No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highlander Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15-16 The Esplanade, , , Scarborough, YO11 2AF
We are situated a short distance from the Spa entertainments and conference complex, and only a short walk down to the beach or over the Spa Bridge into the town centre. The Highlander offers a very high standard of accommodation and comfort. All rooms are en suite and are centrally heated with tea and coffee making facilities along with remote control TVs. Breakfast is served in our superb sea-view dining room. You can also enjoy a delicious home cooked meal served in the bar each day, or spend a relaxing time, taking in the sun on our front patio overlooking the sea. The hotel bar is a popular meeting place for holiday makers, conference delegates and locals alike. The Highlander's Bar has a comprehensive choice of over 25 blended and malt whiskies on sale. We sincerely believe that the Highlander's welcoming Scottish theme blends perfectly with traditional Yorkshire hospitality to provide the ideal venue for a relaxing holiday.
Picture of The Highlander Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and comfortale
A very short but sweet stay.I particularly liked the idea of staying in a pub and the beer wasn't disappointing. I have stayed in many worse hotels for twice the price and would happily book again.

Reviewed by
trevor h

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, highly recommended
The hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, you step right out of the hotel onto the Esplanade and then it's five minutes walk either to town or the seafront. The room was spacious and had everything you would expect. At the risk of nitpicking the shower was a little cramped but I am quite a big man. Breakfast was a little basic but tasty and served promptly with a smile! All in all I would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for the money, friendly staff, good food, clean rooms with good decor

Reviewed by
B Edge

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Fantastic
Can't wait to go back. Couldn't find any faults, the room was amazing and the food was delicious.

Reviewed by
A SIMM

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Highlander
A great location if you are visiting the Spa centre - but buy a lift pass. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are excellent. Our room was right at the top - there is a lift, otherwise it is about 65 stairs. It was huge with a couple of single beds as well as the expected double in addition to the armchairs. Food at breakfast was freshly cooked and very good whilst the bar meals were proper filling food and very good value. There is also a range of excellent beers to sample and if you are a whiskey enthusiast it must be close to heaven. The only slight worry is that the emergency fire exit was accessed through the bedroom, but on the other hand we would have been first out! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Jeff Hoyle

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Accommodation
I stayed for two nights with a friend whist attending the Scarborough Jazz Festival. We received a very friendly welcome. I had booked a room with a sea view, and the room we occupied was very spacious, newly decorated, clean and comfortable with a large and well equipped bathroom and a balcony with table & chairs. We received an excellent well cooked breakfast in pleasant surroundings, again with friendly and attentive service.
I would certainly stay there again and thought it very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely stay
A lovely hotel with pleasant staff. Room was massive, clean and airy.

Reviewed by
suzanne g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I like this hotel
Ok it's a bit olds worldly but the management and staff are friendly the are accommodating the beds are comfortable and the price is fantastic
If you can book in I suggest you do so with a smile

Reviewed by
Nick Pattinson

From Reino Unido
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I like this hotel
Ok it's a bit olds worldly but the management and staff are friendly the are accommodating the beds are comfortable and the price is fantastic
If you can book in I suggest you do so with a smile

Reviewed by
Nick Pattinson

From Reino Unido
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.