No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation type
The room was OK but as a superior room it was actually smaller and of a lower quality than when other family members had booked before and stayed in a standard room. Is this because I was on my own or because the hotel knew I had booked through laterooms, I wonder. Also the room was at the top of the hotel and the noise from the roof, the rattling, banging and general loft noises was awful and kept me awake. There was virtually no hot water coming from the hot tap in the bathroom sink. This was not addressed during my stay.

Reviewed by
r gray

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very noisy
The room was facing the front of the hotel and the road. The street noise was apparent until the small hours and then the workman started at around7am. Their was no double glazing or noise reduction so not much sleep had. The road works outside look to be on for a while and the hotel should have informed us before hand .

Reviewed by
Gail s

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very expensive for a very dark dingy room
For £200 a night I expected a lot nicer room I have stayed in better travel lodge hotels with nicer rooms !!

Reviewed by
K Ellis

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel
We had a lovely stay, but we were only at the hotel one night and were not able to use the leisure facilities due to their opening times. I would have been happy if the leisure club had opened so that it could be used before breakfast. There is not enough time to enjoy the facility after breakfast with check out being at 11am.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
A beautiful hotel in a perfect location in the city centre. Comfortable and hassle free

Reviewed by
Peter Yarwood

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean room and attractive hotel

Reviewed by
Liam B

From keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but not the best
On arrival to the royal station we were greeted by a grand entrance which really looked the part. the reception staff were on hand and very friendly. we checked into our room for the first of a two night stay the room looked lovely and we thought it was perfect for us until the night time arrived then the noise from the bars started and the noise of revellers signing in the streets below our third floor room was almost as if we were right there beside them we couldn't open the windows or the noise just got even worse. never the less we thought after a sleep things would be good but the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I've ever slept in not just for me but for my girlfriend as well we awoke in the morning both feeling like we had just been ten rounds with Tyson. We were there to relax but relax was not the case not wanting to make to much of a fuss I spoke to the reception staff who could not have been anymore helpful they quickly got the manager and instantly gave us a new room the second night was like staying in a completely different place as the new room was at the rear of the hotel and you couldn't hear a thing. The room was really nice spacious on a whole I'd certainly go back but I would definelty state when booking that a room at the rear of the hotel would be what I was wanting and the staff were faultless the really couldn't have been anymore friendly or helpful even when I was complaining
On checking out the manager gave us some discount for our first night that both me and my girlfriend both thought was reasonable
The hotel was in the perfect location for us as only a two min walk had you right in the heart of the city

Reviewed by
G Cottrell

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Location is fab, great price considering location and the quality

Reviewed by
H Slater

From bishop auckland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I always use this hotel when I visite Newcastle. It is very special. Probably very difficult to keep up to a good standard. I think they make the best of a very old building

Reviewed by
s zundel

From Switzerland
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian elegance 2 minutes from the station
I was glad I asked for a quiet room - in a distant wing overlooking the train sheds. The street-side rooms apparently get lots of post-club noise.
Wonderful chandeliers and tiled staircases.
My only regret was that I didn't have time for a swim.

Reviewed by
Eleanor M

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next