No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Cambridge

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bar Hill , Cambridge, CB23 8EU

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Golf 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Menzies Cambridge Hotel and Golf Course is located just 5 miles from the famous university city of Cambridge. The convenient setting of the hotel provides an ideal destination for both business and leisure guests. There is ample free parking plus a bus stop situated outside the hotel with a regular bus service into Cambridge and surrounding areas.
We offer a range of contemporary facilities, including 136 well equipped en-suite bedrooms, an award winning Brasserie Restaurant and the popular Gallery Bar, providing the perfect setting for relaxing and unwinding after a busy day.
Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished with new sumptuous super king size beds plus benefitting from a wealth of designer touches. The combination including stylish decoration and opulent throws affords our guests a truly luxurious and home away from home experience.
For private functions and meetings, the hotel has a range of 10 individually furnished and fully equipped air-conditioned suites. We offer free Wi-Fi internet access throughout the hotel
The indoor Waves Health and Leisure club offers guests the opportunity to tone up in the air-conditioned gym or simply wind down with a gentle swim, jacuzzi or sauna. Guests may also wish to take up the challenge of the superb 18 hole Championship Golf Course.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Cambridge, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menzies
V good hotel

Reviewed by
andrew s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crap stay
We arrived and the hotel had over booked so we had to wait an hour for a room. We were lied to and told essential maintenance was being done on our room. We were told it was "a special room" whereas it was what I had paid for but in the staff block. There was no mat in the bathroom and I slipped in the shower and badly hurt my knee. Breakfast was appalling, thick over cooked over salty bacon, under cooked sauté potatoes, hard eggs. I shan't bother again

Reviewed by
Philippa Newman

From Liss, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average.
My room was clean, but dark with no view and a small window. Room 104. No Aircon or so it seemed so hot. Bathroom was tiny and dated. The leisure centre was good and breakfast ok. I never ate there on an evening choosing to go out and about. There is nothing in Bar Hill, so St Ives and Cambridge were good detsinations. The price was expensive for what it was.

Reviewed by
C Rayner

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to locate, overall OK but the hotel is tired and in need of some care and attention
Next to a main road - so easy to find. Rooms were fine, but the bathroom was old, tired and in need of a deep clean. The restaurant had slightly damaged tables and marks on the walls both of which could be easily treated (use tablecloths and get a paintbrush) - little things, such as missing lightbulbs in the restaurant were indicative of a lack of care and attention to detail. The poor person on reception was doing her best but no-one came to help her despite a queue of 5 people - a sign of little staff initiative. Gent's changing rooms in the spa is overdue for refurbishment. Another small thing which indicates a lack of thinking - if a toilet in a public area is out of order, a sign saying 'out of order' isn't enough - add where people should go (they did add when I pointed it out - but it should not take a guest trying to find alternative facilities to ensure this).
So - overall, fine, but tired and the staff need to open their eyes to what is around them, then do something about it.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place but needs an update
The hotel itself was lovely, the staff could not be faulted. The restaurant could not be faulted! Fantastic food and great value for money. An 3 course evening meal for 2 with drinks for under £60. Breakfast was also great!!
The only downfall; the bathrooms and swimming area badly need updating! Not an ideal place to relax, reminded me of an old school swimming pool.

Reviewed by
Samantha P

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waste of momey
Very disappointed with the so called honeymoon suite just a room with bed in it and small tv bathroom disappointing small cramped for money complete waste of time vet very upsetting what I expected

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stop over
My daughter and I needed a base for the night and stopped over. The staff were very helpful and we ate in the restaurant which was reasonably priced. The food was perfectly fine, nothing outstanding, but enjoyable, hot and served by staff who were keen to ensure everything was ok.
The room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
S Care

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent rooms with exceptionally comfy bed!!

Reviewed by
D Studd

From Fakenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Average room: quite expensive for the quality. Unclean in areas

Reviewed by
CHARLOTTE L

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality bar food.
A bar meal arrived with the baked beans in their own pot dark, and dried. The waiter replaced them with an almost similar bowl, although it was possible to move them, they clung together with a dried sauce. It seems a shame that a hotel cannot present a tinned item correctly. We were going to stay two nights but decided one was enough.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next