No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Horton Grange Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU
Horton Grange Country House Hotel and Restaurant is situated on the Blagdon Estate about three miles east of Ponteland, surrounded by tree-lined grounds. Visitors are immediately captivated by the distinctive mix of traditional and contemporary. Real fires, fresh flowers and antique furnishings blend with the conservatory dining room to create a relaxed atmosphere.Sympathetic decor and furnishings compliment the traditional character of both the cosy bar and the light airy restaurant, overlooking the Japanese Garden. Just 4 miles from Newcastle airport the hotel is ideal for a stop over and 3 minutes off the A1M the hotel is also well located for the business traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break in the country but only 15 minutes from central Newcastle and the shopping to be had at the Metro Centre.

Five of the bedrooms are located in the main house with the other four having been tastefully created in the stables opposite the main entrance to the hotel. All bedrooms are beautifully decorated rooms with classical antique furnishings throughout. Rooms include a colour T.V. and large en-suite bathroom and many overlook the gardens. The Alnwick bedroom is a spacious room with classical antique furnishings throughout, situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Japanese garden.

The restaurant is a light and airy modern room overlooking the garden. The restaurant is well known for its fine cuisine and excellent menu. Only a visit will allow anyone to truly appreciate the food and drink on offer. Chef, using the very best fresh local produce, presides over an imaginative "modern classic" menu with a range of exciting dishes to suit all tastes. Enjoy the relaxing ambience of the bar with an extensive range of wines. The bar always has a warm, friendly atmosphere which is emphasised by the large open fire place. You will certainly appreciate the modern feel to the room, especially the large 42" plasma screen which hangs above the fireplace often displaying a virtual open log fire - filling the room with a warm and satisfying glow. The large bay windows look over the gardens which are fantastic to view by day or night.

"restaurant isn’t available on 12th July.
Picture of Horton Grange Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review - July 2014
My partner and I stayed in the Chillington Room and it lived up to its name - the room was cold. Old sash windows had large holes in the woodwork letting in draughts. The sash in the sash windows was broken.
It took over 10 minutes to get the water from the shower to an acceptable temperature - either scalding hot or freezing cold.
The UHT milk in the room curdled the coffee and it was found to be out of date!!
Spent nearly 15 minutes in the restaurant at breakfast waiting for someone to take our breakfast order - no staff about - eventually had to go and find someone ourselves.
Not impressed with our overall stay - would not recommend.

Reviewed by
a neale

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
The room was lovely, very big but the furniture was dated, it was upsetting to find mold in the wardrobe and ivy growing inside the bathroom window. This I think should be cut back.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated at Horton Grange. I would like to inform you that all observations you shared with us have now been acted upon and rectified. Thank you for your comments, Horton Grange

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Our whole group were blown away with this hotel! Lovely hotel old mixed with new. Very well done. Tranquil surroundings.A number of us have worked in the industry and so a busman's holiday and can honestly say everywhere was spotless. Would love to attend a wedding here. We were made to feel welcome and the staff pleasant and professional. The breakfast was excellent. As it is in the country it was quiet and we slept well.

Reviewed by
sharon conradie

From Padstow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and setting - beautiful garden and overlooked a field with horses. The dawn chorus was vibrant! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room in the house was lovely. Although the sun room with large glass windows was very attractive overlooking the garden, wear an extra layer at meal time as it was cooler than the rest of the hotel.,

Reviewed by
Jean B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After eating here and attending lovely weddings here previously, a little disappointing.
I have always loved Horton Grange but it is operating in a difficult space. At around £100 per room per night we are not prepared to be quite so forgiving as we are a travelodge room for £29 per night, nor quite so impressed as we are with a luxury spa (de Vere) type chain. The hotel felt a bit unwelcoming - one fairly lonely member of staff around so when we went through to the bar shortly after arriving it was deserted until the receptionist (also later our waitress for both dinner and breakfast) came through to serve us. First thing we were told is that there is no night porter and everything gets locked up at 11 which is quite early and the lack of any kind of mini bar or honour bar system is a little unimpressive. Rooms were OK. Spacious and in keeping with the property. Restaurant atmosphere was a little lacking since only one other table in the restaurant was occupied on the weekday evening that we stayed there. The steaks that we ordered were delicious and cooked to perfection although the lack of choice of sauces for the steaks was disappointing as was the sliced boiled potato served as potato dauphinoise and the lack of any choice of wines by the glass (I understand not wanting to waste wines but even if you offered the choice of expensive single serving bottles that would at least provide a choice). Breakfast was fairly average - typical hotel breakfast (ie grilled bacon with little taste, half cooked tomato although the sausage was good and my husband was disappointed that given that he only wanted bacon and egg not a full English breakfast he was presented with only one egg). It needs just a little extra effort at providing a country house (ie gentle luxury and welcoming) experience. I have said I would stay here again as I would not actively avoid it but neither would I actively rush to choose it again for one of our much looked forward too infrequent child-free nights away.

Reviewed by
S Thompson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent :)
Great place to stay - peaceful and quiet.
Stayed in one of the anex rooms - which was OK but the walls were quite thin (which was a surprise as room looks like its a barn conversion - maybe a stud wall) and could easily hear the TV in the adjacent room.
However, the hotel is great, staff friendly, and food delicious. Would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Chris Chapman

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Follow up of a previous review of this hotel
After a poor customer service experience we logged with Late Rooms from our overnight stay here in March,, we were advised to contact the hotel directly to discuss the issues we had with a special offer showing on Late rooms which was not carried through by the hotel on arrival. On contacting Horton Grange and discussing at length the issues, we were advised that we would receive a call by a certain date to update us of the findings. The date has passed by 48 hours and after a further call to discuss the situation we were once again told that contact would be made to us within 30 mins of our conversation. Sad to report no communication again. Why would you want to stay here -i do not know

Reviewed by
r scott

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horton Ganges
V.Good hotel overall, enjoyed the stay and service was very good and friendly.

Reviewed by
B Tones

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horton Grange Hotel
Travelled for work. Arrived and was very well greeted by Sam wo showed me my room. The room was just fabulous out of this world. Breakfast cooked by Mikey! Food was fantastic, hotel stunning and staff very friendly and helpful. I could not say enough good about this hotel!

Reviewed by
Jennifer F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect escape
Have stayed in a few hotels in Newcastle and surrounding areas but this was a real treat - spacious and elegant room, cosy but not intrusive ambiance and service, excellent quality and value set menu for dinner. One night stay left us feel refreshed and relaxed, a real break. Spent sunday at the delightful farm shop and café nearby. Lovely!

Reviewed by
G Trivedi

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next