No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Horton Grange Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU
Horton Grange Country House Hotel and Restaurant is situated on the Blagdon Estate about three miles east of Ponteland, surrounded by tree-lined grounds. Visitors are immediately captivated by the distinctive mix of traditional and contemporary. Real fires, fresh flowers and antique furnishings blend with the conservatory dining room to create a relaxed atmosphere.Sympathetic decor and furnishings complement the traditional character of both the cosy bar and the light airy restaurant, overlooking the Japanese Garden. Just 4 miles from Newcastle airport the hotel is ideal for a stop over and 3 minutes off the A1M the hotel is also well located for the business traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break in the country but only 15 minutes from central Newcastle and the shopping to be had at the Metro Centre.

Five of the bedrooms are located in the main house with the other four having been tastefully created in the stables opposite the main entrance to the hotel. All bedrooms are beautifully decorated rooms with classical antique furnishings throughout. Rooms include a colour T.V. and large en-suite bathroom and many overlook the gardens. The Alnwick bedroom is a spacious room with classical antique furnishings throughout, situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Japanese garden.

The restaurant is a light and airy modern room overlooking the garden. The restaurant is well known for its fine cuisine and excellent menu. Only a visit will allow anyone to truly appreciate the food and drink on offer. Chef, using the very best fresh local produce, presides over an imaginative "modern classic" menu with a range of exciting dishes to suit all tastes. Enjoy the relaxing ambience of the bar with an extensive range of wines. The bar always has a warm, friendly atmosphere which is emphasised by the large open fire place. You will certainly appreciate the modern feel to the room, especially the large 42" plasma screen which hangs above the fireplace often displaying a virtual open log fire - filling the room with a warm and satisfying glow. The large bay windows look over the gardens which are fantastic to view by day or night.

Picture of Horton Grange Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good, small, country house hotel, just off the A1 and close to Newcastle
Our overnight stay was most enjoyable. The staff were very welcoming; we had a good sized room and en-suite; everywhere was clean and well decorated; plus there is plenty of free on-site parking. The location is quiet but only a few miles off the A1 and close enough to reach Newcastle city centre in 15 mins or so. The breakfast was excellent (cooked to order) and the price seemed very reasonable.

Reviewed by
Robert Williams

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was sat in beautiful grounds and was a lovely looking old building. We found the staff friendly. Our room was large and looked clean but on closer inspection they had missed the little things dust on skirting boards and radiators and the bath wasn't as clean as it should have been. The only real complaints we had were that the room was freezing they didn't turn the heating on until the early hours of the morning we were leaving and the bed was a bit lumpy. Overall a nice place just needs a little TLC in some areas. Would stay again but in a different room hopefully with a more comfy bed and the heating on.

Reviewed by
marie c

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our anniversary treat last minute.
We live just down the road but we wanted to escape last minute.
The actual house was lovely we were greeted with a smile. we booked for cream teas in the bar which was lovely and it was nice but could have done with couple extra sandwiches but cakes were to die for, and it was lovely and quiet too (no weddings on). our room was no.3 it was in the outhouses think they may have been stables once before. Room was clean tidy the duvet was nice and chunky bed was lovely slept well. Coffee/tea facilities also a nice touch was bottled water. Toiletries used were a nice touch.
Breakfast was included in price, choice of cereals and choice of cooked breakfasts too. Service over all was very good would go back and recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place with character
Lovely old Country house, I stayed in the converted stable block, two rooms and a shower room.
Nice desk o work on comfortable chair to relax in and a nice comfortable bed.
Only had breakfast here and I seldom have cooked breakfast but the choice of cereal juice was adequate and a lovely fresh pot of tea.

Reviewed by
R Starkess

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
I sent my parents for their silver wedding present. They said it was amazing. Staff were so friendly, hotel was excellent and the meal in their restraunt was faultless
Will definatley recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
Lauren M

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish country house with comfortable accommodation
I was warmly welcomed, well cared for by the friendly staff (even though they were busy with a big wedding party on the morning I left), and had a large and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Brian Eversham

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was much more than 3 miles out of Newcastle city centre, no bus or train to get into centre for at least 4miles

Reviewed by
tracey c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in a superior room. Clean, spacious room and bathroom. Had a good nights sleep in comfortable bed. There were a few cobwebs around the window with some dead flies but otherwise clean. Our companions did have some problems with the plumbing in the bathroom and had to change rooms.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Top quality breakfast.
Great to relax in the grounds of the hotel helped by the perfect weather.

Reviewed by
p taylor

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NIce Hotel
NIce quiet hotel, the room was spacious and comfortable. The only point which let the room down was the bathroom which while perfectly clean it could do with updating. The bath was very small and no useful shelves.
The restaurant is expensive so I visited local pubs in the evening. Although the breakfast was great as the food is cooked to order.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Blewbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and staff. Would make a good romantic stop on way north and fantastic for weddings
Would go back or advise parents to visit

Reviewed by
A Gray

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next