No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5EA
Gretna Green is just 10 minutes north of Carlisle. Located right next to the World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop, you too can become part of an unbroken thread of romantic history spanning over 250 years. The new, exciting Smiths at Gretna Green embraces both tradition and modern day comfort with inspirational design set against a historical backdrop. Guests can enjoy a blend of professional, relaxed hospitality along with first class facilities.Smiths at Gretna Green is the most hip and contemporary hotel for miles with luxurious bedrooms that have been designed to offer guests not just a bedroom but a spacious living environment complete with modern facilities such as flatscreen TVs, DVD players and broadband internet access. For the ultimate in luxury you may want to opt for one of the stunning Suites or the Penthouse Apartment.Explore the surrounding area and local attractions or relax and be pampered from head to toe in the Hair, Beauty and Relaxation areas and 'Chill-Out Zone'. Spend your evening in the cosmopolitan bar for a pre-dinner drink before enjoying the delicious cuisine in the relaxed brasserie restaurant. A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our wedding day
Amazing hotel, amazing staff and perfect wedding venue. We got married here 8th November 2014. From the moment we booked it nothing was too much trouble. We hired a private dining room for our 25 guests and the meals were superb and high quality. I would like to thank Vicky the wedding co-ordinator for all her help prior to us arriving and all the staff for their help/service during our stay. We are so glad we had our wedding reception here and I would recommend to anyone who is having their wedding in Gretna Green.

Reviewed by
M Tipper

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smiths at gretna great place very central well organised staff very helpfull
we spent two nights and days the food was great the rooms were clean and well mentained the staff polite and helpfull no complaints had a great wedding organised by smiths for 60 guests well set out and well organised will recomend them to anyone.
C,F,CORMACK.

Reviewed by
charles cormack

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scottish Haven
Hotel was warm, inviting, clean and is set in stunning surroundings, we went for my brothers wedding, which was made perfect by the team at smiths... Definitely worth a stay at the smiths...

Reviewed by
D Nicholson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Accommodation
A lovely room. Booked last minute and were not disappointed. Had one of the cottages and wished we could have stayed more than 1 night. Will definitely try and stay again. Food was also very good had the breakfast and evening meal in the bar area.

Reviewed by
K Brown

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, great cocktails and a comfy bed.
Short unexpected stop due to a Heysham ferry cancellation. I was very pleased with the standard of the hotel. The service was very good and the cocktails went down a treat. Great value for money and we will defiantly be back.
My only criticism that the bath had a small chip in it but this is only a very minor point.

Reviewed by
J Cooper

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guest at a wedding
When I received confirmation of my booking I realised check in was at 3pm I was a guest at a wedding leaving at 2.30pm and having to travel approximately 2 hours to get there I did not want to travel in my formal clothes. I emailed the hotel via late romps asking if there were any facilities they could offer me to get changed. I did not receive a reply. The following day I rang the hotel to ask them in person. I had to explain to three people before I could get any answers. I was told in a very curt manner I could use the toilet or I should have booked two nights to avoid this. I did not find this very helpful at all. When I did arrive on the day of the wedding there appeared to be no problem with an early check in. So my advise to the hotel is to make every effort possible to accommodate such a request in future!!

Reviewed by
julie m

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed bag!
Stayed for two nights to attend a family wedding. We were met by efficient, but not overly friendly reception staff. The hotel is (in places) starting to look tired. The bedroom was clean, bright, spacious and well equipped. The bathroom whilst clean, had a number of chunks out of the tiles and some tiles had slipped. These need repairing or replacing. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, if a little pricey. The service was fast, efficient and friendly. The food was imaginative and very well presented. There is a different menu for the bar/lounge dining which is good value. The cooked breakfast was however disappointing. I know its difficult with self service hot food, but scrambled eggs were overcooked on both days, anaemic sausages were in abundance. I'm sure they could do a lot better. I've stayed at larger well known hotel chains who get breakfasts spot on and much cheaper. That said, the main reason for staying at Smiths was to attend a family wedding. On this count, the hotel were on the top of their game. The food was excellent matched by the service and happy and helpful staff. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Reviewed by
Gordon W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed nights stay
Table and work surfaces in room looked dirty with water marks. Breakfast was disaster with dirty cutlery and plates. There was not a single clean glass for orange juice, the scrambled eggs tasted of dishwasher detergent.

Reviewed by
Steven F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely start to our long weekend break
We have stayed here before at Smiths and commented that we would like to return, as it is a lovely hotel, the staff are very friendly, but we were in for a surprise as this trip was even nicer than our other trip as we were upgraded, this has never happened to us and we were over the moon we just thought it would just be a superior room, when we were told they were giving us one of the Benmore cottages, life just got better, they are beautiful, we wish we could have stayed there all weekend, all in all a perfect start to our break away in Scotland.

Reviewed by
Linda Dobek

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel!!
Though we only stayed for one night, we were very impressed with the room, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, and the food was really excellent!!
We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the hotel very highly. Mac,Sheffield

Reviewed by
Mac B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next