No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Connaught Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
West Hill Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5PH
Trip Advisor’s No 1 Bournemouth Hotel and Spa puts the 'treat' into retreat! BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel has everything you might need for a relaxing stay: from 1850 architecture and traditional service values to 55 beautiful en-suite bedrooms with mod-cons galore. Centrally located on Bournemouth's West Cliff, this AA 4 Star Hotel with parking for 66 cars, is less than 500 meters to the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion and Bournemouth Pier.

For your fill of fitness and relaxation, the Bluewater Spa and Leisure club with an 18 meters indoor pool, spa pool, magnificent, eucalyptus steam room, stunning sauna, 3 massage therapy rooms and two gymnasiums will take care of your every need. Our terrace garden is a wonderful venue for special occasions, while the double Rosette awarded restaurant, Blakes, serves up direct access to the new terrace for al- fresco dining during those warmer Summer months. Nick Rutigliano, our Maitre d' and our Head Chef, Ben Nicol, are here to guarantee 'bon appetite'.

The hotel has been awarded Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence for 2013 and 2014, a 'Highly Commended' in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in the "Best Large Hotel of The Year" and "Best Restaurant" categories and was also awarded a Silver Shield by Green Tourism for Business!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Connaught Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super
A lovely well early break with a fellow overworked mummy !
Excellent hotel , parking no problems , ideal
Location and room and staff faultless ! Highly recommend !

Reviewed by
H Richards

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wet but good week at Bournemouth
All staff v friendly. Comfortable and well equipped room with plenty of lounge area downstairs. We enjoyed the breakfasts and eating in the bar area - did not use the restaurant for personal reasons.

Reviewed by
Roger Long

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Weekend
would highly commend this hotel. couldn't find any faults.

Reviewed by
Lynne R

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality experience
My short stay was excellent at all levels, clean, modern well-appointed room, all mod con, staff genuinely concerned, friendly and attentive, great value for money, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
D Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round
Staff were really friendly and very helpful. The accommodation was first class and the standard of cleanliness was excellent in all this equaled any hotel I have stayed in. Sadly my wife slipped over whilst on her way to breakfast and all the staff were most helpful and caring ..thank you all.

Reviewed by
Edwin C

From Dorchester, England
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service at breakfast

Reviewed by
Andrew Wallis

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Stayed for one night whilst on business, I generally prefer to find hotels or B&B's than the ubiquitous purple brand as they are depressing.
Pro's:
Well sited; clean; has a spa area (although I didn't take advantage); friendly and polite staff. Breakfast selection varied and good quality; reasonably priced.
Cons:
Rooms are a little dated; shower heads are awful and need replacing with something decent; beds a bit on the soft side; Car park is tight and there doesn't seem to be quite enough spaces; room service food is poor.
To explain my negativity on food:
The hotel makes much fanfare of it's restaurant, so when I ordered from the room service menu I was expecting some good food.
I ordered beer battered Cod, which they dropped in the kitchen and couldn't replace. I then chose a sirloin steak (cheapest steak at £16 + £3 tray charge) with their much vaunted triple cooked chips. This steak arrived looking quite anaemic (although tasted ok); and the chips resembled some McCain's potato wedges. The plate was garnished with an untidy bundle of salad leaves which didn't taste of much.
The millionaires shortbread I had ordered as desert had miraculously morphed into a chocolate brownie on the way up from the kitchen. This was an insipid, mass produced affair and was certainly not a pleasant eat.
Overall:
Decent standard of accommodation although, poor room service food and poor showers let it down. Certainly not a bad hotel by any stretch, but I would probably look elsewhere before trying the Connaught again.

Reviewed by
Scott M

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful customer service
Everything about the hotel and staff was amazing. Room was lovely and spacious. Although bathroom was a little crammed in. Only disappointment was breakfast. Scrabbled egg very buttery and soggy. Waiting ages for our toast, whilst others received theirs who had arrived after us. When asked about it was told it was being made!! Over 15 minute wait for 'pastries' which were just cossiants. Great location and lovely spa.

Reviewed by
C Annett

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great night away.
Very friendly reception staff. Good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good. Would stay again. :-)

Reviewed by
carol warren

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
Stayed at this Best Western for a business trip. The reception rooms have recently been redecorated and it all looks very nice. My room was clean and comfortable. My experience of the service was excleent. Friendly welcome at reception on arrival and departure and the restaurant staff at breakfast were lovely.

Reviewed by
S Crown

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next