Reviews - Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant


13 Park View Terrace New Coundon, Bishop Auckland, County Durham, DL14 8QB

Price From 105.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Annie B

  • October 2015

Clean and nice

Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Heating worked brilliantly and shower was warm. Reception staff were very friendly.

  • M Browne

  • September 2015

Our stay

All round excellent.

  • J Morris

  • May 2015

Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant

Basic room, clean and bright for a one night stay.

Breakfast was lovely

  • M GENT

  • May 2015


On entering our room we were disappointed to see how dowdy it was, with plain walls, plain dovet cover , red carpet and yellow curtains.

It all seemed slightly grubby, as did the rest of the hotel which would benefit from a modern upgrade. When we went to bed, we suddenly realised that we couldn't sleep due to the horrendous noise from the heating system. It was like sleeping in a plant room. We decided to turn off the radiator in our room and in the ensuite , which did help a bit but it was still noisey and now cold as well. Breakfast was quite good and possibly the only saving grace, but it couldn't make up for the poor accommodation . When we checked out , we were thanked for handing back the key, but at no point were we asked if we had had a good stay.

We would definitely not stay at the Park Head Hotel again or at least until it had a major refurb and new heating system.

  • D Milne

  • April 2015

Stop Over at Parkhead Country Hotel and Restaurant

We chose this as it was half way on our journey to Scotland and we weren't disappointed.

The staff at this hotel should be rewarded for their excellent customer service. The rooms were clean and tidy - the only downside here was the shower. Either scalding hot or nothing - even when I turned just the cold water on, I got hot water - this needs to be sorted!. The food was excellent and the staff in the bar and restaurant were absolutely superb. The bar area is really relaxing and friendly and we had a lovely stopover. I'd highly recommend this hotel for value for money.

  • astra

  • April 2015

2nd stay

I would happily stay here any time

  • A Yeomans

  • April 2015

Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant

Had a lovely stay at Parkhead.

Me and my boyfriend stayed here due to a wedding we had locally. Very quiet clean room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food very nice. Value for money.

The grounds well kept. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • R Gowland

  • March 2015


comfortable bed, friendly staff

  • P Murphy

  • February 2015

Fantastic place to stay!

  • S Duncan

  • February 2015

Friendly Welcoming Hotel

We booked 4 rooms for a two night stay (Rooms 11,13,18 and 19) - all rooms were lovely and clean, warm and welcoming.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and we had a great couple of days travelled into Durham and Darlington during our stay and The Parkhead Hotel was perfect for what we had planned. We had very enjoyable breakfasts and lovely snack/meals in the Hotel. Again there was a friendly, relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere in the bar area. Would definitely recommend this Hotel and will stay again, when we visit North East.