No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5EA
The new, exciting Smiths at Gretna Green embraces both tradition and modern day comfort with inspirational design set against a historical backdrop. Guests can enjoy a blend of professional, relaxed hospitality along with first class facilities.

Smiths at Gretna Green is the most hip and contemporary hotel for miles with luxurious bedrooms that have been designed to offer guests not just a bedroom but a spacious living environment complete with modern facilities such as flatscreen TVs, DVD players and broadband internet access. For the ultimate in luxury you may want to opt for one of the stunning Suites or the Penthouse Apartment.

Gretna Green is just 10 minutes north of Carlisle. Located right next to the World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop, you too can become part of an unbroken thread of romantic history spanning over 250 years.

Explore the surrounding area and local attractions or relax and be pampered from head to toe in the Hair, Beauty and Relaxation areas and 'Chill-Out Zone'. Spend your evening in the cosmopolitan bar for a pre-dinner drink before enjoying the delicious cuisine in the relaxed brasserie restaurant. A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful room
We booked the rose suite which was fantastic, huge and with a balcony, dining area, lounge, and bedroom. Couldn't ask for more in a room. Hotel was lovely. Food was overpriced for what it was, but was nice all the same.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

successful stay
A great hotel, well run with great food in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Parker

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Spotless & luxurioius with helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Tricia B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a little tweaking would make it perfect
My husband and I stayed for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis. Our room was on the first floor, quite spacious and with a very comfy bed. However, a couple of glass tumblers and a bottle of complimentary water would have been a nice addition. On our first night we experienced a lot of noise from the floor area above us. Quite a lot of banging and footsteps. Possibly because it had a wooden floor as we could also hear hoovering the next morning. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the Bar restaurant on our first night. The food was excellent, very good quality and plentiful. The only niggle that evening was the constant banging of the kitchen door on a busy service, quite intrusive at times, it could be heard above conversation and background music. I did mention it at Reception in the hope it could be improved by a simple adjustment. The Bar and Dining staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our breakfasts on both days were also faultless. We did feel that some of the reception staff could be a little friendlier, but they were all efficient.

Reviewed by
ellie smith

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smiths at gretna
clean and spacious rooms, good food and friendly staff

Reviewed by
c noble

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our wedding day
Amazing hotel, amazing staff and perfect wedding venue. We got married here 8th November 2014. From the moment we booked it nothing was too much trouble. We hired a private dining room for our 25 guests and the meals were superb and high quality. I would like to thank Vicky the wedding co-ordinator for all her help prior to us arriving and all the staff for their help/service during our stay. We are so glad we had our wedding reception here and I would recommend to anyone who is having their wedding in Gretna Green.

Reviewed by
M Tipper

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smiths at gretna great place very central well organised staff very helpfull
we spent two nights and days the food was great the rooms were clean and well mentained the staff polite and helpfull no complaints had a great wedding organised by smiths for 60 guests well set out and well organised will recomend them to anyone.
C,F,CORMACK.

Reviewed by
charles cormack

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scottish Haven
Hotel was warm, inviting, clean and is set in stunning surroundings, we went for my brothers wedding, which was made perfect by the team at smiths... Definitely worth a stay at the smiths...

Reviewed by
D Nicholson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Accommodation
A lovely room. Booked last minute and were not disappointed. Had one of the cottages and wished we could have stayed more than 1 night. Will definitely try and stay again. Food was also very good had the breakfast and evening meal in the bar area.

Reviewed by
K Brown

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, great cocktails and a comfy bed.
Short unexpected stop due to a Heysham ferry cancellation. I was very pleased with the standard of the hotel. The service was very good and the cocktails went down a treat. Great value for money and we will defiantly be back.
My only criticism that the bath had a small chip in it but this is only a very minor point.

Reviewed by
J Cooper

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next