No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5EA
The new, exciting Smiths at Gretna Green embraces both tradition and modern day comfort with inspirational design set against a historical backdrop. Guests can enjoy a blend of professional, relaxed hospitality along with first class facilities.

Smiths at Gretna Green is the most hip and contemporary hotel for miles with luxurious bedrooms that have been designed to offer guests not just a bedroom but a spacious living environment complete with modern facilities such as flatscreen TVs, DVD players and broadband internet access. For the ultimate in luxury you may want to opt for one of the stunning Suites or the Penthouse Apartment.

Gretna Green is just 10 minutes north of Carlisle. Located right next to the World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop, you too can become part of an unbroken thread of romantic history spanning over 250 years.

Explore the surrounding area and local attractions or relax and be pampered from head to toe in the Hair, Beauty and Relaxation areas and 'Chill-Out Zone'. Spend your evening in the cosmopolitan bar for a pre-dinner drink before enjoying the delicious cuisine in the relaxed brasserie restaurant. A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very impressed - contemporary clean friendly hotel
Couldn't be more impressed for the price we paid. I've paid over twice as much for a room half the size and not as well fitted out.

Reviewed by
D Barlow

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thistle suite
This hotel is excellent room was immaculate and spacious the reception staff very welcoming so we're the bar staff. 3rd time staying at the smiths. would recommend highly

Reviewed by
Thomas K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
A Reid

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Really great room loved the little extras like the DVD player and lounge area in the room conplete with an artificial fire :) food was great in the bar and plenty of choice at breakfast. The free entry to the Gretna experience was a bonus too.

Reviewed by
Lucy B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful room
We booked the rose suite which was fantastic, huge and with a balcony, dining area, lounge, and bedroom. Couldn't ask for more in a room. Hotel was lovely. Food was overpriced for what it was, but was nice all the same.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

successful stay
A great hotel, well run with great food in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Parker

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Spotless & luxurioius with helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Tricia B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a little tweaking would make it perfect
My husband and I stayed for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis. Our room was on the first floor, quite spacious and with a very comfy bed. However, a couple of glass tumblers and a bottle of complimentary water would have been a nice addition. On our first night we experienced a lot of noise from the floor area above us. Quite a lot of banging and footsteps. Possibly because it had a wooden floor as we could also hear hoovering the next morning. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the Bar restaurant on our first night. The food was excellent, very good quality and plentiful. The only niggle that evening was the constant banging of the kitchen door on a busy service, quite intrusive at times, it could be heard above conversation and background music. I did mention it at Reception in the hope it could be improved by a simple adjustment. The Bar and Dining staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our breakfasts on both days were also faultless. We did feel that some of the reception staff could be a little friendlier, but they were all efficient.

Reviewed by
ellie smith

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smiths at gretna
clean and spacious rooms, good food and friendly staff

Reviewed by
c noble

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our wedding day
Amazing hotel, amazing staff and perfect wedding venue. We got married here 8th November 2014. From the moment we booked it nothing was too much trouble. We hired a private dining room for our 25 guests and the meals were superb and high quality. I would like to thank Vicky the wedding co-ordinator for all her help prior to us arriving and all the staff for their help/service during our stay. We are so glad we had our wedding reception here and I would recommend to anyone who is having their wedding in Gretna Green.

Reviewed by
M Tipper

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next