Royal Station Hotel

3

Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH

Price From 105.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (191)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Thomas

  • March 2015

Last min booking

Came up at last min to attend football match, looked reasonably priced with good location & wasn't dis.

Got free parking outside. Football ground was max 15 min walk, bars shops restaurants all close by. Although building was old . Was clean & tidy & warm. Staff friendly. Enjoyed my stay, def come back, maybe for price I paid breakfast should of been included instead of having to pay £10. Although it was nice

  • William McMullan

  • March 2015

Royal Station Hotel

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Having negotiated a number of corridors and stairs which appeared to take a long time I found my room. The room obviously had been recently painted but the carpet was dirty. In fact my dogs bed would be cleaner. Someone had cut a hole in the ceiling and patched it up leaving numerous dirty finger marks. I was in Newcastle for the football and required somewhere for one night.

  • R Louis

  • March 2015

Happy with my stay

I enjoyed my stay at the Royal Station - on first arriving I wasn't happy with the room I was first given.

I asked to be moved this was arranged very quickly. I was happy with the services given /shown by all staff. Thank you - I will recommend the hotel and stay again

  • Yuri Tempest-Woods

  • March 2015

Good value for money, good location

This was a grand hotel in its day, now a little tired.

However rooms are good, especially upgrades, has a gym/ spa that is free and better than most hotels, breakfast good and very convenient for transport; train / taxi

I stay there often having tried the more expensive hotels with no extra benefit!

  • Roy H

  • March 2015

A grand hotel that's now even grander

I have been staying at the Royal on and off over the last 15 years (mainly because it was so convenient right next to the railway station) but gave it a miss in recent years because I was worried that it was deteriorating, suffering from under investment.

But after my stay last week I can report the hotel has vastly improved. Clearly a lot of money has been spent on bringing this wonderful, historic hotel bang up to date. Lovely modern room, very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value. And that massive gorgeous chandelier. Plus, it always tickles me to think that Laurel and Hardy once stayed there.

  • Matthew Hall

  • March 2015

A symphony in brown

Good sized room reached via many doors and brown and green corridors.

Nice bar, breakfast and location

  • Phyllis E

  • March 2015

A quality stay

The location is just perfect -next door to the railway station and 5 min walk to the City centre.

We were at the back of the hotel so didn't hear a thing during the night. The room was fantastic. The only thing my partner criticised was the fact there was no blind at the bathroom window, just frosted glass. Lots of in room extras, water, orange juice, chocolate bar,dressing gown and slippers. Breakfast also excellent .

  • LYNNE W

  • March 2015

Treat

Love it would stay again, beautifully decorated old fashioned feel hotel.

  • P Watts

  • March 2015

Royal Station Hotel

No sleep at least till 06.00 to much noise.

  • Sarah L

  • March 2015

Visiting student grandson

Very conveniently situated, right in the middle of town with free parking.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside our room was really hot and you can't adjust the temperature (managed to open a window though). We used the leisure centre which was fine apart from the fact that the carpeted area between the pool and the sauna smelt really bad - guess it would be wet chlorine drying out then getting wet again - would be much better tiled. Would stay there again though.