No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Pittington , Durham , DH6 1AB
Hallgarth Manor hotel is a traditional English Country House hotel with 23 bedrooms, situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham.This former 16th century residential estate,set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features.

The hotel is noted for the excellence of its food served in the Elemore restaurant. Also serving bar meals in the Cocktail Bar, which overlooks the gardens. A good selection of traditional ales are served in our Tavern Bar. Sunday lunch carvery served in our Cathedral Suite. Golfing days at a nearby Hotel can be arranged on request.

Free wireless Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

It is also one of Durhams most popular wedding venues
Picture of Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant, Durham  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does the job
Needs renovation, but the staff do well with what is there.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food & service
Bathroom was dated with only a bath. Food was excellent. Room was clean.

Reviewed by
Anne S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staying at hallgarth
A very pleasant stay. Comfortable room with old fashioned furniture. Breakfast very good indeed. All it needed was some decaf tea, then it would have been perfect.

Reviewed by
susan s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in "fawlty towers"
Hallgarth Country Manor Hotel was the worst Hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in. Our room was poor - Furniture inadequate and antiquated - Shower Cubicle was not very clean - Carpets dirty - floorboards un-level/squeaky. Our evening meal began with the "waitress" bringing our choice of wine to the table and then proceeded to leave without opening the bottle and asking someone to try it. The only plus I can give this Hotel was the breakfast was OK. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Reviewed by
Ernest B

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Hallgarth Manor Hotel
Firstly the room carpet was quite dirty, the table lamp did not work, the telephone did not work and the remote control was missing from the room. The very kind hotel receptionist obtained another remote control from another room but the TV still did not work, so a catalogue of things not working.
The food in the restaurant was very good, but the service was very poor. We waited nearly 45 minutes for the soup starter to arrive. Again the staff were very pleasant and apologetic and offered us both a glass of wine on the house, but being a lightweight with alcohol, either of us could drink the second glass of wine.

Reviewed by
Eileen S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel, lovely decor, surroundings and food. Perfect for a leisure city / country break.
I booked for business but the wifi wasnt working.
I was upgraded to a better room. Would return for leisure but not business purposes.

Reviewed by
C Barker

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel that has declined. No soap in the rooms and despite asking none arrived! Bed hard- douvet dirty. Lacked atmosphere and had a down at heel fell about it. Shower did not work so had to move room.
However location quiet so this was a plus point.

Reviewed by
Neil Collier

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not returning.
The big problem for me was that the bar didn't close until 1-00am. Until that time I was kept
awake by bursts of laughter, people talking, a loud banging door and the creaking of stairs.
For these reasons I wouldn't stay again. This is a pity, as the food was well prepared and the staff
were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
H NORRIS

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, accommodation clean, but a little tired. Very comfortable. Excellent cust. serv.
Excellent food, accommodation clean, but a little tired. Very comfortable. Excellent cust. serv.

Reviewed by
Carl M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallgarth Maonor, not for the business traveller
Customer Service was good.
No Wifi recepition in room, when I commented I was told "an engineer was on their way" but Wifi service was not restored during my stay & no ethernet connection was available..
Room was clean, but located at the top floor of what seemed to be a loft conversion, this meant a long climb up several flights of stairs. The room floor was not level, straight or stable. the eves intruded into the room restricting the space & access room.
Stong smells from the kitchen outside my room. (No 15).
Good sized TV
Bed mattress was very confortable.
Good quality food but expensive

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next