No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
Hotel was very inviting and staff were very welcoming. There were several stairs so not too good for anyone less mobile. Our room was small but adequate. Complimentary toiletries and fridge contents were good. The hotel was in an excellent location for getting to the city centre, china town and the quayside. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or stay here again.

Reviewed by
Coral H

From Ipswich, England
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location, lovely staff, great value
The hotel is part of the station and 1000m from the city centre so it's very well situated. I upgraded to a very pleasant superior room and the optional continental breakfast which was delivered to the room. The staff are lovely and couldn't be friendlier giving the place a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant was cosy with a simple menu, service quick and great value. Really good a found destination. I'll be back.

Reviewed by
David Q

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week stay
Room at rear of hotel which was quiet. It was a shame that i could hear my neighbours late at night and creaking floor boards from above. My window did not open much and there was a plank blocking fresh air from coming in. Apart from this, the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was average.

Reviewed by
A Vickery

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Stayed for one night for an evening out with friends. Hotel was perfectly situated for bars, restaurants and shops. Great value for money. Breakfast was not included so we paid extra and we are glad we did. Great choice and pleasant dining area.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable good value
My room was warm and inviting bathroom with excellent disabled facilities room service extremely efficient and polite food delicious a pleasure to stay

Reviewed by
J Walker

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wife's 50th Surprise meet up with long lost friends
Had a great stay really central for all shopping,bars and restaurants.Easy to get out on metro to visit other attractions. Car park is free and was empty probably because railway station is right next door.
Pool,sauna jacuzzi all really good and free. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel
Safe did not lock ,and hot water was just warm

Reviewed by
l giles

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new years eve night out
Staff were very helpfull and friendly, room was lovely but would of liked a bit of a view and not a wall but we did book late. For £150 for one night i think brekkie should be included..

Reviewed by
suzanne parker

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended hotel
Central to town, very clean, very nicely appointed rooms. Car parking was an issue - limited spaces allocated to the hotel. Carparking in the public carpark next door cost £15 for a day!

Reviewed by
Stewart M

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Go for the premium option for a little extra and the rooms are excellently sized. Faded glory chic with the best location in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
D Bain

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next