No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Middlesbrough

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marton Road, Middlesbrough, TS4 2PA
Whatever the occasion or reason for your visit to this wonderful part of Britain, BEST WESTERN Middlesbrough will put you at the heart of the action, or the peace and quiet. Teeside is a wonderful place to spend your free time, with the famous Transporter Bridge, Captain Cooks birthplace and Roseberry Topping all within ten miles of this attractive accommodation. Our 29 rooms range from standard single, double and twins to the larger family rooms with additional beds and recently refurbished executive bedrooms. And in keeping with the easy access youll enjoy outside, free Wi-Fi is also provided in all of the bedrooms and public areas! Hungry Hose Eating Experience Serving Food throughout the day until 10:00 p.m. Private dining is also available in the Highfield Room which is perfect for parties, meetings or business events. Coast and countryside await.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel with great access to the University
We chose this hotel due to it's apparant proximity to the University where my son was attending the open day. It was perfect for this, approximately a 20 minute walk. The room was perfectly clean and provided everything we needed. My only criticism would be that the room we were in (room 7) was very dark with the smallest window I have ever seen. The outlook was a brick wall and some gas cannisters! If views are not an issue, then there is no problem. In addition, whilst I am aware it is beyond the hotel's control, we had some very noisy neighbours banging around at midnight - maybe carpet as opposed to wooden floors would help absorb some of the noise. The hotel is part of a Hungry Horse pub which, as I was travelling with my teenage son, was perfect. Lots of choice and good value food. The location of the hotel is really easy to find (I read the reviews about difficulty with sat nav but used the internet directions instead). Not being familiar with the area, I was a bit concerned about having to travel on lots of roads within Middlesbrough centre which I am not familiar with but it was literally five minutes off the motorway. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely use it again if my son does attend the university

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freindly staff, comfortable rooms
Reception staff very welcoming, showed us to our rooms and explained everything. Comfortable rooms, everything you needed in there, plenty of tea, coffee etc. Hungry Horse restaurant downstairs which was useful as saved having to drive anywhere to eat. Good meal and great price. Again very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Robinson

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place and very friendly staff. Good food, but no Italian restaurant on site as advertised. Really enjoyed our stay there.

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected
We arrived early at the big pub/restaurant/hotel and was met by a lovely girl who allowed us in our room at 1pm. There was loads of little unexpected extras in the room which was a pleasant surprise.
The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was great with a wide variety to choose from.
The satnav took us behind the hotel, but that was no problem what-so-ever as the hotel was very easy to find.
We also had dinner here after the match (went there to watch Blackpool play Boro) and that was really good value too.
Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Bri Clark

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was really nice
Nice clean room enjoyed my stay staff very friendly x

Reviewed by
S Akhtar

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
We were pleasantly surprised to be shown into a spacious room with a four poster bed (which didnt squeak). Well decorated, furnished, equipped (plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits etc) and most importantly clean. It was a little bit noisy when we arrived back to our room from being at a wedding reception nearby, but it was a Saturday night and the bar was directly beneath us, but come closing time it soon quietened down. We didnt have time to sample the breakfast the next morning, but it was busy and smelled great. Very attentative and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for one night
the hotels was difficult to hind being located above a Hungry Horse Restaurant. My Say Nav took me to the housing estate behind i then had to navigate to the hotel. The service was really friendly being taken to my room. It's an old building so unlike typical Premier Inns etc...... While the bed was clean the floor seemed dirty , not helped with old carpet. I had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. It was fairly priced and cheap. WiFi was also free which is an added benefit.

Reviewed by
C Austin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
Excellent customer-focused employee on reception when we arrived (approx 1715 hours). Quick to deal with a problem.
Breakfast waiter also friendly and attentive.
I would recommend this hotel as a good value place to stay, close to the town centre.

Reviewed by
GERALDINE S

From SOUTH BENFLEET, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heatwave this weekend and radiator in room 101 bathroom did not turn off. Some hooks on post bed were curtain hooks and were sharp to the skin when passing.

Reviewed by
Terry Pearce

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff: Very friendly and helpful.
Room: Tiny and crowded but adequate. Not overscruplulously clean - dropped a black shirt on the floor behind the chair and it came up furry with dust.
Lovely powerful shower but not height-adjustable.
Food: Standard budget hotel fare. Not spectacular but pleasant and enjoyable.
Overall: Perfectly adequate. Perhaps not as good as average PremierInn but better (though dearer) than Travelodge

Reviewed by
Kevin J

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next