiet when I stayed so got one of the 4 parking spaces at back of hotel, otherwise parking could be problematic. Decent breakfast included in price. Very good Italian restaurant next door.

Reviewed by
Howard D

From Broseley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Osborne Hotel - convenient, quiet, welcoming staff and delicious food - very good value.
I was delighted to have hit on the Osborne Hotel on the Internet. I was looking for somewhere in Jesmond that was fairly central and good value, and was initially attracted by its convenient location and its bargain price - only £35 for a single As soon as I registered I felt I'd made a good choice, as I had a warm welcome and an immediate offer to take my luggage upstairs. My room was comfortable and had all the essentials - in fact the only thing I have to find fault with is that the shower curtain had seen better days. I slept superbly and greatly enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast. I left for the city centre with no plans to go back to the hotel, but when to my horror I realised that I had left my extra-special birthday present for my husband's 75th today in a drawer in my bedroom, they were terrifically helpful, in spite of the fact that I had to keep ringing them to say I would be further delayed, and everything was waiting for me when I finally returned.
A lovely place with a great friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
C Zvegintzov

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Hotel was as expected. Value for money, no thrills & no surprises.
Cooked breakfast included was very nice.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next