No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Inn by Good Night Inns

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Doncaster Road , Scunthorpe, DN15 7DE
Located in the heart of Scunthorpe city centre, this attractive 1930’s hotel is just minutes away from the town’s shops, train station, amenities and attractions, yet less than 2 miles from the M180 motorway.

Centrally located and with an excellent and well equipped function room catering for up to 250, The Royal Hotel is a perfect base for doing business in South Humberside or planning a last minute short break. With free parking and easy motorway access, the hotel is ideal for meetings and away days too.
The hotel has 28 en-suite bedrooms including twin and family rooms, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking, a great value pub restaurant on site and a large function room is available.

Just half a mile from the Baths Hall entertainment venue, and with easy access to the lovely Normanby Hall Country Park and historic Gainsborough, the hotel is conveniently located 2 miles from the M180 via the M181 and Doncaster Road.
Picture of Royal Inn by Good Night Inns, Scunthorpe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and basic
Room only cheaper if booked on line. The room was clean and comfortable .

Reviewed by
Jane N

From Feltham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Value for money
Didn't feel safe, rooms had a old smoke odour. For the price you don't even get a bar of soap in the bathroom. The bath tub was dirty and water blocked up in the bath...ao literally felt you was standing in a bathtub of water rather than having a shower. Not impressed to say the least..would never book again

Reviewed by
Arjinder B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would not stay in this hotel again. Wall light out off wall, bathroom dirty, hairs, limescale....
Wall light in the bedroom was out of the wall, could see electric wires, there have been hairs in the cups, bathroom was grimy, limescale on the taps (layers), sink blocked, tap for cold water in the bath didn't work, cobwebs, wall paper peeling of the walls and hairs around the toilet on the wall all over the tiles.

Reviewed by
Arash O

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this place despite the bad reviews i read and don't understand how they got them. The rooms where clean and tidy, the staff pleasant and helpful and the food was decent enough pub grub. Even booked it again for the next week when I went back.

Reviewed by
m scaysbrook

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Recommended
No lift. room kettle was not working. Room ventilation was poor and suffocating. No room telephone- difficult to contact reception.

Reviewed by
S Ghosh

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not up to the mark
Stayed overnight at this hotel. stayed in room 30. Was informed that the cold water in bath wasn't working. When I tried to have a shower I could only get cold water. the plug in the sink didn't work either. so couldn't even have a proper wash /shave. We stayed there so I could meet my sister and after having a great meeting and a lovely night, On leaving the hotel my79 year old sister fell on her face and was taken to hospital badly injured. This was caused by the hotel Not Having the outside lights on so the step was not visible. She was taken to hospital and was kept in for 2 days. Every one was shocked, however the people at the hotel appeared to show no concern. Shocking. Will never stay there again.

Reviewed by
w mcdonald

From Dalton in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pure filth
Except for the clean beds, entire room could only be described as filthy. Carpet hadn't seen a hoover in ages, cobwebs all over ceiling corners, greasy surfaces, dirt stained bathroom walls, all the tabs full of thick scales, mirror full of spots and wipes, hardly any waterflow out the shower and either boiling hot or ice cold, toilet dirty. No curtain to frontwindow, due to bar and parties downstairs the noise level in the rooms is unbearable. Entrance, reception and hallwall to rooms upstairs are also in a poor and none clean state.

Reviewed by
N Slooten

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant good value friendly staff.
I was in the Scunthorpe area for business and needed to find a decent overnight stay.. I sourced this from laterooms and you get what it says on the tin. Pleasant enough pub beneath the hotel and breakfast was fine.

Reviewed by
David King

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain Stay
We paid a bargain price for this hotel and were very pleased with what we got for our money. Although the room was a bit basic it was comfortable and clean. The food was fresh and tasty, particularly the cooked breakfasts, the chef definitely knows how to fry an egg!
We were made to feel very welcome and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Janet S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

every think ok tidy ,quiet good location for baths hall ,food in bar very good ,only 2 things wrong cups in room for tea was not clean still got tea stains down side and breakfast was swimming in fat and no fresh hot tea only a flask with luke warm water to makle your own tea .

Reviewed by
a ives

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next