North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels

4

Ullswater Road, Penrith, CA11 8QT

Price From 242.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (86)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Cox

  • September 2014

Lovely relaxing break

Great hotel, had a lovely relaxing break, enjoyed the use of the spa.

Restaurant was lovely, great choices. All round friendly staff. Would recommend and go back

  • Vicky K

  • August 2014

Lovely touches that no other hotel has done

On arrival a cookie for our three children with their names painted on the plates in chocolate.

Fridge in room which was well stocked with kids drinks water and proper milk - not usual UHT stuff plus hot chocolate and raisin and crisps snacks,

  • Christopher F

  • August 2014

Disappointed-Not as expected or advertised.

Having paid for an upgraded room, we were disappointed to find a rather dated small room with very little storage space for our clothes (one small draw and four clothes hangers for a family of four?) needless to say we lived from our suitcases.

The children were given fairly old bunk beds that squeaked whenever they moved in the night. We found previous occupiers clothes in the one drawer on arrival which although were promptly removed after complaining clearly highlighted a lack of care and inspection. The bathroom was very dated and dirty, which we cleaned ourselves rather than complain again. Damp pillows that had an unpleasant aroma and had to be changed before use. The promise of nightly milk and biscuits for the children was for the first night only along with the four soft drinks in the mini fridge. Will not be returning or recommending this hotel!

  • Maureen T

  • August 2014

superior room needs more

Superior room - needs more than just extra space and settee e.g.

a superking size bed with better quality bedlinen

Great location for breaking journey when travelling north/south to/from Scotland.

  • M Fellowes

  • August 2014

Didnt feel it was good value for money

Arrived on the 11th, was greeted by the staff and told where our Room was, Room was no where near the standard i was expecting for the money i was paying.

Room was bland and boring, Standard bed poor quality TV with 3 or 4 good channels. View was poor and shower was like a leaky tap.

Spar facilities were great but the "spar" treatments were far to expensive. Pool was okay, Jacuzzi was good too as well as the steam room. Was booked in for 2 nights but only stayed for one and asked for a refund on the second night as i didn't want to waste my money on a 1* room that didn't even include breakfast. Travel Lodge 0.5 miles away from the hotel, Id suggest looking there before you look here. Probably better value for money and you will get a breakfast.

  • Peter Nicholson

  • August 2014

Strong focus on customer service

excellent restaurant and spa

  • Anna B

  • August 2014

Good location, just north of the Lakes, for visiting Lake District, Cumbria & Roman Vindolanda

Spent 3 nights with my family at the hotel.

The convenient location just north of the Lakes meant it was ideal for visiting the Lake District and Cumbria. Our family also had a most enjoyable 2 days visiting Hadrian's Wall, Roman Vindolanda and The Roman Army Museum.

The hotel rooms themselves are reasonably spacious and clean and a good range of snacks & coffee is on offer. We appreciated the "little welcoming extras" like the Nespresso machine, personalised biscuits for the children and mini bath robes for children. The free WIFI is a problem - our 1st room had no reception at all but the hotel kindly upgraded us to a suite. TV reception is also poor. The rooms are poorly insulated so any noise between rooms or children running up and down the corridors reverberates through the room. We were able to use the pool and spa although over the weekend the pool was exceedingly busy with very small children so swimming lengths was impossible. The pool is also poorly lit so swimming serious lengths is difficult even when not busy. We did not eat at the hotel as prices are rather extortionate (breakfast £14 per person or £12.75 if booked the night before and £16 if you want it in your room). Parking is free outside the hotel but is limited and does get busy.

Would we stay again. - possibly but it is certainly on the expensive side.

  • Rebecca S

  • August 2014

Decent enough but food hygiene concerns

There was a lot we liked about the hotel - the price, the cookies for the kids on arrival, the VI Little P dressing gowns for the kids, the pool, and the jacuzzi.

But there were 2 things we didn't like - the sofa bed had a hideously wirey/lumpy mattress and the breakfast buffet was covered in flies. It really upset my children that they had to brush the flies away from everything - the staff said there was nothing they could do about them. #Fail.

  • D Robertson

  • August 2014

Room was quite dirty.

I'm not that fussy but I draw the line at the wee hairs in the bath and the 5mm of dust on the frame of the bunk bed. Also two towels had huge holes in them.

We could hear the guest upstairs TV and telephone conversation till after 11pm.

Ok if you're not spending much time in the room.

  • Alison M

  • July 2014

Fabulous hotel, great for kids

We stayed one night in a family room, 2 adults and 3 kids.

Room was great, clean and modern, swimming pool and spa wonderful. Best bit was all the extra touches, cookies for the kids,little towelling robes for kids. Will definitely stay again.