No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5EA
Gretna Green is just 10 minutes north of Carlisle. Located right next to the World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop, you too can become part of an unbroken thread of romantic history spanning over 250 years. The new, exciting Smiths at Gretna Green embraces both tradition and modern day comfort with inspirational design set against a historical backdrop. Guests can enjoy a blend of professional, relaxed hospitality along with first class facilities.Smiths at Gretna Green is the most hip and contemporary hotel for miles with luxurious bedrooms that have been designed to offer guests not just a bedroom but a spacious living environment complete with modern facilities such as flatscreen TVs, DVD players and broadband internet access. For the ultimate in luxury you may want to opt for one of the stunning Suites or the Penthouse Apartment.Explore the surrounding area and local attractions or relax and be pampered from head to toe in the Hair, Beauty and Relaxation areas and 'Chill-Out Zone'. Spend your evening in the cosmopolitan bar for a pre-dinner drink before enjoying the delicious cuisine in the relaxed brasserie restaurant. A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay but restaurant needs to change
Great stay, like the quality and handiness of the hotel but they need to really think about their restaurant.
1- I do not want to eat in the dark
2- I do not want to eat my breakfast in the dark
3- Switch the plate warmer on, nothingf worse than hot food on cold plates

Reviewed by
Robert E

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel
From walking into the lobby to leaving the hotel, the total time spent in the hotel was first class

Reviewed by
D Hollington

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
Stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was excellent. Room was fantastic and very clean. Only slight downside to room was there was no fridge but that would have been a luxury.

Reviewed by
A Murray

From Inverness, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Stay
We chose this hotel because we were visiting Gretna to get married, so we wanted somewhere to stay that was special and we weren't disappointed. Room quality was excellent. Breakfast was included in our stay, that was excellent too with a wide variety to choose from. We paid for a private alcove to have a meal after the nuptials which was definitely the right choice the meal was fab, although a little pricey, but worth it.

Reviewed by
V Bendle

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
What a lovely hotel, having stopped in Gretna many times to break up a journey it was a really pleasant surprise to stay in this hotel

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay for wedding!
My husband and I stayed here in the double deluxe room when we got married down the road at the Mill Forge. The room was clean and spacious, bed was really comfy, shower was hot and powerful.
My only criticism of the room is that there were not enough tea, coffee and especially milk. The staff were all polite and friendly. We dined in the restaurant on our last night and the food was fantastic and staff very attentive and friendly. All in all it was a great stay :-)

Reviewed by
L Saundry

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff amazingly friendly and cleanliness of room excellent. but hotel very noisy due to plethora of weddings; not a good place for a singly traveller who is needing to work. Restaurant food overpriced and rather tasteless.

Reviewed by
anne t

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One bedrm Bensmoor Suite
Fantastic accomodation and couldn't fault the room at all. High quality furnishings and the kitchinette came in very useful making snacks as we were travelling with our 8 year old. This was our second stay this year...and we have already booked our third break next month!!!

Reviewed by
J Pearce

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of room
This was our third time we have stayed at the smiths hotel and the Quality of room was not as good as last time,hope they are not letting standard drop?

Reviewed by
k marsh

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smiths at Gretna
Fantastic deal for fabulous accommodation good location friendly staff an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
J Barker

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next