Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Penrith Hotels > North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ullswater Road , Penrith, CA11 8QT
The North Lakes Hotel and Spa provides the perfect base for Lake
District breaks, you don't have to be a hardened hill walker to enjoy
all that the Lake District has to offer. Its stunning scenery lends
itself perfectly to leisurely lake cruises and sightseeing. Naturally,
lovers of the great outdoors are also catered for. We are ideally
located for both Lake Ullswater; which is just down the road, and Lake
Windermere; a 35 minute drive away. So if you are looking to explore
the lakes either on foot or by boats such as the Ullswater Steamers we
are the perfect base for your Lake District holiday.

The North Lakes Hotel and Spa is very popular with families due to the
variety of rooms. Stylishly furnished, each room has fresh milk and a
newspaper delivered daily. Guests can relax with cosy beds, free bottled
water, and freshly ground coffee and tea in the rooms.

Boasting an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, Splash Time in our pool,
great kids menus, our Trekkers Den full of games and activities, and so
much more, North Lakes Hotel offers Lake District family holidays that
top all others.

Whether you're visiting for work or play, the stylish contemporary guest rooms , award
winning dining options and complimentary Spa facilities and free WIFI throughout will help to make your stay with us that little bit more
special.

Picture of North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good accomodation
had a very pleasant stay once again, first class hotel and spa.

Reviewed by
J Willimas

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night review
Nice hotel, we dubious after viewing some other reviews but found these to be totally unfounded. Clean, good food, good service and friendly staff. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
Glynn C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rifiats coachong visit
Super customer service. Staff were great., overall it was a very satisfying stay . Food was excellent

Reviewed by
Rifiat Bibi

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So much promise!
Ambiance was good overall but lots of kids running up and down corridors and the resonance of their footfall was very intrusive and disturbing. More noise limiting/suppression required - doors to accommodation tended to close and echo very loudly! The room was comfortable and clean but the duvet provided for the king size bed was only for a double bed - not nearly big enough! The Restaurant experience was disappointing - a very limited menu but with pretensions of gourmet dining - judging by the slightly inflated price! I had lamb which was tasteless until I applied seasoning! Most dishes were laced with garlic which tended to dominate other flavours. My wife is allergic to garlic (as are many people!) and her menu choice was extremely limited. The breakfast was a great disappointment - buffet style but served by staff, sausages which were really chipolatas (and well over seasoned) and did not reflect expectations. The bacon was salty and became very tough on the plate and the hash browns supplied were overcooked and crunchy as opposed to a hint of crispness with a flavoursome fluffy potato as expected! The waiting staff were excellent but powerless to do anything about the quality of the food. I enjoyed the first pot of coffee I had but found a second helping (pot) to be watery and undrinkable!

Reviewed by
Yani Rugins de Montoya

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good service and facilities
We used it as a stop-over and did not use the spa facilities, but we have been twice before and the North Lakes does not disappoint. Lovely welcoming environment with log fire. Friendly, helpful staff. Good food and bar, although bar is a trifle small.

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Crickhowell, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean well run hotel. cosy atmosphere. food goid.

Reviewed by
Lee M

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly pleasant place to stay
Stayed one night as a staging post for a day in the Lakes. Despite being very close to the motorway and looking like a slightly suspect gigantic ice blue chalet, it turned out that internally this was a very welcoming and nicely laid out hotel with a relaxed, attractive ambience , especially in the public and spa areas. It was also quiet and comfortable with good beds. Nice little swimming pool too. We slept very well. Breakfast was good and the staff were very cheerful, polite and helpful. It's also very handy from the Lakes - Ullswater in 10 minutes, Keswick in less than half an hour. Definitely worth trying. We'll certainly be using it again.

Reviewed by
Ivan W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely family friendly, and great for the grown ups too!

Reviewed by
P Ingham

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is a little gem, especially for families.
Just spent a night at The North Lakes, Spa Hotel for my husbands birthday with our 10yr old daughter. I cannot fault it. The superior family room was lovely with complimentary soft drinks as well as the usual beverage facilities. A king sized bed for mum and dad and bunk beds for children. Wonderful soft bathrobes supplied, even child sized V.I small.P robes! My daughter was delighted with her personalised cookie but my husband more so with his special extra large birthday one! The pool was great, like stepping into a warm bath and even though there were lots in, it didn't feel overcrowded. They even have a designated swimming lane for those without children wanting to just swim. We also enjoyed the lovely jacuzzi. We ate in the restaurant and found it to be a very enjoyable experience. Staff are very attentive and very friendly. The food is beautiful and offers a good range for adults and children, although we did find it quite expensive. £162.00 for a family of three but that did include nibbles, starters for the adults, main meals, desserts and 2 bottles of wine. As an added bonus, with it being my husbands birthday, a birthday cake with monumental fire fountain and a chorus of 'Happy Birthday'! All in all our experience at this hotel was perfect and I would highly recommend it and happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fantastic hotel, staff are lovely, rooms are gorgeous thank you!

Reviewed by
Lee Whittaker

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next