No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cricket Field House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Cricket Field House, Wilton Road, , Salisbury, SP2 9NS
VisitWiltshire "Tourism Award" winner 2009 and 1st finalist of the Salisbury & Stonehenge Tourism Partnership "Tourism and Hospitality Award" 2009.

Originally the gamekeeper's cottage for the Earl of Pembroke. Over the last 25 years, the present owners have developed 17 individually designed and decorated bedrooms and an award winning garden, home to 11 resident ducks as well as Snoop and Chester, the family pets.

Cricket Field House is situated a 25 minute walk from Salisbury City Centre and Salisbury Cathedral, which has the highest Spire in England, and boasts the best preserved of the four surviving copies of the Magna Carta, as well as the earliest working modern clock, dating from c1386AD. Visitors can take the Tower Tour, attend services or just browse the magnificent Cathedral Close, home of Salisbury Museum and the home of the late Sir Edward Heath (often known as Ted Heath), Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1970-1974.

Tours can be arranged for Stonehenge, Avebury and Old Sarum, the home of the original Cathedral. Salisbury train station is only a 15 minute walk away, and is on main, direct lines to London Waterloo, Cardiff, Southampton (and Southampton International Airport) and the naval port of Portsmouth, which plays host to the historic ships; HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary Rose (plus museum). Southampton and Bournemouth International Airports are both within a 40 minute drive.

Breakfast is served Mon-Fri 7am-9am, check-out 10am; Sat-Sun 8.30am-9.30am, check-out 10.30am. We offer full English breakfast, and a buffet of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereal. We can cater for special dietary requirements with prior notice. All produce used is sourced locally.

Brian, Margaret and Andrew James, and their dedicated staff strive to ensure your stay will be enjoyable, so when you leave you will want to return.
Picture of Cricket Field House, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One nighter
Perfect for our one night stay. Could not have asked for more ... What a welcome even knew our name without asking at breakfast which was personal touch when you think how many they had for breakfast. Be back for longer next time.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline H

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night break!!
I thought everything was very good. At breakfast Andrew couldn't have done anymore for us he was superb. Thanks Andrew.
The only down fall was the extractor fans in other rooms kept me awake so I needed earplugs lol.
All in all I will return if I'm down that way again.
Thank you Iona R x

Reviewed by
Iona R

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night stay
What a fabulous place arrived and was immediately taken to a beautiful room on the ground floor as requested with a lovely view into the garden. We were asked if we needed any information on evening facilities but as we were meeting family it did not apply. The gentleman on the desk had me move my car to a space near the entrance as my husband is disabled. After a wonderful nights sleep we were treated to a fantastic breakfast which really set us up for the day and the drive in the terrible rain.

Reviewed by
Jan Barrington

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
A very warm welcome. The accommodation was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was excellent and really good quality food with good service.

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Stay
Very comfortable, spacious room very bright and clean. Would definitely stay again if in the area.
Excellent Breakfast plenty of choice, good quality ingredients.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming authentic English B&B
Helpful, friendly and comfortable. Great location for walk to Salisbury. Fans of cricket and George Herbert would love the spot. Spotlessly clean and fabulous customer service. If I t's luxury and contemporary decor you are after look elsewhere. This is your traditional British B&B of the highest quality. May need to mention when you book if you have difficulty with stairs.

Reviewed by
Amanda R

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, slept exceptionally well.
I had the best night's sleep of my holiday to date at Cricket Field, would happily stay there again. Easy to find, very patient staff with our late arrival. Breakfast in the morning was hot, fast and fresh, I particularly want to point out the lovely strawberries. I preferentially stay in B&B's when traveling in the states, I will certainly consider them more often when abroad.

Reviewed by
K Purcell

From Wake Forest, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Stayed for one night, excellent meet and greet, terrific room and superb breakfast.

Reviewed by
geoffrey g

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything brilliant
very nice people,very very clean,great nights sleep

Reviewed by
gary burden

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and knowledgable staff. My room had all I needed in it. Very comfortable and clean
Thoroughly recommended. Close to Salisbury town centre (£6.00 in a local taxi) with all it's excellent eateries. Near to a petrol station and good corner shop. The B & B itself was of a high standard throughout. Very clean and in good order. Very comfortable. Nice and quiet location. Staff were on hand to answer any questions and had good local knowledge. Breakfast was superb and plentiful even for me. You will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
A Harrison

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next