No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5EA
Gretna Green is just 10 minutes north of Carlisle. Located right next to the World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop, you too can become part of an unbroken thread of romantic history spanning over 250 years. The new, exciting Smiths at Gretna Green embraces both tradition and modern day comfort with inspirational design set against a historical backdrop. Guests can enjoy a blend of professional, relaxed hospitality along with first class facilities.Smiths at Gretna Green is the most hip and contemporary hotel for miles with luxurious bedrooms that have been designed to offer guests not just a bedroom but a spacious living environment complete with modern facilities such as flatscreen TVs, DVD players and broadband internet access. For the ultimate in luxury you may want to opt for one of the stunning Suites or the Penthouse Apartment.Explore the surrounding area and local attractions or relax and be pampered from head to toe in the Hair, Beauty and Relaxation areas and 'Chill-Out Zone'. Spend your evening in the cosmopolitan bar for a pre-dinner drink before enjoying the delicious cuisine in the relaxed brasserie restaurant. A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed nights stay
Table and work surfaces in room looked dirty with water marks. Breakfast was disaster with dirty cutlery and plates. There was not a single clean glass for orange juice, the scrambled eggs tasted of dishwasher detergent.

Reviewed by
Steven F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely start to our long weekend break
We have stayed here before at Smiths and commented that we would like to return, as it is a lovely hotel, the staff are very friendly, but we were in for a surprise as this trip was even nicer than our other trip as we were upgraded, this has never happened to us and we were over the moon we just thought it would just be a superior room, when we were told they were giving us one of the Benmore cottages, life just got better, they are beautiful, we wish we could have stayed there all weekend, all in all a perfect start to our break away in Scotland.

Reviewed by
Linda Dobek

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel!!
Though we only stayed for one night, we were very impressed with the room, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, and the food was really excellent!!
We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the hotel very highly. Mac,Sheffield

Reviewed by
Mac B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, shame about the food service!
I ordered a drink in the lounge bar and was told that someone would take my food order very shortly. After 25 mins no one had appeared. It was now getting too late so my evening meal was a cup of tea and a biscuit in my room. I mentioned this when checking-out the following morning and had zero response!

Reviewed by
Alistair M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointingly average!!
After having staying at smiths last year for our wedding we decided to go again this year for our anniversary. We tried to book into the restaurant to be told it was fully booked, we ate in the bar area but the restaurant was empty. The room was lovely but in my opinion ready for a refurb. The wall paper was peeling and there was tomato sauce stains on the rug. We had a balcony with amazing views but unfortunately it was full of bird poo!! For the money we paid and after loving smiths last year we left feeling disheartened and over charged.

Reviewed by
Carla D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but room could have been cleaner champagne stains on ceiling and carpets

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From Banff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended.
Normally stay in the premier inns when traveling to Scotland, never again, so glad the prem was full, I will be a regular at the smith from now on, Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Allcock

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stop
My wife and I travel this route to Scotland reasonably frequently.
We normally stay in a Premier Inn on the Motorway.
We tried this as an option with the deal from late rooms it was cheaper.
I am glad we did it was very good value for money. We will use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Mike Smith

From Burnham on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute break
Lovely, spacious accommodation and great location. High quality furnishings and kitchen area. Lovely Arran aromatics products. Generally very clean, but bathroom floor had been missed. Restaurant staff very helpful and excellent gluten free choices offered.

Reviewed by
t Lindsay

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole great room
Booked a Superior room for 1 night the room was very spacious and well presented. It could have done with an airing before we arrived as I felt it smelled a bit stale, not horrendous but not very fresh. We were in room 4 which was at the front, close to the main entrance reception.~The road was quiet and we weren't disturbed by any traffic even with the window open all night. There was a wedding on the evening we stayed and was pleased to say that we weren't disturbed by any noisy reception music or loud music from the bar. My only other criticism was the smokers who seemed to congregate around the entrance to the hotel. not being a smoker I object to having to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke to enter a hotel and don't think it sets a very welcoming picture. It also meant we has to endure the bar patrons who popped out for a cigarette through the evening, having their cigarette smoke wafting through our open window while they chatted loudly among themselves or on their mobiles. the food was fantastic we had our meal from the a la carte menu and couldn't fault the service or quality. Breakfast was also great plenty of choice and very appetizing.

Reviewed by
J L

From Bridge of Weir, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next