No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Pittington , Durham , DH6 1AB
Hallgarth Manor hotel is a traditional English Country House hotel with 23 bedrooms, situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham.This former 16th century residential estate,set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features.

The hotel is noted for the excellence of its food served in the Elemore restaurant. Also serving bar meals in the Cocktail Bar, which overlooks the gardens. A good selection of traditional ales are served in our Tavern Bar. Sunday lunch carvery served in our Cathedral Suite. Golfing days at a nearby Hotel can be arranged on request.

Free wireless Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

It is also one of Durhams most popular wedding venues
Picture of Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant, Durham  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Buy in the area

Reviewed by
William G

From , USA
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were friendly and helpful, if we had paid full price for our room we would have been extremely disappointed, the decor was dated, the bed felt like it was 100 years old, the bathroom was shabby. Bits of enamel missing on the bath. If your expecting a beautiful room with a comfy bed then this is not the hotel for you. The breakfast was the best part of the stay

Reviewed by
h mcdonald

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard Fare
Good restaurant and alternative in house pub next door. with a good selection of food and well cooked. The room I had was in the top roof space and quite cramped, especially the bathroom which was not sparkling clean. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets but the general condition was dated and needed new carpets and paint/wallpaper. Overall, not bad and is standard fare for a British country 3 star hotel.

Reviewed by
A Turnbull

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but tired
People are very friendly and helpful. Hotel and location look great. Food was excellent. My room on the third floor was in need of some maintenance (leaking roof which dripped on bathroom floor and damp patches on some walls (not much). Shower was good pressure but difficult to regulate the temperature. No fan in the room, which was very hot (must admit, I didn't try to request one). At £50, which included cooked breakfast and free WiFi, it is very good value for money in my book.

Reviewed by
Bob H

From Aylesbury, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant
All staff excellent, food excellent, good value for money, rooms basic but clean, in need of refurbishment, would stay there again though.

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From Scotland
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely surprise
people are very friendly and all requires are satisfied. The best breakfast I ever had in B and B in UK.

Reviewed by
C Chang

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family trip
Excellent service and highly recommend. Staff were so friendly and helpful and food was outstanding. A wonderful place to stay and will be visiting again . Thank you

Reviewed by
Michelle Piercy

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionist was very friendly and very helpful

Reviewed by
m Heatley

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was a country mansion of high quality. It was in its own grounds and was very quiet at night.
We were welcomed very cordially and were impressed with the public rooms of the hotel. The room was a little small and some of the furnituir in it was old. But it was well equipped and good value at the reduced price. We had our evening meal in the bar and it was very good. Also the breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
H Meek

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely setting
Hallgarth Manor is in a fantastic country setting yet relatively close to the centre of Durham so ideal for a trip to Durham, and a lovely place to relax. The staff were friendly, the breakfast good, the room well furnished and everything you would expect. The only disappointment was that the room had quite a bad damp problem, with damp walls and ceiling in one corner, and damp air and musty smell. The bathroom was ok, but dated, and the stair carpet up to the floor my room was on was very worn. I gave feedback about the damp to reception staff; I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price for this room, if it had been in good order and better bathroom, the value for money for the stay would have been excellent. If you are prepared to have some luxury mixed in with areas of obvious need of updating then you will find a stay here ok!

Reviewed by
Linda H

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next