You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Horton Grange Hotel

3

Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David A

  • November 2014

Weekend in Newcastle

Well appointed Hotel local cab company good rate into Newcastle city centre ,very good value for money stay

  • digby owen

  • November 2014

poor experience

It took 1 ½ days of our 3 day stay to sort out the heating in our room, have never stayed in a hotel so cold.

The dining room in the conservatory was equally cold. I believe the thermostat was in the lobby which was pleasantly warm from the fire. The first night we intended to stay in for dinner after travelling and asked for a dinner menu at 6.30 in the evening but it was not yet available. We decided to go out and passed through the lobby at 7.30 and we were then offered a menu, still warm from the printer. The room was comfortable but the beds were not properly made, the duvet was smooth, but the bottom sheets still as wrinkled as when we got up in the morning. Room lighting appalling. No telephone in the room, not able to reach reception even using my own mobile phone as the phone went unanswered, as did the landline number. (The excuse that the system had been hit by lightning seemed very weak as this is a safety issue.)

The cooked breakfast was good, but no fruit, fresh or tinned was available , until we insisted and they managed to open a tin. We used to eat at the restaurant when we lived locally and we were always pleased. However talking to friends and family who still live in the area, nobody had a good word to say about the hotel. The staff were very pleasant but there seemed to be little overall management. We would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Roy L

  • November 2014

My room was in the Garden suite.

I could hear the TV in the next room which was on quite late and then I could hear who ever was in that room snoring during the night so the accoustic insulation needs upgrading. Food was excellent but also quite expensive when compared to same quality meal at my home location.

  • Christine C

  • November 2014

Good stay

Small hotel in quiet location ideally situated for my journey.

Stayed in a garden room which was quiet although bathroom very small and shower cubicle was also so would book a room in main building in future. Very limited access to Internet which wasn't explained when I checked in, so could only connect in main building which wasn't ideal. The food was very good but only sandwiches and burgers on bar menu, so had meal in bar from restaurant menu. It was good but expensive for 1 course only showed prices for 2 or 3 courses.

Staff were efficient and friendly.

  • n batho

  • October 2014

Another good nights sleep

Nice hotel second stay will be stopping again,

  • Karen F

  • October 2014

I went up to Newcastle from Surrey to visit my daughter who is 18 and just started university there.

On arrival we both thought what lovely surroundings, countryside all round and how our border terrier would haves loved it there too. Our room was great, homely, clean and with a great sized bathroom with a bath my daughter couldn't wait to get into after only having showers since starting uni. Every member of staff we met couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Good choice of breakfast which we both enjoyed.

  • B Hume

  • October 2014

Cosy country escape

Perfect country getaway- cosy, welcoming and relaxing.

Only negative point was the garden rooms in the old stables had rather thin walls. Which meant you were conscious about being quite- whereas some neighbours were not.

  • Graham B

  • October 2014

Rural hotel with character only 4 miles from Newcastle airport.

Old stone country hotel with lovely large rooms with period furniture.

Comfortable bed with warm duvet (which was fortunate as central heating was not on so rooms a bit chilly!) Staff friendly.

Breakfast very good - recommend egg benedict. Evening meal in dining room set price - tasty nouvelle cuisine which was fine for me but would not suit large appetites. Pleasant lounge with bar - mediocre draft beer but had a bottle of decent ale. Pleasant gardens and terrace (though too cold to sit out in October)

  • Anne Woollard

  • September 2014

We arrived on the afternoon to find the room decidedly chilly there was no jesting on in the room but a electric heater was bought up and the heating turned on.

We went to meet family only gone 2 hrs and got back to find the heating turned off again so hence was again chilly.breakfast was ok have seen better. Mattress had seen better days. Would not stop there again

  • Mike D

  • September 2014

Used Horton twice now and both occasions enjoyed our brief stay with excellent evening meals and breakfast