No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Pittington , Durham , DH6 1AB
Hallgarth Manor hotel is a traditional English Country House hotel with 23 bedrooms, situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham.This former 16th century residential estate,set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features.

The hotel is noted for the excellence of its food served in the Elemore restaurant. Also serving bar meals in the Cocktail Bar, which overlooks the gardens. A good selection of traditional ales are served in our Tavern Bar. Sunday lunch carvery served in our Cathedral Suite. Golfing days at a nearby Hotel can be arranged on request.

Free wireless Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

It is also one of Durhams most popular wedding venues
Picture of Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & Restarant, Durham  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of character and good food.
The hotel is old and interesting. Everything is good quality but old fashioned.
The food is good, with excellent choice and reasonably priced. We could eat in the restaurant or the bar, the same menu.
The location is in the country, if we had more time we could have enjoyed some country walks.There is a large garden and car park.

Reviewed by
Richard D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby room but great staff
Well for a cheap room £45 instead of £85 I got what I paid for - a shabby room with old furniture. Has it been full price it would have been a massive overcharge. But staff very friendly and welcoming and breakfast was freshly cooked and good quality food.
Public areas were smart and a good location and quite area.

Reviewed by
Jonathan E

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Staff were fantastic, the food was great.
We stayed with a 4 week old baby and despite initial reservations about the room, we were quickly moved to another with no fuss (we had the choice of three - all very pleasant). I cannot praise the staff enough, everyone was friendly and went the extra mile and for the money it really was fantastic value.
We stayed one night and would go back again, plus it was only ten minutes from Durham (where we were visiting). Special mention to Margaret who was on the front desk, if i had a hotel I would give her a job. Also worth mentioning is the lovely food and a generous breakfast - a great way to start the day.
For the money, very good; we would stay here again if in the area.

Reviewed by
T Harrison

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a 2 night stay staff where very helpful food was very good room was let down by there been no heating in the bathroom will stay again but will ask not to be put in room 11.

Reviewed by
RON M

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 1
This was our second stay at the hotel and it seved its purpose.The room was very clean.
The first time we stayed in room 9 and whilst the room was clean and tidy. When you used the shower you had to run around to catch what ever water escaped from the shower head. This time we were in room 1 which again was very clean and tidy and the shower was much better. However once the kitchen kicked in to action all you could hear was the extracter fans and the smell of food for most of the night and again once they started to prepare the breakfast. I would recoimend you stay clear of this room if you want a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Weston Super Mare, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hallgarth
Very poor place to stay, the marketing hype to the reality is different planet stuff.
Avoid, pay a bit extra and stay in a better Hotel

Reviewed by
Richard Harradine

From Darvel, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
The room was clean and well presented, unfortunatly the shower didn't work very well but we were able to have a shower of sorts. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The bar staff were late to arrive so the manager was happy to pull a point until they arrived.
The dining room staff were very pleasant and servioce was with a smile.
We were not rushed with the meal which was of excellent value.

Reviewed by
P Male

From Weston Super Mare, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellent

Reviewed by
Peter N

From Stafford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Place To Stay.
Everybody was very helpful.

Reviewed by
B Ireland

From Keighley, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Not quite as good as my first visit but still very good. They exchanged a noisy room for a quite and nicer one without any fuss

Reviewed by
dermot c

From Peterborough, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next