Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Penrith Hotels > North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ullswater Road , Penrith, CA11 8QT
The North Lakes Hotel and Spa provides the perfect base for Lake
District breaks, you don't have to be a hardened hill walker to enjoy
all that the Lake District has to offer. Its stunning scenery lends
itself perfectly to leisurely lake cruises and sightseeing. Naturally,
lovers of the great outdoors are also catered for. We are ideally
located for both Lake Ullswater; which is just down the road, and Lake
Windermere; a 35 minute drive away. So if you are looking to explore
the lakes either on foot or by boats such as the Ullswater Steamers we
are the perfect base for your Lake District holiday.

The North Lakes Hotel and Spa is very popular with families due to the
variety of rooms. Stylishly furnished, each room has fresh milk and a
newspaper delivered daily. Guests can relax with cosy beds, free bottled
water, and freshly ground coffee and tea in the rooms.

Boasting an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, Splash Time in our pool,
great kids menus, our Trekkers Den full of games and activities, and so
much more, North Lakes Hotel offers Lake District family holidays that
top all others.

Whether you're visiting for work or play, the stylish contemporary guest rooms , award
winning dining options and complimentary Spa facilities and free WIFI throughout will help to make your stay with us that little bit more
special.

Picture of North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fantastic hotel, staff are lovely, rooms are gorgeous thank you!

Reviewed by
Lee Whittaker

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great winter break.
Took advantage of the dinner, bed, and breakfast offer as a nice chance to unwind after christmas and it was perfect. Would recommend it to anyone in the future.

Reviewed by
K Farrell

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stood for 5 minutes upon check in as there was no bell to ring, had booked a double room only to find it was 2 singles pushed together, decided to change our reservation in the restaurant to an earlier time with the reception staff to be greeted with abit of a grunt! Swimming pool had a tiny lane blocked off as it was full with familes with small children but not great when about 4 people are trying to swim in 1 lane. Unfortunately I won't be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
L Wilson

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent quality but overpriced
I cannot fault the hotel or its staff for their quality but we felt that that both the room and the bar/ restaurant was very overpriced. They are definitely going for the 'if you have to ask the price then you can't afford it' crowd, which would not be out of place in a hunting lodge in the middle of nowhere, but unfortunately it's not. There is a motorway on one side of it and a housing estate on the other. The pool is lovely but overcrowded. The breakfast was £12.95 which was a disgusting price - unless they were serving fresh lobster and caviar. As a family, and as a couple we have stayed in many places, both cheaper and more expensive and have certain expectations of what you are getting for your money - the North Lakes Hotel did not live up to these expectations.

Reviewed by
C Barlow

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service, great facilities - room could do with a makeover.
We stayed here for 2 nights before Christmas and we really enjoyed our stay. Upon arrival the outside of the hotel looks a little cheap and an odd colour but walking inside is a pleasant surprise. A cosy fire and welcoming staff greeted us. This is a fabulous hotel and restaurant with superb spa and pool, however the rooms feel a little bit dated and could do with an upgrade, especially the bathrooms. Whilst still clean enough, at £125 a night plus I would expect the rooms to be a little nicer - still, that said, we came away relaxed and felt the overall experience was value for money.

Reviewed by
R Hunter

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, great facilities for the pool. Very helpful staff Only complaint is children's beds were not very comfortable, e.g. springs sticking up in sofa bed mattress.

Reviewed by
P Glover

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and welcoming and the kids loved the pool.
The hotel is beautiful, the small touches like cookies on arrival for the kids are great. Open fires to relax in front of and lovely comfortable rooms, this was a return visit for us and will definitely not be our last! Thank you

Reviewed by
Paula Ingham

From Bradford , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and comfortable
NIce friendly staff, good menu, comfortable rooms and good health and swimming facilities

Reviewed by
Philip G

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms!!!
My Goodness, the walls are paper thin and rooms not big enough to swing a cat in!
Shame as this is the only thing that's wrong with the hotel, however it was the only reason I was there!

Reviewed by
B Newman

From Trafford Park Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again
I had read yhe reviews before I went and was concerned thst some had said it wasn't 4 star and that it was unclean, broken fixtures and staff just walking around doing nothing. However I did not find this, the staff was always checking if everything was okay and did we need anything. I really enjoyed my stsy and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Davina M

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next