No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - West Woodside House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
WEST WOODSIDE HOUSE, , WIGTON, CA7 0LW
Located half a mile from the A595, West Woodside House is in a quiet, rural location ideal for touring West Cumbria Lakes or the Solway Coast. Ensuite bed and breakfast accommodation is offered in a 17th century traditional Cumbrian long house. Please note we do not accept credit cards as final payment. Cash or cheque only.
Ideally situated only five minutes from Wigton with its traditional shops and open-air market, yet ten minutes from the historic City of Carlisle with The Lanes Shopping Centre and most major high street shops. We serve excellent breakfasts in the traditional oak beamed dining room, with our own fresh free range eggs available. Vegetarians are welcome.
Picture of West Woodside House, WIGTON at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful hosts
My host and hostess were knowledgeable about local area. I was made very welcome - particularly the dog that met me in the driveway and the cat that escorted me to my room. Far enough off the beaten track that it was completely quiet at night - very different from London.

Reviewed by
Fiona S

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a peaceful rural location
Everything was perfect for my needs.I had a very important speech to make.The very quiet location was ideal to have no distractions or noise.The owner even ran me to the door of my meeting place, such a comfort zone could not be measured. Wendy and the family were very very pleasant and advice was there when needed.I had two excellent nights sleep , superb breakfasts, with great flexibility to meet timing needs..I commend this rural venue to all types of traveller,; I would return again.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Edmondson

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family run house. The owner is very warm and engaging and the food was excellent. Absolutely delightful.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From Foulridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely place to stay. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. I was particularly happy that a very late check in was not a problem, and nor was a very early check out.
I was leaving too early for standard breakfast, but cereals, toast, juice and coffee were all left available for me to help myself which was great.
The room was lovely, bright and comfortable and impeccably clean.
Would definitely go back again and try to stay a little longer. :)

Reviewed by
C Downes

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cumbrian B&B near Wigton: Good Value
Enjoyable stay in clean, well-appointed en-suite room (the only guest room currently). Friendly and helpful patrons. Substantial Cumbrian breakfast. Quiet rural setting but fairly close to Wigton and not too far from Carlisle. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Iain M

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hosts, quiet location, outside needs more attention to make it more appealing

Reviewed by
Stewart M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Pleasant stay in the room at West Woodside. Single room within a family house, but quiet and easily accessible. Good sized shower room. Owner very welcoming and readily provided information about parking in Workington near my destination. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
James T

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.