No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Esplanade Lodge

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Esplanade, , , Whitley Bay, NE26 2AA
Welcome to The Esplanade Lodge Guest House. We are a small, friendly 3 Star Guest House situated in an ideal position in the heart of Whitley Bay. Everything is only a 2 minute walk away (Metro,SeaFront,Bars,Restaurants,Shops). We have a mixture of Single,Twin and Double Ensuite Rooms Our Large Double/Twin En-suite room on the Groundfloor is ideal for Families. Groups Welcome.
Picture of Esplanade Lodge, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay here again
The bed was clean and comfy, room was reasonable for the price paid but the shower was unusable. It wasn't sealed properly and was black and gungy. I had a wash as there was no way I was going to get in that cubicle. Breakfast was ok. But I would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
S Hardie

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for a night, nothing more
Communication on phone is none existent. Difficult to get in on arrival. Room was dusty and bedding seemed very old. Did not use shower because it looked in bad state. Noisy toilet and sink. Breakfast was good but everything was fried. Friendly staff once we checked in. Was bit embarrassed when paying with card because the machine was not working. Had to get cash. Parking is limited to 2 spaces but we did get one. Not coming back next time I do great north run!

Reviewed by
w harrison

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst B&B
This is the worst place we have ever stayed. Our room was shabby and tired. The door to the room was glass with just a piece of black fabric over the top half so that you could see people walking along the hallway and the light streamed through making it difficult to sleep. It also made it feel lacking in privacy. We had tried telephoning all day to let the hotel know we would be late arriving but could not get through on either the landline or mobile given. When we arrived there was a rather tatty notice on the door with a number to ring to check in, which I did. It was answered by a man who said 'I'd given up on you, suppose I'll have to put some clothes on and let you in' When we explained we had been trying to call his response was 'think she's changed her mobile number.
Our bathroom was dirty. The shower tray was mouldy and the whole room smelt of stale water. It has a saniflo thing behind the toilet which sounded like a jet engine when you flushed the toilet or ran a tap.
The bed was the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in and we both spent the weekend in severe pain with our backs. The bed linen and towels were not particular clean looking. In all it was a very disappointing stay and not worth the money they charged.

Reviewed by
lynne f

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

esplanade lodge
very unorganised running of the buisness, had to ring several phone numbers on arrival to let you in, room tired and shoddy, bathroom shower mouldy & smelt of damp. whitley bay needs a revamp.

Reviewed by
w whiteley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but would not stay there agen could do with some work doing around the place every thing was falling apart

Reviewed by
R Bonner

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly,good value for money,clean and nicely furnished...a good budget B&B.

Reviewed by
DAVID ESSER

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value short stay
Being the cheapest accommodation we could find in Whitley Bay for a weekend night's stay , we weren't sure what to expect! However, staff was friendly and helpful, and room was spacious and clean. Breakfast not bad either. Overall a good value and pleasant stay (we were out all day so just needed somewhere to crash at night)

Reviewed by
Rachel E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Nice clean room and hotel. Right near the beach in one direction and right near the town in the other direction. Definetlty good value for money.

Reviewed by
S Vaines

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was left waiting outside the property for just short of an hour with only a mobile number for contact & it took several calls b4 i got an answer.Once inside the room was big enough & heated well with all the mod cons

Reviewed by
A Carr

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap n cheerful
Served the purpose. Cheap, cheerful and would use again

Reviewed by
Nigel T

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next