Reviews - North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels


Ullswater Road, Penrith, CA11 8QT

Price From 255.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Morrall

  • September 2014

Ideal location for all the places we wanted to visit.

We stayed here as a treat and wasn't disappointed. Only downside was the banging of other doors in the hotel, but you tend to get that everywhere

  • Mike B

  • September 2014

Fabulous location and a welcome break

Stayed here on route from Scotland and made full use of the spa and gym facilities; including a fitness class early the next morning.

Food in the restaurant was excellent although the waiter didn't know what beer he had. Woke up the next morning to find contractors refurbishing a room a couple of doors down. Although I suppose it has to be done at some time. Fabulous location for the lakes so took advantage to drive past ullswater on the way home. I would have no hesitation staying again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • J Winter

  • September 2014

The hotel was lovely, the rooms have everything you need and the bed was comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down side was there isn't very much to do locally but all in all was a relaxing break.

  • M Rowlands

  • September 2014

Great get away !

Great place to just escape to whenever you need a week away !!

  • J Cox

  • September 2014

Lovely relaxing break

Great hotel, had a lovely relaxing break, enjoyed the use of the spa.

Restaurant was lovely, great choices. All round friendly staff. Would recommend and go back

  • Vicky K

  • August 2014

Lovely touches that no other hotel has done

On arrival a cookie for our three children with their names painted on the plates in chocolate.

Fridge in room which was well stocked with kids drinks water and proper milk - not usual UHT stuff plus hot chocolate and raisin and crisps snacks,

  • Christopher F

  • August 2014

Disappointed-Not as expected or advertised.

Having paid for an upgraded room, we were disappointed to find a rather dated small room with very little storage space for our clothes (one small draw and four clothes hangers for a family of four?) needless to say we lived from our suitcases.

The children were given fairly old bunk beds that squeaked whenever they moved in the night. We found previous occupiers clothes in the one drawer on arrival which although were promptly removed after complaining clearly highlighted a lack of care and inspection. The bathroom was very dated and dirty, which we cleaned ourselves rather than complain again. Damp pillows that had an unpleasant aroma and had to be changed before use. The promise of nightly milk and biscuits for the children was for the first night only along with the four soft drinks in the mini fridge. Will not be returning or recommending this hotel!

  • Maureen T

  • August 2014

superior room needs more

Superior room - needs more than just extra space and settee e.g.

a superking size bed with better quality bedlinen

Great location for breaking journey when travelling north/south to/from Scotland.

  • M Fellowes

  • August 2014

Didnt feel it was good value for money

Arrived on the 11th, was greeted by the staff and told where our Room was, Room was no where near the standard i was expecting for the money i was paying.

Room was bland and boring, Standard bed poor quality TV with 3 or 4 good channels. View was poor and shower was like a leaky tap.

Spar facilities were great but the "spar" treatments were far to expensive. Pool was okay, Jacuzzi was good too as well as the steam room. Was booked in for 2 nights but only stayed for one and asked for a refund on the second night as i didn't want to waste my money on a 1* room that didn't even include breakfast. Travel Lodge 0.5 miles away from the hotel, Id suggest looking there before you look here. Probably better value for money and you will get a breakfast.

  • Peter Nicholson

  • August 2014

Strong focus on customer service

excellent restaurant and spa