Reviews - Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel


Gretna Green, Gretna Green, DG16 5EA

Price From 146.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (68)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • h fleming

  • September 2015

Lovely weekend

Modern hotel, we had a lovely stay at this hotel very clean throughout, comfortable room, food was really good and staff were very friendly and accommodating

  • j hopkins

  • September 2015


Evening meal we ordered a Greek stew which took half an hour to arrive.

The bread was stale and the stew was Luke warm. The following evening we went to Gretna hall hotel where we had a wonderful meal at the same price was smiths.

  • H Fullen

  • August 2015

Nice modern corporate hotel.

We stayed for 1 night in a Luxury Room with Balcony.

The room was very nice, clean and tidy. There was a couple of weddings going on when we arrived so we ended up eating in the lounge area. Food was very nice and well presented, but we felt the bar prices were high, a bottle of cider and large glass of wine was £11.20!. Overall a nice stay in a good quality hotel, however it was a very corporate feeling hotel, which is nice if that is what you are looking for.

  • Neil W

  • July 2015

Leisure Stay

we went for a relaxing weekend and that was what we got.

the room was beautiful and clean,

the staff were very helpful . There was a very large wedding party the day we arrive and our room was on the first floor straight above the function room and i was very happily surprised that we heard NO noise. More than happy to recommend to our friends and we will be going back hopefully near christmas.

  • R Clarke

  • May 2015


The double bed consisted of 2 single beds put together which made for an uncomfortable sleep, especially as a couple because you had to sleep on your own side for a good sleep rather than using the whole space.

For breakfast I asked for bananas and I got apples, I don't even like apples and the beans were cold,

  • G Watts

  • April 2015

Excellent Hotel

Nice hotel with good facilities.

Choice of food is a la carte restaurant or bar food. Both are good. Can get a bit busy with wedding parties being very close to the Smithy. Nice hotel. Can recommend it.

  • Margaret M

  • April 2015

Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Delighted with this accommodation.

  • Beth N

  • April 2015

Customer Service needs addressing!!

On check in the receptionist was not very welcoming at all, had zero personality!.

The staff at the hotel all seem to be half asleep or not happy in their jobs!!

  • Sandra Kennedy

  • April 2015

Repeat stay

We have stayed before and we will be staying again.

  • Lorna Scott

  • March 2015

Fun time

Really enjoyed our stay.

rooms were very good. everything about hotel made our stay better. can't wait to go back.