No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kirkcroft Guest House

3Visit Scotland Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Gretna Green, Gretna Green, DG16 5DU
Situated in the heart of Gretna Green, 3 minutes walk from the railway station and across the road from Gretna Hall and 4 minutes walk from The World Famous Blacksmith Shop, Kirkcroft Guest House is a detached house built in 1836 and was once used as the Post Office for Gretna Green and is now a comfortable and friendly Bed and Breakfast. Gretna Green is well placed for touring. It offers the Lake District to the South with all its attractions, to the west is the lovely Galloway coast travelling towards Stranraer with its Palm trees thanks to the Gulf Stream. Also to the West is the historic town of Dumfries with its links with Rabbie Burns. If these do not appeal there is the Scottish Borders with the town Hawick, home of the cashmere and knitwear industry. To the East is Kielder Water and forest, the largest man made lake and forest in Western Europe.We also have Golf courses in Gretna, Annan or Carlisle. Fishing on the Esk or Annan rivers. Shopping at the Gretna Gateway, Carlisle or Dumfries.
Picture of Kirkcroft Guest House, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice

Reviewed by
R Harper

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome followed by excellent service all round. I would definitely go again.

Reviewed by
Di Martin

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gretna
Very comfortable B&B, Ideal location to visit Northern lake district and south west Scotland.

Reviewed by
M Stevens

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great attention to detail
This bed and breakfast is well appointed in Gretna green and the room has everything you need and more.
Breakfast was good, with a better than average choice for us vegetarians, with quern bacon and sausages on offer.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jackie B

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Choice
We made a rather late decision to stay at The Kirkcroft when our plans changed, and what a good choice it was. From our arrival, where we were met at the door and shown to our room, to our departure 2 nights later, everything was exemplary.
The room was vast, and the bed was extraordinarily comfortable. All the usual tv, tea & coffee, biscuits etc were present.
The breakfasts were so much more than adequate. All sorts of cereal and fruit juice, and toast to occupy yourself until the Scottish breakfast appeared. A choice was offered and we were invited to choose any or all of the items.
All in all a brilliant, and so relaxing place to stay.

Reviewed by
chris w

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just right
excellent position if your attending a wedding ,just up the road ,friendly greeting and we only had to ask if we wanted anything ,good choice at breakfast cooked in a friendly enviroment with the owners on hand .very clean and cosy rooms with really comfy beds , well worth its 3star rating

Reviewed by
e turier

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be returning
Robert and Elaine are brilliant hosts,and make your stay with them most pleasant. In fact, I can say without reservation, the best place I have stayed at.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stop-over
Clean and comfortable room but decor a little dated. Very comfy bed and large bathroom. Full Scottish breakfast excellent quality. Would use again to break journey from Scotland to England.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home From Home
We stayed at Kirkcroft Guest House for 3 nights for our wedding. Elaine & Robert were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely clean and comfortable like home from home. Good choice and selection for breakfast. Would recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
C Wilkinson

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxurious room on ground floor was much appreciated.
Super breakfast too.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next