Reviews - BEST WESTERN Middlesbrough


Marton Road, Middlesbrough, TS4 2PA

Price From 146.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • PAUL H

  • September 2014

only one problem

The cold water ran warm water .

Was unable to have a drink. Either sort the problem or have a small fridge with water in it .

  • George S

  • August 2014

Difficult to find, Good to stay.

GPS took us to a road that later we found was at the back of the hotel carpark wall with no signs to indicate we were there.

Best Western sign on Marton Rd is small. Hotel is called Highfields and has large signs for Hungry Horse eatery but small logos indicating Best Western, easy to miss when passing in heavy traffic. Had to visit a Thistle Hotel where reception kindly printed us a map to find the place from there. Passed all these comments on to the Highfields (Best Western) manager who said he'd check into these findings. Either Best Western or Later Rooms should add the name Highfields to the Late Rooms web listing. Hotel stay, once we found it after 3hrs, was excellent.

  • A Walker

  • August 2014

A bit dated but clean.

Was up on second floor and had rumbling ventilation units out side my window.

  • Joanna D

  • August 2014

Excellent room almost a suite

Beautiful room hugh very comfortable bed.

Clean bathroom with very good shower. Excellent value for money. Breakfast was good.

  • K Hill

  • August 2014

Good customer service

Receptionist was very accommodating in finding me a room that suited our needs.

Breakfast was very good and all staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • n Ferguson

  • August 2014

Lovely relaxed overnight stay .old building but comfortable bed and very friendly staff especially at breakfast.

Food bit mediocre for breakfast but good galue for money overall would definitely stay again

  • George A

  • July 2014

Cheap and cheerful

Last time we stayed here approx 3 years ago ,the hotel had an italian resteraunt and seemed somewhat more upmarket than this time.

I understand that the hotel which is now a cheap meal deal venue has to move with the times but we were slightly put off by the customers sat outside mostly drunk and with dozens of children running wild . That,said its a cheap place to stay and good value for money. Staff very nice . Yes we probably would stay here again when in the area.

  • John T

  • July 2014

Good base for the 'Boro

Nice and simple but v clean and great welcome from guys who work on reception.

  • j simmons

  • June 2014

the highfield

First class

  • D Rae

  • June 2014

Terrible Hotel

Did not enjoy my stay at this hotel as it was very dated, and i don't believe it was recently refurbished.

The curtain pole was held up with tape along with the shower rail. Bathroom tiles were dirty. The wall lamps were very unsafe as they were hanging off the wall. I especially didn't like the fact that there was DAMP on all of the walls and ceiling. Hardly any staff on at breakfast time and the staff weren't very helpful. I will not be staying in this hotel again and I certainly don't think that it deserves 3*.