You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Green Dragon by Marstons Inns

4

Cowgate,Welton Brough, Hull, HU15 1NB

Price From 80.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A SMITH

  • May 2016

Lovely traditional Inn with fantastic staff

The rooms are based around the Inn's courtyard in the old outbuildings.

Comfortable and clean with everything you could need. Bed was fantastic - would have taken it with me if I could have got it in the car. Staff really friendly and welcoming.

  • Keith Caley

  • May 2016

Excellent value and an enjoyable stay

Clean modern accommodation in a characterful Inn.

Peaceful rural setting, friendly efficient staff, good food and drink. Will definitely stay there again.

  • s ivison

  • February 2016

Great valentines stay

Just stayed here and loved it.

We had the four poster bedroom. We loved it. Staff were welcoming. Would of been quite in bar/restaurant if there had been no entertainment. Ryan from Hull who appeared on the voice was performing and this made our night. The only downside was there was no steak left for my husband and no mushrooms for breakfast. I am veggie so my food choices were very limited. Room for improvement for us would be the dining side. But we did love our stay.

  • Paul L

  • August 2015

Green Dragon -family friendly value

Room 4 provided sufficient space for 2 adults + children of 10 & 12, with a large double, a single & a single pull-out beds.

This roms is upstairs, above stables, with ensuite bath / shower. Children were happy with WiFi. Food was fine - evening meal & breakfast - both were served in the Iounge. Staff friendly & helpful

Thanks to all.

  • Andy P

  • July 2015

Great staff, awful food

I have stayed at the Green Dragon several times due to price and location to my Head Office, its in a great village location and is the only pub which may lead you to think they would capitalise on this.

The food I have to say is some of the worse I have tasted, I am maybe a little biased, as I am a Chef myself but the standard of execution of the food leads me to think they have no interest in repeat customers. Speaking with locals they steer away from the food and thinks its a bit of joke. examples of some of the food I have sampled

Fish Batter Burnt to within an inch of its life - returned to kitchen

Potato wedges burnt and made from overcooked previous unsold jacket potatoes -returned kitchen

Toasted Ciabatta which was nothing more than a cheap toasted white roll -returned to kitchen

Warm coleslaw, wilted, warm mayonnaise. not good returned to kitchen

Portion of chicken wings which totalled 4 small, very small chicken wings for £4.

Appreciate this is a pub chain but really the prices are far too expensive for what they deliver and

the Chefs if you can call them Chefs need to raise their game. Only upside are the wonderful staff, manager is polite and seemed to appreciate my complaints were valid and all food returned was replaced and even a free drink was given on one occasion, but the food was not taken off my bill. Having stayed there around 12 nights and only eaten in the restaurant 3 times I think that says it all.

Response from hotel

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time out to write a review.

We apologise for the bad experience you had whilst dining with us. We have taken all your comments into consideration and are looking into these.

Thank you.

  • John Lukjaniec

  • April 2015

Green Dragon Welton

Spacious family accommodation in converted barn.

Room too hot, bathroom dirty, broken mirror, bath panel broken, mould around bath, cracked floor tiles, dirt on fittings. Generally past its sell by date. Poor repair to base of door. One positive, pub is OK, good food.

  • N Clegg

  • April 2015

DONT BE AFRAID OF DRAGONS

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting relatives On arrival checking in was easy and the staff very pleasant and informative.

our room was just across the yard and was of a really nice standard. Bathroom modern and well equipped. Breakfast was large and tasty and the staff once again could not do enough. Looking forward to our next visit soon

  • G Lloyd

  • March 2015

great short stay

We were very impressed with the accommodation.

The staff were extremely friendly and our dog was made very welcome too. We will definitely return. Thank you

  • A Guest

  • March 2015

Business Stay

The room was freezing and this was identified as the radiator was leaking and the kettle was also broken.

The bin had not been emptied from the last occupants and the bathroom was showing its age - shower head was being blocked by hardness of the water.

  • Carol Buckley

  • March 2015

Why We Stay

We have used the Green Dragon on several occasions and always enjoy our stay.

Friendly staff and comfortable accommodation. Thankyou once again.