Reviews - Carlton Hotel

2

82-86 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2AP

Price From 85.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (28)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ehab A

  • June 2014

Friendly staff and a clean place, I enjoyed it

  • ALISON C

  • June 2014

Dated and basic but friendly - beware, is a busy bar too so don't expect a quiet stay!

The front of the hotel looked great - much of it appears to be run as a bar/club and looks updated.

Our room however, was straight out of the 80s. Stained carpets and headboards and a bathroom that needed a seriously good scrub. We had purposefully asked for a ground for room as my mum isn't good on stairs, but were disappointed to discover that our room was next to the gents toilets for the bar. Constant shouting and door banging until gone midnight. Would have been really angry is I had my kids with me. Staff were very friendly & helpful & continental breakfast was lovely, but this is not a family friendly hotel. Go if you fancy a good drink!. :)

  • Ross M

  • May 2014

The team there are great, I arrived early for check in and they accomodated me with no issue - putting me in a 3 bedded room compared to my paid single.

Food was grand and facilities good. Location great. Cannot complain and will stay again. Thanks

  • D Rooney

  • May 2014

Great stay

Came for my birthday night out in Newcastle.

Staff very welcoming, rooms just what we needed, great bar, cheap drinks.

  • Lee B

  • May 2014

Would stay again

First time staying in Newcastle and this is the hotel we will be looking to book should we come again.

It's on a busy road that is catered towards students and partying so for people like me it is the right spot. My only downfall would be parking but that isn't through fault of the hotel, in fact they manage their spaces well for the space they do have.

  • Aidan D

  • May 2014

Lovely staff but the shower was unbelievably rubbish.

All I wanted was a budget one night stay with a bed and a decent shower.

It was budget in every way and I would have been better showering with a cup of water. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Louise H

  • April 2014

carlton hotel

We enjoyed our stay here.clean,cosey,and comfortable.staff friendly and welcoming.food good.

  • Dominic Blythe

  • March 2014

You get what you pay for and plain and simply I paid £34 and didn't get value for money.

Service was brilliant, I called the hotel and told them there was no spaces so hey squeezed me in.

Friendly staff and very accommodating. Reception was well presented and thought I'd scored with the price. When I entered the room it smelt of damp, there was damp on the walls and on first impressions it didn't carry well. I ate out at Scalini's which was excellent. On return the smell as still noticeable even with the window being left open. The walls were thin and the floor boards squeeked. I wasn't too confident with the door locking mechanism being very secure so I used the chain which didn't fill me with confidence that the lock would work. The bathroom was nicely presented but with the floor tiles being loose and it being a tight fit it was difficult to Maneuver. The bed was a single bed which was fine but there was like electrical sockets on the wall. I stayed here as my girl was at the freeman hospital and it was last minute.

  • James S

  • March 2014

Good stay

Nice friendly place ideally located in jesmond close to the city centre

  • Chris B

  • January 2014

Worn, but good value

The hotel's a bit frayed around the edges, though my bathroom was very newly-fitted.

But it's good value for a room only a mile from the City.