No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Central Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
144 - 146 Heywood Street , Manchester, M8 0PD
The New Central Guest House is a family run owned bed & breakfast conveniently located just a mile & half outside Manchester city centre, but close enough for you to be able to step back into inner Manchester and other locations within minutes and with ease. The hotel is set in an area with good transport links. It is only nine miles from the airport, one mile from the MEN evening News Arena, two & half miles from City of Manchester Stadium, three miles from Manchester Piccadilly and one mile from Manchester Victoria station. Three quarter of a mile from the North Manchester Wholesale area. Also, the Bed & Breakfast is about a quater of a mile from Manchester Fort retail centre with most high street shops.
Picture of New Central Guest House, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple, convenient, comfortable
Like the title says.
Landlady was lovely and very helpful.
Ask for the gate key if you want to lock your car behind the gate.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. Also, when next you are in Manchester, we look forward to seeing you again. Once again, thank you for your custom.

Reviewed by
Bruce N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame I couldn't say longer
Nice atmosphere, though the room was a bit small. One thing that should be noted is that the address is sometimes listed as 26-29 brideoak street, which is incorrect.

Reviewed by
T Blankenship

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for money.
When I booked this Guest House, I was a bit dubious after reading other Tripadvisor comments. However, I was most pleased with my choice, as the accommodation was very clean and homely.
The owner was very friendly, she couldn't do enough for us. The bedroom was clean, and the sheets and towels were lovely and white. I have stayed at famous named hotels, and this house exceeds them. I will stop again next time we go to Manchester.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. Moreover, please to know that you have both enjoyed your stay with us! When next you are in Manchester, we look forward to welcoming you back. Once again, thank you for your custom.

Reviewed by
Lynda Wise

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful, friendly hotel - very convenient location
This is a delightful, well run hotel with friendly staff in a quiet area well served by bus. Very convenient for Manchester centre, the Arena, restaurants and shops. Very welcoming.

Reviewed by
G Spencer

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bill 16/10/13
After staying 4 nights at this guest house i was very pleased with the food and the general cleanlyness of the whole place the owner was polite and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Bill P

From sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great budget Hotel
stayed here for 1 night, no problem at all, good location for MEN and Manchester City Center, room is what you would expect, we stayed in a triple with 1 x double and 1 x single, plenty of room and bathroom was good size with nice shower. Owner was very welcoming, would stay again if I was to return to Manchester

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and most importantly, your time. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
DEAN H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Basis Accommodation
The welcome was warming and the room was basis but clean and adequate. The breakfast was served a little to late for me. We had to get an early train back and so could not take advantage of a cooked meal. The owner did offer to leave some croissants for me but it did not seem worth it.
I know it was of a weekend and they do serve breakfast earlier on a week day. Just would have been nice to have had something before a long train journey home.

ManagementResponse

Sorry you missed your breakfast! Thank you for taking time to review us. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
Barry C

From Ilford, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not sure quite what to say; it was overall pretty good. This was my first attempt at organising any such excursion, but it appears that I picked a good location with staff friendly and accommodating enough to fully compensate for my newbishness.
I suppose if I was to note a flaw it would probably be that the shower didn't function as well as it might, but it did not prove to be too much of a bother.
So yeah; positive experience.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking time to write the review. Sorry to hear about your shower, next time, please bring it to our attention! Hope your journey back home was pleasant? Once again thank you for your custom.

Reviewed by
I McGill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
The staff were welcoming and could not do enough to help. The accommodation was in need of a little updating but the room was clean tidy and warm. The breakfast was ok and I would stay again.

ManagementResponse

Thank for your review and look forward to seeing you again in Manchester.

Reviewed by
ALAN HANSON

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent place to stay without costing too much
Location and guest house quiet which was what I was wanting as it was for a business stay
Yet close enough to local transport to go and visit Manchester the night before and look around

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you again. Once again, thank you for your custom.

Reviewed by
Vivien Blackford

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next