No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5EA
Gretna Green is just 10 minutes north of Carlisle. Located right next to the World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop, you too can become part of an unbroken thread of romantic history spanning over 250 years. The new, exciting Smiths at Gretna Green embraces both tradition and modern day comfort with inspirational design set against a historical backdrop. Guests can enjoy a blend of professional, relaxed hospitality along with first class facilities.Smiths at Gretna Green is the most hip and contemporary hotel for miles with luxurious bedrooms that have been designed to offer guests not just a bedroom but a spacious living environment complete with modern facilities such as flatscreen TVs, DVD players and broadband internet access. For the ultimate in luxury you may want to opt for one of the stunning Suites or the Penthouse Apartment.Explore the surrounding area and local attractions or relax and be pampered from head to toe in the Hair, Beauty and Relaxation areas and 'Chill-Out Zone'. Spend your evening in the cosmopolitan bar for a pre-dinner drink before enjoying the delicious cuisine in the relaxed brasserie restaurant. A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended.
Normally stay in the premier inns when traveling to Scotland, never again, so glad the prem was full, I will be a regular at the smith from now on, Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Allcock

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stop
My wife and I travel this route to Scotland reasonably frequently.
We normally stay in a Premier Inn on the Motorway.
We tried this as an option with the deal from late rooms it was cheaper.
I am glad we did it was very good value for money. We will use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Mike Smith

From Burnham on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute break
Lovely, spacious accommodation and great location. High quality furnishings and kitchen area. Lovely Arran aromatics products. Generally very clean, but bathroom floor had been missed. Restaurant staff very helpful and excellent gluten free choices offered.

Reviewed by
t Lindsay

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole great room
Booked a Superior room for 1 night the room was very spacious and well presented. It could have done with an airing before we arrived as I felt it smelled a bit stale, not horrendous but not very fresh. We were in room 4 which was at the front, close to the main entrance reception.~The road was quiet and we weren't disturbed by any traffic even with the window open all night. There was a wedding on the evening we stayed and was pleased to say that we weren't disturbed by any noisy reception music or loud music from the bar. My only other criticism was the smokers who seemed to congregate around the entrance to the hotel. not being a smoker I object to having to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke to enter a hotel and don't think it sets a very welcoming picture. It also meant we has to endure the bar patrons who popped out for a cigarette through the evening, having their cigarette smoke wafting through our open window while they chatted loudly among themselves or on their mobiles. the food was fantastic we had our meal from the a la carte menu and couldn't fault the service or quality. Breakfast was also great plenty of choice and very appetizing.

Reviewed by
J L

From Bridge of Weir, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean/quite
Room was clean and quite

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the bensmoor cottage
We stayed in the separate bensmoor suites cottages just down the road near the blacksmiths shops and got to see a load of weddings which was nice. It had everything in the room you could need iron, ironing board, full kitchen and we got bath robes. The air con was great and we had no issue with the motorway traffic noise where we were. Bed was massive and lovely sheets and pillows. Great bathroom with 2 shower heads over the bath. We missed breakfast unfortunate so cannot comment but for £105 including breakfast I think was really worth it.

Reviewed by
Emma Jones

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay but restaurant needs to change
Great stay, like the quality and handiness of the hotel but they need to really think about their restaurant.
1- I do not want to eat in the dark
2- I do not want to eat my breakfast in the dark
3- Switch the plate warmer on, nothingf worse than hot food on cold plates

Reviewed by
Robert E

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel
From walking into the lobby to leaving the hotel, the total time spent in the hotel was first class

Reviewed by
D Hollington

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
Stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was excellent. Room was fantastic and very clean. Only slight downside to room was there was no fridge but that would have been a luxury.

Reviewed by
A Murray

From Inverness, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Stay
We chose this hotel because we were visiting Gretna to get married, so we wanted somewhere to stay that was special and we weren't disappointed. Room quality was excellent. Breakfast was included in our stay, that was excellent too with a wide variety to choose from. We paid for a private alcove to have a meal after the nuptials which was definitely the right choice the meal was fab, although a little pricey, but worth it.

Reviewed by
V Bendle

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next