Reviews - Horton Grange Hotel


Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU

Price From 143.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • n batho

  • September 2014

Very nice hotel in quite location,


  • August 2014

Overnight Stay

Really comfortable room.

Quiet and relaxing. Customer service outstanding. Great value for money.

  • Shaun H

  • August 2014

Could have been better

I was in in one of the "Garden" rooms, which was within a converted outbuilding, and obviously not the best place to be at Horton Grange as you feel rather out of the way.

The layout of these rooms isn't the best; the so called lounge area is more like a reception room, and the bathroom and bedroom are acceptable but small. No wardrobes or set of drawers, just hangers on the wall and shelves for your clothing. Horton Grange itself could be quite attractive, but the decor is unoriginal and is starting to look rather tired. Customer service I would rate as fair - staff seemed uninterested and more often than not there was no-one at the reception desk. Breakfast was okay, but mid week there's a fair wait for the cooked breakfast. Over Horton Grange is okay, but could have been better.

  • S Barnett

  • August 2014

Lovely country house hotel

This Hotel is a wonderful old house hotel.

The staff were exellant and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are large with lots of room. The only thing that could be improved I would say would be that the bed we had in our room could do with updating and the mattress renewing.

The breakfast was wonderful and very tasty with a good selection and the eggs benedict was deliscious. I would deffinately recomend this hotel to anyone that was thinking of staying here.

  • John Welsh

  • August 2014

Hotel Stay

Nice old fashioned hotel away from noise of A1 road

  • Chris Harris

  • July 2014

unprofessional staff noisy room

On checking in receptionist strugled to find our details blaming everything from power cuts to lightning strikes it was only when a female assistant intervened that our booking was confirmed at which point he lead us to our room with his shirt untucked and the top of his underpants clearly on view

When we later returned asking for some more coffee noone was on reception but the same man was slumped in a chair in the bar area with his shirt completely untucked

When we eventually settled into our room we found the bed too small and far to hard but to top it all the walls were so thin that we could not only hear the tv but the conversations of the occupants of the rooms either side

We didnt stay for dinner as the prices were too expensive but the breakfast was a disappointment only 1 staff member on duty and the portions were small only 1 rasher of over cooked bacon and the sausages were leek n herb not very pleasant

Wouldn't stay again especially in the converted stale block

  • a neale

  • July 2014

Review - July 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Chillington Room and it lived up to its name - the room was cold.

Old sash windows had large holes in the woodwork letting in draughts. The sash in the sash windows was broken. It took over 10 minutes to get the water from the shower to an acceptable temperature - either scalding hot or freezing cold. The UHT milk in the room curdled the coffee and it was found to be out of date!. Spent nearly 15 minutes in the restaurant at breakfast waiting for someone to take our breakfast order - no staff about - eventually had to go and find someone ourselves. Not impressed with our overall stay - would not recommend.

  • Christine H

  • July 2014

Lovely place to stay

The room was lovely, very big but the furniture was dated, it was upsetting to find mold in the wardrobe and ivy growing inside the bathroom window.

This I think should be cut back.

  • sharon conradie

  • June 2014


Our whole group were blown away with this hotel.

Lovely hotel old mixed with new. Very well done. Tranquil surroundings.A number of us have worked in the industry and so a busman's holiday and can honestly say everywhere was spotless. Would love to attend a wedding here. We were made to feel welcome and the staff pleasant and professional. The breakfast was excellent. As it is in the country it was quiet and we slept well.

  • Jean B

  • May 2014

Lovely hotel and setting - beautiful garden and overlooked a field with horses.

The dawn chorus was vibrant. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room in the house was lovely. Although the sun room with large glass windows was very attractive overlooking the garden, wear an extra layer at meal time as it was cooler than the rest of the hotel.,